We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights \/ Toms River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 62: English reviews
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom, room 301, so the size was nice. Had one double bed in each bedroom plus a double in the main room you walked into (instead of a couch or chair). The main room had no vent, fan or air so nothing circulates in there. We had to keep the bedroom doors open overnight so that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We are so sorry to hear about the plumbing issue. Our maintenance team did a full investigation with a plumbing company. They found some GI Joes jammed in the pipes. We apologize this was only found after your check out. We want to invite you for a more fully enjoyable stay. Best...

PA
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Room needs a lot of work. Bath tub dirty, light bulbs missing, drapes to long, get sucked into A/C vent, dirty pillowcase, vent falling out of the wall behind the entertainment center, brackets still up for a blind in the bathroom but no blind, cable wires running up the wall thru the ceiling, refrigerator frozen up, burn holes in bedspread....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TrippyPa
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand you were not able to stay due to a major event in the area. Our rooms do remain quiet, even during such events. We have already had maintenance address all the issues you listed as we do listen to our guest feedback. We want to invite you for a fully...

Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in my entire life. We booked this place based on website's reviews....our bad. First, walked in to lobby/breakfast counter, smell of cigarettes and beer overwhelming. We did not even bother eating "complimentary" breakfast. Literally, counter was a corner with a garbage can, loaf of bread, apples, open packaged muffins, coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Babs A
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for details of your stay. We sincerely apologize for the issue with cleaning during your visit and hope to learn more about what happened. Our usual cleaning staff are excellent with many guests finding our hotel clean and comfortable. We will immediately investigate what occurred during your visit and want to invite you back for a...

New Jersey
Reviewed 28 July 2015

I don’t expect much from hotels down the shore, but this one was awful. We had the 3 bedroom room suite and it was quite dirty (bugs and hair in the beds), the bathtub didn’t work and most of the fixtures were falling apart / broken. The manager on duty was also rather rude. When we expressed our dissatisfaction with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cantaynollores27
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the details of your stay. We understand your room was clean and comfortable but there was a drainage issue. Our maintenance team is glad they were able to speed up the drain to prevent the inch of water that built up during a shower. We are unsure as to what your other comments refer to...

Port Jervis, NY
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

The room was clean with fresh towels but furniture was old and missing hardware. Bathroom was very small and the room was run down. The free breakfast included apples, muffins and coffee. The TV was small but the wifi was good. The beach was one block away and a very nice location. The employees all seemed very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 8cate
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your good experience with us. We understand the room was clean and comfortable, save for the furniture issues. We will have maintenance review this so your stay will be even more enjoyable in the future! Best Regards, Guest Relations

New Jersey
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Stay away. I have pretty much given up on all Choice Hotels because of this place. I contacted them three weeks in advance about changing my reservation. I heard back from them late afternoon on the day of my check-in. Dozens of phone calls and emails later and I still can't get any response beyond a generic "sorry", "we can't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SocialChairman
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are unsure as to what occurred during your communications with Choice Hotels corporate. Our hotel is obliged to honor all reservations confirmed by the Brand's system. We understand the issue with your reservation has been resolved. Best Regards, Guest Relations

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Nice little Hotel. staff was very nice and helpful. only 1 block from beach and boardwalk. needs a little updating, but it looks like they are working on it.pool was small but very clean.I would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank divade1
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We are happy to hear your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to having you visit us again for another great stay, just 1 block away from the beach and boardwalk! Best Regards, Guest Relations

Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

It's clean and a little small but perfect for a cheap beach side hotel for a couple. Service was phenomenal. All of the staff was super nice and friendly. It's only a couple minute walk to the beach so easy to get around. Great for any first time couples looking to get away.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank joe l
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Woo Hoo! We are so happy to hear your stay was very enjoyable with clean and comfortable rooms with a friendly staff. Our team look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations

Teaneck, New Jersey
Reviewed 24 June 2015

I have stayed in many hotels in Seaside Heights. By far, this is the cleanest hotel. The location is nice as well. It's located at the end of the beach. I found it peaceful and quiet. I would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank stefaniav32
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear your stay was fully enjoyable and we look forward to having you stay again soon, just one block to the beach/boardwalk! Best Regards, Guest Relations

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Honestly reading these reviews i was scared to come here, it was 10 of us 6 in the suite 4 in a regular room. What a great stay 1) my other friends who stayed other places came to my room to shower! 2) so roomy 3) so clean 4) very accommodating 5) safe 6) friedly people and staff all in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank anthonyreul
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your great experience. Many guests share your experience, and we really appreciate your time to write about yours. We look forward to another great visit very soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
359 reviews
0.6 km away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
31 reviews
0.9 km away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#8 of 39 in Seaside Heights
190 reviews
0.3 km away
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartm...
#23 of 39 in Seaside Heights
73 reviews
0.3 km away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, is supported by a staff of people interested in one objective: a great experience. The hotel's guest-rooms are designed to feel modern, comfortable, and functional. Simply Easy to Relax. The Jersey Shore can be enjoyed in many ways. Whether you decide to stroll a short block to the boardwalk and beach, or use the hotel's pool and iCenter, you will enjoy your relaxing time. Parking on-site or nearby? Yep, limited amount. Wi-Fi? Of course! Restaurants and Stores nearby? Gotcha covered. Nightlife? Closeby, but won't disturb your sleep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Address: 1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-1914 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Price Range: $81 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seaside Heights
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel is 3 stories/no elevator. I would ask for first floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles 438TraceyC, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“3 floors stairs only”
 of 5 bubbles notnice1, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No elevator. Room 205 is modern and updated.”
 of 5 bubbles KatS411, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would seriously check the room out before you book or pay if you are staying here.”
 of 5 bubbles TrippyPa, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here. Period.”
 of 5 bubbles RyanTravels24, 13 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5