We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ubuntu Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Ubuntu Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ubuntu Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Grahamstown, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2016

More than anything, this backpackers feels like a home. And for a house to be a home, it needs to have a family. Best backpackers along the South African Coast, no doubt about it - it keeps me coming back.

Helpful?
Thank Sannehuijsman
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2016

The place has such a cool vibe going arround ..The staff are really amazing people ,I had such an amazing time and i would definitely want to go back .I'm stoked for the next Ubuntu adventure..The shops are close and SuperTube is rigt arround the corner ..!!!

Helpful?
Thank Dunkin A
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I stayed nearly 3 days with the backpacks. The place is really splendid, you can see the sea of the two terraces. The place is clean and the people of staff are adorable. Perfect to go to surf (5 min of the beach on foot). You can even try famous Braai (Afrikaners barbecue). It's definitively my best experiment in South... More 

Helpful?
Thank Morgane D
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I stayed for 3 weeks and it was amazing. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The owner is always around and a cool guy. The price is more than fair and it is a well run establishment. I went to the other backpackers in J bay and it was like a bar with a hostel attached, ubuntu was one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gottfried_Steinen
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2016

I stayed for a week at Ubuntu. The staff are great and owner and manager make a good team! Perfect location to the surf and really nice friendly atmosphere. Every time I come to JBay I stay at Ubuntu!

Helpful?
Thank TristanTravels
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This place has an epic, epic thing going on. Sick location with access to surf breaks for all surfing levels (important with the people we were travelling with), simple and light breakfast provided every morning, coffee, tea and wifi up for grabs all day, housekeeper Nommie who has awesome banter and the top balcony... WHAT A VIEW. Where else would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mon238
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Ubuntu is amazing, offering free breakfast, ocean views, two of the best back packer dogs you will find just about anywhere, an amazing garden, walking distance from the beach and amazing restaurants, some great activities and shuttles offered which really helps when you are traveling without a car, however above all of these benefits we had an instant sense of... More 

Helpful?
Thank 937carenh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in 2016 for a few days on the 'camping'. Let's start with the positive: the hostel looks really cosy, everything is clean,... Unfortunately we had some problems with the 'staff'. The people who are supposed to run the place, are some of the most selfish people i've ever seen. They weren't friendly at all and only looked after... More 

Helpful?
Thank nathanv272
Daryn11, Owner at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Nathan and Charlotte, We always appreciate negative feed back as we are constantly working to better our backpacker. but this kind of review is just unfair and hope the other travelers see this. The person you argued with in the kitchen the day before you left was not one of our staff members. She had been with us for... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Ubuntu Backpackers' staff helped me wonderfully in getting my drivers license back into my own possession. Thanks to their very friendly staff. Rooms are very clean, spacious and airy. Bathrooms and toilets are even better. Definitely doesn't need a serious clean from top to bottom. Makes you feel at home

Helpful?
Thank SchipInAfrika
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Stayed here for 2 weeks, the place was spotless, the staff were super friendly and helpful, Antonio is an absolute legend, went above and beyond to make me feel at home and have a good time, the surf lessons are stacks of fun as well, it's in a awesome location, right next to the surf and shops. Definitely recommend staying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike F

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
2.8 km away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#2 of 25 in Jeffreys Bay
370 reviews
1.9 km away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#18 of 25 in Jeffreys Bay
24 reviews
0.4 km away
Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
FunkyTown
FunkyTown
#1 of 25 in Jeffreys Bay
154 reviews
7.9 km away
Surf Lodge South Africa
Surf Lodge South Africa
#5 of 25 in Jeffreys Bay
32 reviews
0.4 km away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
African Ubuntu is situated in the heart of South African surf-country, Jeffrey's Bay, and caters to fun-loving people looking for an epic yet affordable base. Its a mere 100m to the beach & magical Supertubes, and there are great wave-views from around the house. Whether your dream be flying down the line in perrrfect surf at the point, watching lions on a game drive, or simply collecting seashells on our dolphin-rich coast, we aim to turn your dreams into treasured memories. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ubuntu Backpackers

Address: 8 Cherry Street | Wavecrest Eastern Cape, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: $27 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ubuntu Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ubuntu Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bottom side is very nice and quite with a view of the garden G1g”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 May 2016 | Read review
“It is a hostel so the more people in your room the more likely it is someone snores or wakes up at 4am to go surf.”
 of 5 bubbles Gottfried_Steinen, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“spring for a double room or private room”
 of 5 bubbles kprugh13, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Dorms are always fine but if you visit with your significant other, choose one of the individually designed private rooms for just a few extra Rands.”
 of 5 bubbles 951felixm, 9 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Their double room is great and have built in cupboards so if you are staying more than 1 night you can unpack and hang some stuff. The little things that count.”
 of 5 bubbles Wernz, 14 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5