We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 403: English reviews
Start your review of Candlewood Suites Jersey City
 Click to rate
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights and booked two rooms. Rooms were alright, except that the door to the bathroom in one of the rooms was very tight and could barely be closed. I didn't realize while booking that this was an extended-stay hotel with practically no service offered if your stay is less than a week....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ravi4travel
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was put up at the Candlewood by the management of the building I was expecting to move into. The stay did little to improve a hectic move. The first night, I was put in a room on the light rail side. Periodic dinging and train noise was very audible at night, and early morning. When I requested to move...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kasperific
CWSJC, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I'm apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we mistakenly thought you checked out of the hotel. We have since made significant changes to our housekeeping and lost and found policies and I have addressed your concern regarding the request to be relocated...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Straight forward hotel with good size rooms and easy access to exchange place, PATH to Newark and NYC. Great view of NYC skyline from jersey side. Hotel like most other extended stay - nothing fancy, but it works.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
CWSJC, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in the comfort of our spacious suites. We are the perfect location for a trip to NYC with some of the best views from Manhattan. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit! Kind Regards, April J General...

Springfield, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have platinum status with the IHG chain and they upgraded me to what has to be their nicest suite, on the top floor with a river view. So my experience is not going to be typical, but wow what a great room. It had a king bedroom and a separate living room with a big TV, sofa and comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
CWSJC, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to upgrade you to a larger room. We are a great alternative when wanting to visit NYC. We have some of the best views of Manhattan and I'm glad you got to experience those. We...

Ocean City, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very comfortable and clean rooms, friendly staff, FREE parking, good wifi connection and very good location close to Downtown New York. It takes 5-6min walk and you are at the path station 10min ride and you're in World Trade Center. With all these amenities and good location Candlewood is a must try place if you wanna enjoy the NYC and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VeliMM
CWSJC, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the team made you feel welcomed and at home. Our parking is actually $25 per night and apologize that this was not communicated properly. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit. Kind Regards, April...

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was decent for a short visit. Heating didn't work in the room at all and the fan was very loud. I would go back to the same location, would however stay at a different hotel. Left something in the room for sure, when called back they said they didn't find it. Charged me for 2 long distance calls when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salihaayub
CWSJC, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. I apologize that your heating did not work properly in your room, I will have our maintenance team look into the room you were in and fix the problem. The phone charges are all automatic based on use. If there is still a problem with the charge...

Antilles
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love this place! I needed a car to shop at IKEA and Japanese supermarket and could use the parking for $25. Leave the car and hop into PATH, you're in WTC area, and access to anywhere in Manhattan is easy. If you rent a car, there is Newport Cnter close by with Target, Best Buy and more. Staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IcarusLives
CWSJC, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and felt welcomed and at home during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back during you next visit! Kind Regards, April J General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were placed in 5th floor back of the hotel right next to the train station. I requested to be transferred but was not allowed if it was only because of the noise. I didn't sleep well at all. Had a crappy stay! Wouldn't recommend. Train comes every 20 mins. Don't book here! Or if you are, ask for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristine V
CWSJC, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. I apologize that you did not have a restful nights sleep due to the light rail behind the hotel and that we weren't able to move you. We continue to find ways for our guests to always have a restful nights sleep. I hope we will have...

Red Bank, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times with my two pets. They work to accommodate requests such as far from the elevator. I have never had a bad experience. Very friendly front desk. Highly recommend. The only thing I am not a fan of is the 25.00 a day parking. This is newer and I am not a fan

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla S
CWSJC, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the team made you and your pets comfortable. I'm sorry you feel the parking fee is too high. This is inline with all of the other hotels in Jersey City and we allow you to enter and exit...

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel have the friendliest Front Desk Agent - Ruth ☺️ Clean and spacious rooms. Parking available and breakfast if purchased. Price is great specially with the location. Would definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joselle J
CWSJC, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the team made you feel welcomed and at home. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit! Kind Regards, April J General Manager

225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
2,627 reviews
0.5 km away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
610 reviews
3.1 km away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
1,054 reviews
1.1 km away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection.The Candlewood Suites Jersey City is the only all suites hotel in the heart of the financial district of Jersey City, 214 suites, 8 floors, conveniently located near Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place and Newport Financial Center. If New York City is your destination, the hotel is conveniently located between Exchange Place and Pavonia Path Stations. These trains will take you directly to midtown or lower Manhattan. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the Jersey City and New York City area.Check out our special 'City Pass Package', which focuses on making your New York vacation more affordable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Address: 21 Second St, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Price Range: $181 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Jersey City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Candlewood Jersey City
Jersey City Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Jersey City New Jersey
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Jersey City staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Southampton, United Kingdom
Palo Alto, California
over a year ago

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Jersey City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request the side not on the light rail”
 of 5 bubbles kasperific, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“some rooms have river view”
  • living room of the suite
  • awesome sunrise over lower Manhattan
 of 5 bubbles JulieM797, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“weekdays, you might get an upgrade to 1 bdrm”
  • Perfect kitchen
  • Spacious 1bdrm
 of 5 bubbles IcarusLives, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a higher floor for good views”
  • Bathroom
  • View at night
  • Bed Room
  • Another view of the working area
  • Living and Working Room
  • Hudson river and WTC visible from the room
 of 5 bubbles Krishna_Sathya, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is a light rail on the south side of the hotel. If you are a light request a room on the north side even numbered rooms).”
 of 5 bubbles josephcM9177CC, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5