We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hewitt Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hewitt Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 583: English reviews
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first rooms carpet was soiled and bathroom curtain stained and the room just would not heat up, so we told Diane at the front desk. She was great, told us she would show us a different room. When she moved us we were very pleased. Also dining at the Whisper Restaurant was expensive for New Year's eve dinner but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vince700
New Lebanon, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my place to stay between hospital visits on this trip down. Not for a vacation at all, but because the Wellington is such a wonderful cozy place, we had a relaxing stay in spite of having some worry about my Aunt up the road. It is always with great pleasure that I stay here as Kathy is the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol Y
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Even though it was the middle of December, spring lake still holds its charming appeal. Got a great price on the place last minute, must be even more beautiful in the summer right on the water. Great place great location, comfortable accommodations, nice staff, nice breakfast in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysupforfuntimes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was large, bathroom poorly appointed, no where for two people to put out toiletries, bedroom was poorly appointed; two old, uncomfortable chairs, one small table, insufficient plugs for electronic charging, poor lighting, blinds didn't work properly, overall dingy room, continental breakfast was weak. I would much prefer a hotel to this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mimi R
San Francisco, CA
Reviewed 17 December 2016

This was our second visit to this property this year. In general, the inn is tired and needs some "life" and love. The furniture is old and worn, even the holiday decorations were not inspired. The staff: pretty much everyone was nice, but there was no one there for about 4 of our 9 days. I understand that one of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sjg415
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

I apologize that we were certainly not up to our usual standards and that you were unhappy with your stay. Though I had to leave unexpectedly we did have coverage for the hotel, we just were not able to have someone to man the desk 24/7. I did have the chance to speak with you prior to my leaving and...

Reviewed 15 December 2016

I loved the room and the view. The room was very large, bed was so very comfortable and the it was decorated in a charming, very tasteful manner. Loved that it was so very quiet. The location right across from the beach was so very convenient and the staff was first rate. I will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again soon! Thank you

Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This is our third Thanksgiving holiday at the Hewitt! Love this place. Comfortable room settings, great location convenient to restaurants, shops, church, boardwalk. Management very attentive to our needs, service over and above. Relaxing, easy stay. Feels like you are staying with family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gattsav
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

It was so nice to have you again with us. We always enjoy having you and I can't wait until next Thanksgiving for you to spend some time with us again! Thank you

Calistoga, California
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Nice room, or rooms as there was a sitting room as well as a bedroom! Comfy bed & a Lovely porch right outside the room & a 5 Star restaurant to boot! Lake just across the street & the ocean a few blocks away. Kathy & Chris were great hostesses & very attentive to the guests needs, I will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jazzman107
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. It was certainly fun having you stay and I'm glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will see you again very soon! Thank you,

Glen Rock, New Jersey
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I loved this hotel and will absolutely return. Rooms have a Bed and Breakfast feel, charming and comfortable. We stayed in a room with a lovely balcony overlooking the lake. Room had a loveseat and cozy reading chair and was larger than I expected. Location is great, right by the lake and a few blocks from the ocean. All staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmmaire
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

As a last minute trip booked through Groupon (with a wine offer which is hard to refuse), the inviting nature of Cathy (the general manager at the resort) was more than enough to go ahead with the booking. We were a family of 5 adults and one infant. We chose 2 suites on the first floor with good views of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whywake

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 km away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
379 reviews
1.0 km away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
128 reviews
17.9 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
147 reviews
8.9 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
179 reviews
0.7 km away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Price Range: $141 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Livingston Manor, New York
5 months ago
Santiago, Chile
8 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the rooms with a balcony to just have a quiet spot and gaze at the lake and ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles caroly178, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Find another alternative”
 of 5 bubbles 411mimir, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a ground floor room as there are many stairs. There is help with luggage if needed. Morning view of the lake is peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles gattsav, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views”
 of 5 bubbles knitter05, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rm 10 didn't have a view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles CAC162, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay