We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hewitt Wellington Hotel

Save
Share
200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$122
View deal
Booking.comUS$136
Hotels.comUS$122
TravelocityUS$122
PricelineUS$136
Vio.comUS$136
EtripUS$136
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (183)
Room & Suite (73)
Pool & Beach (10)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Spring Lake
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic boutique hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bowling offsite
Patio
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Separate living room
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
833Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 446
  • 236
  • 90
  • 35
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mary Ann wrote a review Oct 2022
Carlsbad, California10 contributions9 helpful votes
Beautiful historic inn Comfortable room very cozy Comfortable beds Housekeeping would make it perfect Very quiet with beautiful outdoor porches everywhere High end restaurant on premises Look forward to visiting again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deanne Jones, General Manager at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel
Responded 26 Nov 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and such kind word towards our property and staff! We are so happy you see what we see in the property, it really is such a unique and special property! It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we cannot wait for another amazing visit
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
analytical p wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very relaxing. Great place to get away. Lots of restaurants and has a wonderful board walk and beach. The moon reflects off the ocean when it is full. Spring lake is a place where time stoped at about 1930’s
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Deanne Jones, General Manager at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel
Responded 26 Nov 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words toward our hotel and the wonderful town of Spring Lake. Spring Lake in general is such an amazing and special place here on the Jersey Shore. Our goal is to make The Hewitt Wellington feel as special as the town and we are so happy that you feel the same. We cannot wait to have you back again for another amazing trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa M wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Beautiful, large room in a lovely hotel. Excellent location and friendly staff. The free breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Unfortunately, it rained on our stay, and we could not enjoy the large, peaceful porch with beautiful Queen Anne touches.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, choose a room on the first floor. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Johnson, General Manager at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2022
We are happy to her that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that you were unable to relax outside due to the weather. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again when the weather is more cooperative.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
russell.chomiak@gmail.com wrote a review Sep 2022
Radnor, Pennsylvania1 contribution
The only disappointment was the absence of linen service. The beds weren't made and there were no replacement towels. The room size and ambiance were fine. The TV worked in the living room but not in the bedroom.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Johnson, General Manager at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel
Responded 22 Sep 2022
RussellC938 - Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear that the bedroom Tv was not working. I do hope that the front desk attempted to assist you. Regarding Linen and towels, at this time our housekeeping staff does not enter rooms once a guest checks in. This is for the safety of our guests and staff. Our beds are made up prior to the guest arriving and towels are available by asking the front desk. I am sorry if you were not made aware of this at check in.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sallymK9445AU wrote a review Sep 2022
Fallbrook, California8 contributions2 helpful votes
Clean, well appointed rooms in this historic building which is well taken care of and very comfortably appointed. Our rooms had lovely, large balcony porches with a lake view. Helpful and friendly staff. Great location by the lake in a beautiful small town on the Shore. In town for a wedding. Enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Johnson, General Manager at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel
Responded 18 Sep 2022
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shpendi B wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Great location and the suite were large in size. The decor and furniture are a bit dated, but the rug in the suite bedroom must be replaced. There were just too many stains and discoloration. A face lift would definitely make this suite more desirable, for the price range.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Johnson, General Manager at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel
Responded 18 Sep 2022
Thank you for your feedback we will definitely look into the carpet repalcement
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wwlowe wrote a review Sep 2022
New Jersey47 contributions77 helpful votes
Hewitt Wellington is an older hotel located steps away from Spring Lake in the town of Spring Lake. It’s also convenient enough from which to walk to the beach but it is not on the beach. We had a double room and it was of a good size, with refrigerator but no desk, only an armchair. They do not have an elevator so that’s something to consider for those who need it. The facilities are clean but probably need to be renovated soon as wears and tears are starting to show (e.g. wallpaper is starting to lift from corners, rusty drain rings, old bath fixtures). The bed was moderately soft and creaked a lot. They provide a self serve breakfast consisting mostly of cold items, pre-packaged pastries, and it was not too appetizing. The surrounding area has many beautiful houses and it was lovely to walk around and admire the homes. I think Spring Lake has more year round residents than other shore towns which lends a different feel to the place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Johnson, General Manager at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel
Responded 4 Sep 2022
Wanchee- Thank you for taking time to provide us a review and feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lady Ella wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I've stayed here a few times. I like it here but it could and should be so much better. I'm fascinated by the ongoing drama with the manager, the most recent being that he actually called the police on a guest for no good reason. There are many negative reviews featuring him. During a visit I asked him a question. He would not even deign to look at me when answering. The staff are pleasant but seem to do as little as possible. I walked into the breakfast room and three staff members were sitting there on their phones. The pool seems always to be dirty. I sat on the beautiful porch one evening and had to listen to the person on desk duty, who sat on the side porch steps, having a phone conversation. I can't believe the owners of the condos don't read the reviews. The staff needs to be more professional.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
dlifshotz wrote a review Jul 2022
Princeton, NJ2 contributions5 helpful votes
Let me say that again, if you stay at The Hewitt Wellington and find the service or your room unsatisfactory, and complain to the manager Matt, you will have to answer to the POLICE! I had booked room 18 a few months ago for a 3-day weekend stay in July. Knowing that most Spring Lake hotels are outdated I called the front desk ahead of our stay, and asked if room 18 had been remodeled. I was assured that it was. Upon checking in I found our room not to have been remodeled nor to be sanitary. There were greasy and questionable stains on the sofa, curtains and bed. After my initial complaint about multiple issues with room 18 the on-duty front desk assistant manager Bridget did not apologize for this inconvenience however, offered a discount upon checking out. On July 24, 2022 I began the checkout process at approximately 11:15 am. Bridget handled the matter until Matt the manager arrived. Bridget offered me a $40.00 discount for my trouble. When I pointed out that $40.00 was not a significant discount on a $1,200 bill, I was instructed to speak to Matt. I began in a very friendly tone telling Matt the issues with the room: -Questionable stains -Nobody cleaned our room the entire stay -The mattress on the sofa had springs sticking out and was extremely uncomfortable. I was in significant pain after sleeping on it -Miscommunication about the room being remodeled Matt proceeded to cut me off. The on-duty manager did not allow or want to hear further from a guest, instead he offered to print out the definition of the word remodeled. I declined. He then said “the customer is not always right”. He said he wasn’t going to offer any further discounts and that if I did not like the hotel I should leave at once. On my calm remark that a manager shall not talk to a customer in such a rude way, Matt called the police to escort me from the hotel for talking in the lobby. Allow me to repeat this unbelievable occurrence, the on duty manager in the hospitality industry decided to call the police on a guest speaking and voicing genuine concerns. I am bewildered at this hotel’s complete lack of service, mistreatment and abhorrent behavior by management.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Happyedna wrote a review Jul 2022
Sherman, Connecticut39 contributions40 helpful votes
BEAUTIFUL Hotel!! The staff were so efficient, helpful and nice!! The room we had was PERFECT. Nice, heated swimming pool too. Short drive to the beach approximately 2 and 1/2 blocks away with plenty of parking so we were able to drive there with our beach chairs and blanket. Can't say enough about how lovely this Hotel is and we will be back for sure!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: No elevator so depending on that there are 3 floors. first floor was very quiet, and our room led...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Johnson, General Manager at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Happyedna - Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we do look forward to you returning.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$142 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hewitt wellington hotel spring lake, hewitt wellington spring lake
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreSpring Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HEWITT WELLINGTON HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 197 Photos (Spring Lake, NJ) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hewitt Wellington Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Hewitt Wellington Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Spring Lake Boardwalk (0.8 km), St. Catharine Catholic Church (0.2 km), and Spring Lake Theatre (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hewitt Wellington Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whispers Restaurant, The Breakers on the Ocean Restaurant, and The Scone Pony.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Hewitt Wellington Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Spring Lake.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hewitt Wellington Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Squan Beach Life-Saving Station #9 (3.4 km).
Does The Hewitt Wellington Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.