We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Rooms could be better wouldn't mind the rooms smelling better sheets should be change more often but other than that everything was well very safe place

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V8319GEterryc
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi V8319GEterryc Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. We hope to see you again soon at the hotel.

West Berlin, New Jersey
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Spent 2 nights at this establishment for business purposes. The air-conditioner & refrigerator did not work the shower handle was about to fall out of the wall and the water would on stay hot no in-between. I spoke with the front desk after my first night and they told me the issues would be repaired before my return that evening....

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hoechstb
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi hoechstb, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I apologize for the inconvenience you had because of the front night desk guy. He will be retrained and proper...

North Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdallas01
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Westernm New York
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoNameCustomer
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I gave this Howard Johnsons Four Points because it was above average for the price range. My room was on the second floor the old carpet makes the room look very dark. I had a king size bed and it was comfortable. The room was very clean countertops TV everything. The bathroom was very clean and it had ample towels....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi Neil S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, accessible location to big shopping areas...

Riverdale
Reviewed 10 September 2016

This Howard Johnson was a horrible place to stay, the night manager stated to me that he only put two sets of towels in their rooms and if There weren't enough then we could share. I stated to him that we had four people in a double queen room and we were not going to be sharing no towels, if...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ms. B
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi Ms. B, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I apologize for the inconvenience you had because of the front night desk guy. He will be retrained and...

Newburgh, New York
Reviewed 5 September 2016

TV reception was lousy on the cable channels, and they tried to charge me for the room safe which I neither asked for nor used. There was a foul odor coming from the A/C.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelrI3694AQ
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi michaelrI3694AQ Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, and a great stay to all our...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Bristol, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 August 2016

There was hair all over the shower wall. And a rag was left on top of the dresser. There was a spring sticking out of the mattress. The hallway was hot and smelled awful. The room had an odd smell to it. And the one night it smelled like something burning. Which I guess was smoke coming through the ac...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E6973GZbrianm
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi E6973GZbrianm, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, and a great stay to all our...

Millsboro, Delaware
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed. The pillow cases had head prints with long dark hair on them, which tells me they had not been changed. The halls and corridors smelled horrible and not secured at night. The carpet was filthy. I had requested a handicap room and there were no safety rails in the bathroom. The towels...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N2467QEpaulas
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi N2467QEpaulas, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the condition of the room and the problem has been eliminated completely....

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Plainfield
10.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
14.3 km away
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
16.1 km away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 4 in South Plainfield
500 reviews
13.1 km away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
448 reviews
14.1 km away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
10 miles from New York City, Manhattan. 10 Miles from MetLife Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Address: 1025 Route 22 West, West End Avenue, North Plainfield, NJ 07060
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Plainfield
Price Range: $102 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield Hotel North Plainfield
Howard Johnson North Plainfield
North Plainfield Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“love the room on 2nd floor. It has balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles ishua_13, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“Rear of the building on an upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles richardsK5090SV, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“When they say "non-smoking" don't be so sure.”
 of 5 bubbles BeachMelonMama, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for Kingsize bed facing the mountain”
 of 5 bubbles RNM-007, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Request a room that is far away from the main hallway door by the stairs.”
  • The armchair that tripped me in the darkness
 of 5 bubbles gdionelli, 19 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay