We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre

Save
Share
230 Jumping Brook Rd, Neptune, NJ 07753-3186
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Algotels
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (99)
Room & Suite (87)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 6 hotels in Neptune
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
275Reviews10Q+A51Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 114
  • 76
  • 31
  • 21
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MojoDining wrote a review Nov 2022
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina194 contributions96 helpful votes
While I saw some negative reviews, I decided to stay here anyway and am glad I did. The location was ideal for me and the price was reasonable. Yes, it’s going through renovations and there were some slight inconveniences, but it did not bother me. The suite was clean, comfortable and well appointed. I wasn’t around for the breakfasts but the spread seemed about average and the coffee was very good. I will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Undergoing renovations, be prepared for some minor inconveniences until they finish.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
IHaventBeenEverywhereButItsOnMyList wrote a review Jun 2021
New York City, New York382 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
The location is convenient, right off the Garden State Parkway exit 100B, with plenty of restaurants and stores nearby. There is an indoor pool and outdoor fire pit area with chairs. Our room/suite was clean, comfortable, and well appointed. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. A big THANK YOU to Jane for making us feel so welcome and for being so sweet and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Robert S wrote a review Sep 2022
23 contributions28 helpful votes
Several other reviews have remarked about how tired and worn out this hotel is. Believe them. We recently stayed here for one night when in the area. The associates with whom we interacted at the front desk were all warm, friendly and professional. No issues with them at all. Breakfast was without issue, other than the space allotted for serving got a bit tight at times with too many people in too small of a space. The food was of decent quality and there was the usual assortment of Marriott breakfast items. The salsas were a nice addition. We were "upgraded" to a two-bedroom "suite" (due to status? other rooms in worse shape?) and while making our way there we noted the carpets in the hallways needed to be replaced. Once in our room, the carpet situation was even worse - stains and ripples led the way. There were a lot of cosmetic issues we noted straight off - dents in the stainless-steel refrigerator door, poorly done repairs that were still visible in the walls and ceilings, etc. No visible issues with cleanliness. The most obvious sign of deferred maintenance was that each of the three rooms had a window air conditioner unit. C'mon, you can't have your climate systems repaired? Later, from the outside, we noted that there were rooms here and there with window units. Really, it's just tacky. There were also little things that further pointed to the hotel cutting corners at the expense of guests - no sponge in the room, half-empty dish soap, no body lotion, no bag of microwave popcorn (though we haven't seen this since the pandemic at any Residence Inn...for no other reason than stinginess). Others have received responses from hotel management that renovations were planned but delayed due to the pandemic. More likely, I believe, is that the owner(s) is/are to blame. This hotel should lose its branding.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Sirianni, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre
Responded 13 Sep 2022
Robert, Thank you for the feed back, your comment about the renovation, carpet, wear and tear is above property level. We start the renovation in October. As for the sponge and soaps, I will get with my housekeeping team and make sure we correct that. I hope you try us after the renovation, and if pleasant, which I'm sure will be, you do another review. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark 1 wrote a review Sep 2022
Hilton Head, South Carolina59 contributions18 helpful votes
Worst Marriot we’ve been to and we’re platinum members. They were going to give us suite on 3rd floor till we said we had 2 small dogs- put us in room with torn carpet and WINDOW MOUNTED AC like out of the 60’s!! WORST MARRIOT WEVE EVER BEEN TO- Very rundown
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Sirianni, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre
Responded 7 Sep 2022
Good morning, Thank you for the review. I apologize your room was not up to Marriott standard. Our renovation was postponed back in 2020. Certain upgrades are above property level. Happy to say we are starting our renovation in October. Please try us again when you visit New Jersey.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karen726 wrote a review Aug 2022
maryland104 contributions86 helpful votes
Awful. Awful. Awful. Did I mention awful? The hotel is old and falling apart. The bed was mushy, the sofa was hard, the cushions don’t match the back and sides and it is dirty. The carpet is matted down. The furniture looks like hand me downs from someone who didn’t have any money to spend on furniture when they bought it 25 years ago. The mirror backing is peeling off the mirror, the closet rail is filthy, the bathroom is nearly dark, the toilet needs to be repaired. How does a refrigerator door get multiple dents? There are no USB outlets so bring your adapters. The fitness room has an elliptical that clunks, two treadmills and heavy weights. Lighter weights were probably stolen and never replaced. The indoor pool is literally in the dark. I echo the comments that suggest staying on the top floor and away from the stairs which is where guests with pets are usually assigned rooms. I love dogs. We have dogs. I do not want to stay in a room next to a dog that barks half the night. The occupants of room 225 had a crying kid, the barking dog and a woman who spent more than an hour after 11 PM swearing at everything. Also, the pot was obvious and not the kind Calphalon makes. Our entire room reeked of it courtesy of our neighbors. The hotel is not near the beach yet the rate is exorbitant. The points required are ridiculous. We were there to attend an engagement party in Seaside Heights. Yes, breakfast is included and there was fresh fruit and a full buffet. Coffee was fine. This hotel ranks in the top 5 of awful hotels I have stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barbara Beresova, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Hello Ms. Karen, I'm very sorry to see you did not enjoyed your stay! We might be an old hotel for now but we are not falling apart. We do take lot of pride in the everyday operations and that's what our employees are responsible for. Old furniture, carpets, mirrors and lighting in bathrooms are owners responsibility. Our renovations have been delayed do to the pandemic. But are fully scheduled for this September 2022. We hope you give us another try to prove that we could be in your top best hotels in the area. Please feel free to reach out to me after the new year when are renovations will be completed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob G wrote a review Jul 2022
Boston, Massachusetts36 contributions8 helpful votes
Good location and friendly service but - this Marriott Residence Inn is badly in need of renovation. The couch is frayed, cheap foam with stains and you sink in so far it made my back hurt. The fabric on the chair is so old the arms are discolored. Carpets are frayed and bunched. Seriously, my college apartment with hand-me-down furniture was nicer. And the prices are really high. Someone is making a killing selling hotel rooms billed as "Marriott" quality with junky, uncomfortable furnishings. I agree with the other review that this isn't worthy of the Marriott name- or maybe Marriott has lost it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Art K wrote a review Jul 2022
Bayside, Wisconsin10 contributions
+1
This "Residence Inn" really damages the Marriott brand, and the "Residence Inn" brand. The property is run down, poorly maintained, unclean and I only wished I would have read the similar reviews before booking here. After reporting the condition of my room and requesting an adjustment on my bill hotel management said they try hard to keep it clean and that all the run down items would be addressed in an upcoming renovation. Sorry, but a toilet paper holder falling out of the wall, holes in the wall, and worn out furniture is a maintenance issue, not a renovation issue. I have included several pictures. in this review, like other reviewers. The local hotel management denied me any compensation or adjustment, instead offered me a discount in the fall. I sent a complaint to Marriott and they offered me 5,000 points and said that ultimately the hotel owner has all the power. Marriott, this property is not worthy and your handling of this matter fell short. Like other reviewers, I've lost faith in Marriott.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Sirianni, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Art K, I apologize you did not enjoy your stay, and felt we are not worthy of the Marriott name. I'm not sure who you spoke to that offered 5,000 points. Furniture that is worn or broken gets replaced with owners approval, hence we say renovation. The Residence Inn Neptune finished the guest surveys above the brands bench mark for the first wave in 2022. Yes, we missed things like everyone does, but some of your comments are not the on property staff. I'm not sure what room you were in, what you paid, but, I would like to look into your comments a little deeper. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lfive wrote a review Jul 2022
Alexandria, Virginia50 contributions94 helpful votes
+1
I am Marriott Platinum elite, and will only book at Marriott because usually that guarantees a certain level of quality. That was NOT the case here. I’ve been staying at this property almost yearly for the past 10 years because my in-laws live there. I have seen it declining, but it has finally disintegrated well-below a standard the Marriott should allow. The place was filthy-literally someone else’s chewed up dog toys on the floor, water damage and mold everywhere in the bathroom, and they have just given up stocking the kitchen. Really run-down-not comforting at all. This hotel is clearly being used as well as some sort of permanent federal subsidized housing project. Pets absolutely everywhere-the king that chew corners and terrorize furniture. So, when my mother-in-law came to visit one day, I told her to bring her dog to join the party! To my absolute astonishment, the hotel detective must have seen her knock on our door with the dog and “reported” us, adding $100 to our bill for having the dog visit. When I went to the front desk to request they remove this ridiculous charge, they refused. I can assure you, the visit from my mother-in-laws dog had zero impact on this already dilapidated housing project. ‘Tenant” who clearly live long-term at the hotel would just leave trash out in the hall endlessly. No one bothered to pick it up, and we were greeted by trash every time we entered the hall. I am losing my trust in the good name of “Marriott.”
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Barbara Beresova, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Dear Ms. Lfive, I have received your complaint about your stay. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Please know we did upgraded you to one bedroom one bathroom suite and we had selected higher floor for you. Once we received your request you wanted 1st floor, we changed your block. We truly value the loyalty of our elite members. We are older property but are proud to be part of the Marriott brand. Our extended stay guest put their garbage out of their suites and we do come by more than 3 times a day. We started doing that after Covid. As far as the pet fee everyone who has a pet does pays for a pet fee and it is non refundable. We have a note you had two dogs. Whether an animal goes inside the room we do have to professionally clean the suite. Our owners pushed back our renovations twice, that's why we have old furniture and old carpeting. But we are very excited to say our renovations will start in this September of 2022. I hope you give us another chance after renovations are done to come see the new Residence inn by Marriott in Neptune.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe R wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
We had a horrible experience here. I been a Marriott Gold Member for over 10 years and this place was just horrible. We first walked in and they had told us we would be upgraded to Room 107 which was one of the better rooms. Lol. Cabinets broken fridge all dented smell from pets being there which by way my son had an allergic reaction. Mattress all brown stained which we have all proof via pictures. Just not Marriott standards. We ended up leaving after 2 hours. Not worth getting sick over. Called Marriott explained our situation and they didn’t care. Well done Marriott. Don’t recommend this hotel at all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Sirianni, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Good morning, I apologize your stay was not up to Marriott Standard. Our renovation was pushed from 2020 to 2022. I'm not sure who you spoke to at Marriott, but if you want to call me you can. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChrisR19996 wrote a review Jun 2022
Wyckoff, New Jersey21 contributions2 helpful votes
Amazing service, wonderful hospitality, Operations Manager Barbara Beresova extremely professional and made the hotel stay 5 stars. Complimentary breakfast Breakfast are was was large provided great selection and large seating area. Today costumer service his decreased, Barbara Beresova set new standard of outstanding quality and hotel management.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great location easy access
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$184 - US$372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn neptune at gateway centre hotel neptune, neptune residence inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreNeptune
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RESIDENCE INN BY MARRIOTT NEPTUNE AT GATEWAY CENTRE: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 155 Photos (NJ) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre?
Nearby attractions include Jersey Shore Premium Outlets (1.0 km) and Lindt Chocolate Shop (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brick House Tavern + Tap, Delvetto's Pizzeria and Pub, and Arby's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stephen Crane House (6.9 km).