We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
399 Somerset St, Harrison, NJ 07029-2335
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Element.com
US$242
View deal
Traveluro
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (229)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (33)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 13/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Element Harrison - Newark
Updated 13/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 in Harrison
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Dishwasher
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
617Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 381
  • 164
  • 36
  • 16
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jennifer A wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
We stayed at the Element this past weekend and had a fantastic experience. Quick Overview - Staff was super nice, picked us up from the airport, held our bags while we went into the city before check in, Path station is across the street, great location with several restaurants nearby, hotel lobby and our room was clean, breakfast had plenty of variety (even stayed open 5 extra minutes for our teenagers who over slept), they have a nice bar & grill with good food and reasonable prices. Then to top it off, my daughter left her vintage magazine she bought in NYC. I thought for sure it was gone. Nope, the staff found it and dropped it in the mail to us this morning. AAA+++ Customer Service
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Roger B wrote a review Dec 2021
Austin, Texas5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Disgusting, unsanitary, and frankly scary how the entire situation was handled. I arrived on business traveler, and being a Marriott Gold member, have never received such poor service in my years traveling. Understanding the challenges around labor shortages, this was not due to lack of staff - this was due to a lack of care and hospitality with staff present. Take a look at the images - from the hallways, to the elevators, to the gym, to the room - this would've been classified as gross pre-pandemic. In a given pandemic, with posters plastered everywhere stating the "extra effort and extra safe cleaning standards", the state of cleanliness was laughable. But it wasn't - because it was dangerous. This was brought to their attention day 1, and the next 3 days nothing changed. And the worst part about it - the management handled the experience even worse. Stay away from this - and go stay at the Hilton in Harrison instead. They appreciate their customers, and although way more understaffed than this property, take care of their establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Scoppetta, Other at Element Harrison - Newark
Responded 10 Dec 2021
Dear Roger B, Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us about your recent stay. We regret you experience at The Element Harrison-Newark was not up to your expectations as we take pride of our work and staff efforts to provide a remarkable stay to all our guests. The safety of our customers is priority for us and we appreciate the communication you have had with our General Manager to provide further details about your experience to help us with our continuous improvement. Once again, thank you for your valuable comments.
Read more
Jasmine S wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed at the Element for one night - I checked in late on a Monday and checked out before 9 am the next day. While having dinner with a friend in my studio room, a cockroach climbed across the window shade. I freaked out and killed it, and went downstairs to calmly ask for a partial refund. I told the folks at the night desk, repeatedly, that I knew this wasn’t their fault and that I didn’t need another room, I just wanted a partial refund. They moved me anyway, to what I now know is a more expensive room, and told me to talk to the morning staff ASAP and the supervisor could help me with the partial refund. The next morning I arrived at the front desk at 7 am to talk to the supervisor - her name is MaryAnn Cordine. I told her what had happened the night before, and that I had been advised to let her know what happened. I even sent the attached photo to the front desk to verify (if you’ve stayed there you will recognize the shade IMMEDIATELY). MC proceeded to tell me that not only was there nothing she could do, but that the team had upgraded me overnight and I now had “a much more expensive room” anyway. I told her I asked repeatedly for a refund, not an upgrade, and was moved. She told me repeatedly (almost without taking a breath) that there was nothing, nothing nothing she could do. 15 minutes later she calls up to my room and asks for an email with proof of the roach. I emailed it. I also told her exactly where the roach was (I killed it on the windowsill and it had fallen directly behind the couch). This is the response I received: “I have given your concerns and issue to my management team about your stay. The Management has inspected the whole room and did not find anything in the room. The hotel did move your room and upgraded it at the time of it being brought to our attention. We do appreciate you bringing the issue and concern to us and for the inconvenience we will refund $50 from your room rate for last night. If you have any questions please feel free to reach out to me.” TL;DR: DO NOT STAY HERE THERE ARE ROACHES
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Scoppetta, General Manager at Element Harrison - Newark
Responded 12 Nov 2021
Greetings JSudark, Thank you for your valued feedback. Please note that we do have a thorough pest control plan in place to prevent instinces like this from happening. Upon reviewing the photo and the events that have happened we did everything possible. We offered a room move, we gave you a partial refund and handled it accordingly. If you have any further questions please contact Marriott Customer care. Thank you!
Read more
Jason M wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Before I say anything else be sure to meet Carlos at the front desk. Carlos was the highlight of our stay. Super friendly, EXTREMELY generous and a genuine human being. A true pure soul. I’m honored to have met him. If you’re looking for incredible customer service be sure to meet Carlos. I could go on about Carlos for the whole review Our room was incredible. Full kitchen, full dishwasher, full fridge, sink, microwave, pots and pans etc.. but not at the cost of losing other options. They still had room for a couch and tv area. I’ll never stay at another hotel as long as that area has an Element. It’s my first choice now. For all the amenities it’s a shame we were only there for the night. We’ll be back for sure. We’re already thinking about coming back next summer
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
BOB T wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
CARLOS at front-desk is a great asset to the Hotel. He was most accommodating to us and when we left some items after checking out - he personally retrieved them from the room and got them back to us. Room & Hotel very clean and we will stay there again when visiting family in the area !!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Stephen B wrote a review Aug 2021
Annapolis, Maryland29 contributions25 helpful votes
This was my first ever stay at an Element hotel, despite being a Lifetime Gold Bonvoy Member. I found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, with friendly staff and a well-stocked breakfast despite pandemic precautions. The location across from the PATH train could not be beat. The attached TaKorea restaurant was good for dinner. If I am being picky, the furniture was a bit utilitarian rather than attractive, but it did its job. And the full size refrigerator and filtered water dispenser was a nice bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Rajkumarie N wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
This property is very nice and would recommend it for sure. Dominique was super helpful, very professional, She made my stay very welcoming and relax since I was very worried and hesitant to go check in. Thank you for your hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: My room had a good view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Adastrainfinite wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Hotel offers all the amenities and benefits of a larger hotel, yet still is small enough to feel more like boutique hotel at a great price! Staff are friendly and highly effective. Rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast and restaurant are top notch. Want to go into Manhattan? You’re 20 minutes from World Trade Center by the PATH train (station a two minute walk away). Well-run hotel! Management A+! Suggestion: add multiple electric vehicle charging stations as well as a few Tesla destination chargers. It’s a small investment, but you will see an almost immediate return. EV owners definitely take this into consideration when booking a hotel and not many in the NYC area actually have them.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
rahiemaboss wrote a review Jul 2021
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania1 contribution
The room were extremely nice. The staff was nice and very helpful with everything from parking to asking for a tea bag. Very quiet which was a good thing because my little ones was having a ball. I was on the 6th floor with a view of New York and that was the icing on the cake. I will definitely recommend and will stay again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
NYGBreezy wrote a review Jun 2021
Utica, New York11 contributions
Employees were very friendly and helpful, specifically the front desk staff. The room was dusty. There was a burn hole in the table. The microwave was dirty. The room had potential. The backsplash in the kitchen are was very nice. Overall, an average value at best, and much of the value was in the location.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$195 - US$251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyHarrison
NUMBER OF ROOMS
138
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Element Harrison - Newark
Which popular attractions are close to Element Harrison - Newark?
Nearby attractions include New Jersey Performing Arts Center (1.0 km), Ironbound (1.2 km), and Red Bull Arena (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Element Harrison - Newark?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Element Harrison - Newark?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Element Harrison - Newark?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Element Harrison - Newark?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Element Harrison - Newark?
Conveniently located restaurants include Forno's of Spain Restaurant, La Fiamma, and Seabra's Marisqueira.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Element Harrison - Newark?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Element Harrison - Newark have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Element Harrison - Newark offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Element Harrison - Newark have airport transportation?
Yes, Element Harrison - Newark offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Element Harrison - Newark located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Harrison.
Are any cleaning services offered at Element Harrison - Newark?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.