We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hout Bay Hideaway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hout Bay Hideaway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hout Bay Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2014

18 months came around quicker than anticipated and at the end of our third South African trip we finally arrived at Sue and Martin's doorstep to spend our last four nights. Happy, but sad that our wonderful holiday was reaching its end, we knew we were in the best place to round it all off! The welcome was as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luigi.90
MartinCapetown, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you stay on your return trip to The Hideaway especially as you brought you lovely niece and nephew with you. Hope to see you again some time in the future. Sue

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Like most reviewers, it's difficult to find fault with The Hideaway. This was our second visit after a gap of some seven or eight years and it hasn't lost any of it's style or charm. We stayed in the Sentinel suite which , like all the rooms, is beautifully furnished with a tasteful mix of old and new. Martin and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carol b
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review

It was great to see you both again, we really had fun. Glad you enjoyed the restaurants and thanks again for taking the book back with you.

Manchester
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our second visit to the Hideaway, our first being in February 2013 (see review). Sue & Martin make the start of your trip to South Africa trouble free by arranging for someone to pick you up at the airport (R500 one way) and the car hire company bring/collect the car at the property. We stayed for four nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angieManchester
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and also for the recommendations for places on the Garden Route.

Rolle, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very warm welcome from hosts Sue and Martin, they were very helpful with info and organizing transport for us to get to Cape Town in the evening. The Bay view room is very spacious, quiet and comfortable. Superb balcony where breakfast is served, a generous space to relax and enjoy the romantic view of the bay through the trees. Useful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidN0R
MartinCapetown, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review

We're so pleased we were able to make your stay in Hout Bay an enjoyable one. Sue

Clayworth
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Unfortunately we only had one night here, wish we could have stayed longer. Beautiful place and great breakfast. If we were to go back to Cape town we would definitely book into Hout Bay Hideaway again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William F
MartinCapetown, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we knew one night wouldn't be long enough but at least you got the flavour of The Hideaway

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at 'The Hout Bay Hideaway' for 3 days/nights at the end of Jan 2014 and it couldn't have been more idyllic or perfectly placed, being just a 15min drive along the coast to the delights of Cape Town and itself set in beautiful Hout Bay. From the moment that I walked in the door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doey_10
MartinCapetown, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm sure Springsteen lived up to expectation, in fact he always does. Hope West Ham and Wednesday have a good season.

Somerset
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was a last minute booking for our first two nights in South Africa. Having read about it here was really pleased to be able to get in. And what a treat! Up in the wooded hillside above Hout Bay, this is an utter gem. Four bedrooms, three on the first floor with wrap around terrace balconies, and one garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luckywomanSomerset
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review

It was great having you stay, hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2014

On my way home from Namibia via Cape Town I spent a two nights at the Hout Bay Hideaway. I had a superb room with balcony overlooking a sheltered garden with pool and lots of flowers and butterflies. Room facilities were excellent and breakfast was healthy/delicious. Owners, Sue and Martin, provided great hospitality, really making me feel like one of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank orang2020
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review

I'm know you wouldn't be disappointed if you did move to Hout Bay!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2014

For all of us who have been lucky enough to discover The Hout Bay Hideaway, the main concern is to keep it hidden away. Be in no doubt: this is an absolutely 5 star gem, and we would n't want too many people discovering it, or booking will become as difficult as it occasionally already is The house has great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank acb2014
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review

It's always fun having you stay. Thanks for the great review.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had the most fantastic stay with Sue and Martin and we found ourselves comparing all of our subsequent accommodation in South Africa to Hout Bay Hideaway and wishing we were still there. What really made this place the ideal holiday destination was the peace and quiet, gorgeous plunge pool at the back and homeliness we experienced. We felt like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank so4251
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review

It was great having you stay, sorry about the blind it has now been changed to a black out. No need for your mask anymore. Best wishes, enjoy Ghana!

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.8 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.6 km away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
139 reviews
2.2 km away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 57 in Hout Bay
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Amblewood Guest House
Amblewood Guest House
#9 of 57 in Hout Bay
161 reviews
3.1 km away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 57 in Hout Bay
242 reviews
3.1 km away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#6 of 57 in Hout Bay
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hout Bay Hideaway is a peaceful luxurious Guest House overlooking the ocean, mountains and beach of Hout Bay, accommodating a maximum of 9 guests in 4 beautifully furnished rooms. Only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and beach and only a 20 minutes easy drive from the center of Cape Town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hout Bay Hideaway

Address: 37 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range: $152 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hout Bay Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hout Bay Hideaway Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hout Bay Hideaway staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bethesda, Maryland

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Hout Bay Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Skylight Suite with double aspect doors to the wrap around veranda and direct access to the garden and pool is our favourite.”
X6422YVchrisb, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We loved the upstairs room at the back which overlooks the garden and pool.”
CharlesH271, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Bay View Suite which was perfect”
Gill411, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The BayView Suite”
nickirichards2017, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The whohle package is beautiful”
saendi_meier, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5