We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
See the most recent reviews
Showing 147: English reviews
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I gave this Howard Johnsons Four Points because it was above average for the price range. My room was on the second floor the old carpet makes the room look very dark. I had a king size bed and it was comfortable. The room was very clean countertops TV everything. The bathroom was very clean and it had ample towels....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi Neil S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, accessible location to big shopping areas...

Riverdale
Reviewed 10 September 2016

This Howard Johnson was a horrible place to stay, the night manager stated to me that he only put two sets of towels in their rooms and if There weren't enough then we could share. I stated to him that we had four people in a double queen room and we were not going to be sharing no towels, if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ms. B
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi Ms. B, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I apologize for the inconvenience you had because of the front night desk guy. He will be retrained and...

Newburgh, New York
Reviewed 5 September 2016

TV reception was lousy on the cable channels, and they tried to charge me for the room safe which I neither asked for nor used. There was a foul odor coming from the A/C.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelrI3694AQ
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi michaelrI3694AQ Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, and a great stay to all our...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 20 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Bristol, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 August 2016

There was hair all over the shower wall. And a rag was left on top of the dresser. There was a spring sticking out of the mattress. The hallway was hot and smelled awful. The room had an odd smell to it. And the one night it smelled like something burning. Which I guess was smoke coming through the ac...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E6973GZbrianm
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi E6973GZbrianm, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, and a great stay to all our...

Millsboro, Delaware
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed. The pillow cases had head prints with long dark hair on them, which tells me they had not been changed. The halls and corridors smelled horrible and not secured at night. The carpet was filthy. I had requested a handicap room and there were no safety rails in the bathroom. The towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N2467QEpaulas
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi N2467QEpaulas, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the condition of the room and the problem has been eliminated completely....

Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The hotel needs improvement. The bathroom aND guestroom were dirty. Need to change the curtains and holes in sheets and blankets. They charge 140 per night and it was a waste of my money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stacysmiles
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi stacysmiles, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, and a great stay to all our...

Omaha.nebraska
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Everything was OK no complaints. But I wonder if it's not a hotel/rooms for welfare recipients. It seems to me that way. Other than that my stay was just fine

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethhU7277UL
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi elizabethhU7277UL, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, and a great stay to all our...

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 July 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monicai898
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 July 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Plainfield
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN The Garden Executive Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Garden Executiv...
#3 of 4 in South Plainfield
149 reviews
7.0 km away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 4 in South Plainfield
483 reviews
10.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
9.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Edison
Red Roof Inn Edison
#6 of 15 in Edison
242 reviews
11.7 km away
Days Inn Bridgewater Conference Center Somerville Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
10 miles from New York City, Manhattan. 10 Miles from MetLife Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Address: 1025 US Highway 22, West End Avenue, North Plainfield, NJ 07060-6614
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Plainfield
Price Range: $102 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield Hotel North Plainfield
Howard Johnson North Plainfield
North Plainfield Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“love the room on 2nd floor. It has balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles ishua_13, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“Rear of the building on an upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles richardsK5090SV, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“When they say "non-smoking" don't be so sure.”
 of 5 bubbles BeachMelonMama, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for Kingsize bed facing the mountain”
 of 5 bubbles RNM-007, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Request a room that is far away from the main hallway door by the stairs.”
  • The armchair that tripped me in the darkness
 of 5 bubbles gdionelli, 19 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay