We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek

Fransvliet Guest House

Save
Traveller (128)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (13)
Overview
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good10%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“squeezed juices”(5 reviews)
“every morning”(20 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Pets Allowed
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (376)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Fransvliet Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
309
34
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
309
34
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssqueezed juicesevery morningnespresso machinedressing areaelectric blanketsb bheated towelhuge bathroomguest househot breakfastvery nice stayfire placespacious roomslovely gardensitting areaeggs benedictbreakfast was amazing
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Good weekend getaway to explore the winelands from. Generously sized bathrooms and a fireplace, which is great and cozy in the winter. Breakfast is ok, but hardly inspiring. Shower in our bathroom a bit misconstructed so unavoidable to flood half the bathroom as the shower...More

Thank Sunrider88
Response from Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest HouseResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you fro bringing the leaking shower to our attention. The seal has been replaced and we no longer have a problem. I am sad that you did not request a breakfast to your liking. We had grilled Halumi with Free range bacon, roasted tomato...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017

I am so excited to head back to stay at Fransvliet over the hot summer season. We had phenomenal service and great breakfasts daily, stayed in a large comfortable, beautiful room with stunning views. Its most definitely going to be a repeat for us. It's...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank R2917ZIdanielles
Response from Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest HouseResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Fransvliet, we are delighted that you loved your stay. Summer offers totally different views and vegetation - you will also. enjoy that. Franschhoek is a unique cosmopolitan village , there is always something on the go in...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

What a superb weekend away at this guesthouse. We were treated exceptionally well by all the staff, the owner and manager were very hands on. The rooms were exceptional with all the necessary amenities and best of all a log burning fire for a cold...More

Thank Brett D
Response from Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest HouseResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your terrific review. Our clients usually arrive a guests and leave as friends. It is our aim to make them truly comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fransvliet.

Reviewed 8 August 2017

We spent 3 nights at Fransvliet. Was a lovely experience! On arrival we received a welcome bottle of bubbly as it was our wedding anniversary. The rooms are very spacious with full bathrooms. A wood stove, underfloor heating, heated towel rails and electric blankets all...More

Thank MS1979
Response from Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest HouseResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The road noise depends on the wind direction. We are doing our best to change this with heavy shrub planting on the road. As the village is in a valley a traffic...More

Reviewed 23 July 2017

Excellent service. The rooms are beautifully decorated and has more than what you would need. The breakfast was superb. The guest house is close to town with beautiful mountain views. We will definitely be back soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N8613XYtanyam
Response from Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest HouseResponded 22 August 2017

We look forward to welcoming you back. I am delighted that you enjoyed the rooms and the breakfast.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
15678970
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$172 - US$241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$172 - US$241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (128)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (13)
Pool & Beach (3)
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Bathroom (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
elizabeth m
2 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Shirley K | Property representative |
Hi, We do not have a dedicated lounge. But, we hve a comfortable dining area, with a fireplace (depending on the season) where you could certainly play cards.
0
Votes
olubola o
26 November 2014|
Answer
Response from olubola o |
Pls kindly reply
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Sauvignon Blanc was the room we had and it was well located - no noise, but close to everything."
Read review
"The Chenin room has the bonus of a window on the side of the patio that adds to the view"
Read review
"Deluxe suite was great"
Read review
"Some of the front rooms have slight road noise when sat in their terraces. There are rooms in the courtyard..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite