We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sifting Sands Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sifting Sands Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 96: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

It's location is very good and close to Boardwalk . Pictures are not recent pictures of pool and hotel so you will be disappointed . Sofa was old smelly and torn I just posted its picture. It's a pity as the motel just needs to be maintained and it would be good. A lightbulb hanging on a piece of cable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ish B
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Great place to be. For the price they ask they provide tenfold. You have a great location(walking distance to the beach), good staff and the pool was nice. Being a family vacation I did not mind the screaming children, but those are the sacrifices we make.

Helpful?
Thank Viktor S
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel had a kitchen, microwave and refrigerator. Room was tiny. Perfect for the two of us. With more people it would have been crowded. The pool area was nice, open and heated. Close to Boardwalk. Needs some updating.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
Management response:

Thank you for choosing Sifting Sands Nancy. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have some updating completed by the time of your next visit. Our units are individually owned and each owner is tasked with the updating of his or her unit. We will certainly pass your recommendation along. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

What a great deal for a second summer trip. Room was perfect. Loved the kitchenette. Clean and close to everything. Loved the heated pool. Staff very friendly and helpful. Love being able to just park and walk everywhere. Will keep on my list of places to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Steelergal417
Management response:

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We are a new management team this year and have worked hard to make things right. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Strasburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Total of 6 adults. Booked our 2 rooms in advance. All questions and concerns were answered, treated professionally. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Good value and the pool was great. Close to boards and beach. Walking distance to restaurants.parking on site a bonus as well as having beach tags included. Planning on returning next yr.

Helpful?
Thank mattandmargesmith
Management response:

Dear Guest We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Sifting Sands is under new management this year and our goal is to exceed your expectations. Apparently, our team exceeded yours. We will see you next year. More 

Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

A block and a half away from the beach and boardwalk. Competitively priced vs. all of the other motel locations this close to the beach and boards. Our room was clean and comfortable, for the amount of time we actually spent in it. If you are looking for a 5 star all inclusive resort you need to book in Cancun.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abe A
Management response:

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing Sifting Sands. Our goal is to always exceed our guest expectations. Sifting Sands is under new management this year and cleanliness is our first goal. Thank you for noticing. We look forward to seeing you next time. More 

Schnecksville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We booked a room through booking.com only 5 weeks before our stay at the end of July 2016. We were charged $224 a night for 2 nights, taxes not included. We arrived at 3pm to check in. Parking was horrible. My husband and I were the last to arrive so we got the last room available. Woman at desk said... More 

Helpful?
Thank caladium22
Management response:

Dear Guest Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you were not happy with your room. All of our rooms are individually owned and decorated by the owners. Your feedback helps us to remind the owners that updates need to be done to their room. I wish you had asked to speak to me while you... More 

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2016

This was my first time staying at this property in Ocean City but it was a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The plus side is how close it is to the beach, you can literally walk there with no problem. We walked with my toddler and another baby in stroller. The hotel is clean and the pool area was clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank ohhmanjinet
Management response:

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive review and for staying at Sifting Sands. It is the first year of new management at Sifting Sands and we are working hard to exceed expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for choosing Sifting Sands. More 

Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Looking for a hotel in the off season, October. Surprisingly a lot of my usually places were booked so we tried the Sifting Sands. Small room but newly renovated. Clean, bright and beds were comfortable. Stayed in a room with a full bed for 2 kids and a Queen for the 2 adults. Bathroom small but clean. They had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyndachia
Management response:

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Sifting Sands is under new management and hope to exceed guest expectations this year and next. Please try us again in the future. More 

PITTSBURGH
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

This Motel is very basic and reasonably clean. Our room was very small with nothing to store our clothes. On the other hand, it's two blocks to the boardwalk and close many other amenities. Pricy for what it is in the height of the season. It does have a heated swimming pool. Arnie, the manager is an extremely helpful and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leaester
Management response:

Thank you for your review. Sifting Sands is under new management this year and we are working hard to exceed guest expectations. Please come and visit us again in the future. More 

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 km away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
292 reviews
0.1 km away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
121 reviews
0.1 km away
Forum Motor Inn
Forum Motor Inn
#10 of 32 in Ocean City
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
52 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#29 of 32 in Ocean City
58 reviews
0.2 km away
Pavilion Motor Lodge
Pavilion Motor Lodge
#23 of 32 in Ocean City
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just paces away from the beaches and boardwalk. We offer a retriet that includes a heated pool thats open till 10pm, daily maid service, free beachtags, and free parking to just name a few. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sifting Sands Motel

Address: 840 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3621
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Price Range: $178 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sifting Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sifting Sands Hotel Ocean City
Sifting Sands Ocean City
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sifting Sands Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sifting Sands Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the 2 level. A flight of stairs up. Would recommend ground level for families with kids or older adults”
 of 5 bubbles mattandmargesmith, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I don't know that you can choose your own room.”
 of 5 bubbles caladium22, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 50 was great for family of 4 but on the small side. Newly renovated and clean.”
 of 5 bubbles Lyndachia, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Rooms in a Afghanistan tent are nicer with less sand on the floor.”
 of 5 bubbles RalphB906, 20 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Avoid room #18!”
 of 5 bubbles F3499LHkarens, 9 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay