We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lekkerwijn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Lekkerwijn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 188: English reviews
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a lovely place. We stayed in the Old Nursery - a big room and bathroom with beautiful views; a bed that was so comfortable we were able to recharge with a great nights sleep. Peter was a fantastic host (along with Carson their lovely yellow Labrador retriever) who made us feel very welcome and was great at giving tips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyJC
sim0nt100, General Manager at Lekkerwijn, responded to this review

Dear Beverly, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your stay at Lekkerwijn Country House. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you visiting us again in the near future. Kind Regards Peter & Lekkerwijn Team

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The winecellar was a bit of a poor sublocation for the price paid, and collected some dust. The main building looked so nice. The rooms there promissed much better. People were very friendly. Small pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 365sonjav
sim0nt100, General Manager at Lekkerwijn, responded to this review

Dear Sonja, Thank you for your feedback for you on your stay at Lekkerwijn Country House. The Wine Cellar cottage is the old wine cellar converted into a two bedroomed cottage and as such it can never be compared to the main house. It is a very private cottage with its own private garden which is enjoyed by many a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent two nights here and we enjoyed ourselves. The house itself is fantastic, such a lovely old house with heaps of character. The rooms were great, the Old Nursery Room in particular is awesome. The pool is well kept, and gardens lovely. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is I felt the breakfast could be a tiny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyabb455
sim0nt100, General Manager at Lekkerwijn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your stay at Lekkerwijn Country House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at Lekkerwijn with our rolling garden and well kept swimming pool. Sorry that you found the breakfast not as good as you would have liked it. We offer a huge range for breakfast including 8 hot breakfast options to...

Wilcox1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Warm welcome to a beautiful old property. Added advantage of a car wash taking off 2 days of dust road. Much appreciated. Peter and Castle received us warmly and we had a lovely suite with huge bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilcox1
sim0nt100, General Manager at Lekkerwijn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review about Lekkerwijn. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Peter & Lekkerwijn Team

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately, this place was a disappointment. We had booked a suite which appeared to be two separate rooms along a corridor, with separate doors. Moreover the house was very cold. We had specifically booked this place because it had a pool. Unfortunately, that pool was not very inviting as it was covered with leaves all the time and did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 778perj
sim0nt100, General Manager at Lekkerwijn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at Lekkerwijn. It is just a pity you did not raise anything with us when you stayed here for 4 nights. The extreme windy conditions we had a few weeks ago meant that the swimming pool, on the edge of our oak tree forest took the brunt of it. We cleaned it...

Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To be truly honest, at first, both I and my Fiancee were not expecting much as we were only staying in the area for a night prior to moving onto Camps Bay. However, upon arrival we were made to feel very welcome and the property itself was spectacular: the grounds: the house: the animals: and the beautiful backdrop to name...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herbz1989
sim0nt100, General Manager at Lekkerwijn, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review on your stay and experience at Lekkerwijn Country House. We hope that we will see you again soon at Lekkerwijn. Kind Regards Peter & Lekkerwijn Team

Selestat, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful premises with an air of the old times! Perfect for our family with playroom for the kids. Such a warm welcome with personalised service. Great breakfast, nice rooms! We really enjoyed our stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kabjorck
sim0nt100, General Manager at Lekkerwijn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Really glad that you enjoyed our breakfast offering. Hope to see you back here one day soon. Kind Regards Peter & Lekkerwijn Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful old historic house. So much character with comfortable bedrooms and modern bathrooms. The gardens are also stunning and there's a pool for the hot days. The staff are friendly and helpful and we felt relaxed and at home from day 1.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grant N
sim0nt100, General Manager at Lekkerwijn, responded to this review

Dear Grant, Thank you for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Peter & Lekkerwijn Team

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently spent a night with five friends in Lekkerwijn Guest House and I won't forget it. The experience from the start is like staying with friends in a country house, which is a lovely change from the faceless chain hotels we spend so much time in. We were welcomed by Peter and his dog and first given a tour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrconroy
sim0nt100, General Manager at Lekkerwijn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review about your stay at Lekkerwijn Country House. We are really pleased that you enjoyed our home away from home experience and we do hope to see you again in the not to distant future. Kind Regards Peter & Lekkerwijn Team

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everyhthing I could say about this hotel wont be enough! You will arrive to a place where you recive more than a warm welcome! This is home. The beautifull house at itself is a dream, loving and paceful garden and it's animals (please visit Lulu she'll be so happy if you share a moment with her!). During breakfast you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iValentina
sim0nt100, General Manager at Lekkerwijn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review about your stay at Lekkerwijn Country House. We try hard to make Lekkerwijn your home from home stay. We look forward to your return visit soon. Kind Regards Peter & Lekkerwijn Team

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.0 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
0.0 km away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 65 in Franschhoek
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House
0.0 km away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 65 in Franschhoek
487 reviews
0.0 km away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#16 of 65 in Franschhoek
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Lekkerwijn

Address: Lekkerwijn | R45, Franschhoek 7680, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $78 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lekkerwijn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lekkerwijn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lekkerwijn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The self catering cottages are great”
 of 5 bubbles travellingjrr, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If your case is heavy - book ground floor!”
 of 5 bubbles 415Shirley, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the cottage. Its quiet, serene and spacious , especially for couples with kids”
 of 5 bubbles fayruzelulu, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Each room have their own experience, so try them all :-)”
 of 5 bubbles deong649, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in an out-building which gave independence, but people staying in the rooms in the house were complimentary about them.”
 of 5 bubbles timothye110, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay