We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Basse Provence

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Basse Provence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at many small hotels/ B&Bs while in South Africa, and this one was our favorite! Our room was beautiful and the surroundings were stunningly picturesque. It's close to so many wineries and the staff was very friendly... our only regret is that we did not stay longer!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 628nirith
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Basse Provence and were very satisfied! The Cottage was very spacious, nice interior and quiet. We had a wonderful breakfast outside with a beautiful view. The pool area is also very nice WIFI available and good. Also, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked the wrong date but they accomodated us anyways in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirjam8610
Stockholm
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent one night at Basse Provence Guesthouse after a one month long Journey in Southafrica and we did not like After we had got our room all staff disappered and we badkultur a phonenummer The hairdryer was there but no connectin to the electricity Breakfast was just cold OR hot everywhere we have got both yoghurt fruit And hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank britab2015
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very relaxing, we stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting for a wedding. The room was ample and had everything you could ask for. Huge enough with a powerful shower and bath. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, yes it isn't close to town but a 2 minute drive and you smack in the centre of town. I'd say the only thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
Sao Paulo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

People Friendly but the Guest House is old, doesn't smell very good needs to be updated and deep clean in all areas! Good vineyard s around the place an easy to go around from the hotel. Better price and rates website hotel instead od OTAS.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlejandroGeis
United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights in January. It's out of town and right beside Rickety Bridge vineyard. The accommodation is nice, parts need some attention in refurb, and electrics need a look at. On the whole it's nice and breakfast is good, it's in a remote location with nice views and a lovely team.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JandANixon
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We have just returned from our honeymoon where we stayed at basse provance for one night 5th January in the Elizabeth suite. We were very disappointed as when we woke up there was no water for 3 hours. We found this out by going to the bathroom and then not having it flush for 3 hours. As you can imagine,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annamarjori
CassieJR, Owner at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good afternoon I am so sorry that you were here at such an unfortunate time. The Municipality of Franschhoek had a burst pipe in the town centre and the outlying areas were all without water. It is one of those awful acts of God that happens from time to time. We only found out when one of the guests told...

durban
Reviewed 9 January 2017

lovely stay .. excellent food and room, pool was a welcoming cooling plus as it was an exceptionally hot period when we visited. Staff were helpful. Lovely, little, interesting and friendly town... we will be back!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra S
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for the lovely review of Basse, it is always so pleasant to hear from a gust that hs really enjoyed the time spent with us. I do hope you will visit again soon Regards Cassie

Birkenhead
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Basse Provence is off the main road just before you head into Franschoek. It's a pleasant guest house with an average breakfast. When we arrived it took about half an hour for a member of staff to appear and show us in so they could do with a better system (bell?!) Our room was lovely with a good en suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rubybirkenhead
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, as well as your valuable feedback. This helps us to improve our guest experience. I wish you a happy ad healthy season ahead. Regards Cassie

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We stayed in the Elizabeth room that was really amazing, great comfortable bed, with a big and nice bathtub. It was just fabolous. The service was great and for our next visit to Franschhoek we will definitely stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalita84
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good afternoon. I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us! I really look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of heaven. Compliments of the season Kind regards Cassie

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
4.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
594 reviews
0.8 km away
Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House
3.3 km away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#24 of 65 in Franschhoek
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#10 of 65 in Franschhoek
320 reviews
2.0 km away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#12 of 65 in Franschhoek
237 reviews
3.8 km away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#14 of 65 in Franschhoek
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Basse Provence

Address: P.O.Box 455, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $132 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Basse Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basse Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Basse Provence staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lutterworth, England, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Basse Provence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Jacob Suite was large and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles 85jasonh, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Elizabeth in main house was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Rubybirkenhead, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't face the road if its a weekend night.”
 of 5 bubbles mightymousemdsm, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the Manor house”
 of 5 bubbles ChantelleLR, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Jacob Suite was spacious with a bath in the room! Very Romantic!”
 of 5 bubbles Monica-Dart, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5