We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Teniqua Treetops

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Teniqua Treetops
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 341: English reviews
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We used this as a one night stop over whilst travelling the garden route towards Cape Town , sadly the weather was against us but didn't detract from the fab views and quirky treehouse .. be aware of little crawly guests but you are in the treetop canopy so you have to excpect it , but defiantly worth a visit

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank hoodlessr
Greyton
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took my son to Teniqua Treetops for some boys' time. It was an amazing weekend from start to finish & everything I had hoped it would be. I would highly recommend it as a destination, for a quiet solo get-away, family holiday or honeymoon. The area is spectacular & one feels one is living close to nature. We will... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RussellWeston
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can't give this place a good enough review. We had all these wonderful plans to explore knysna but once we settled in and lit the fire there was no chance we were going anywhere. It's so unbelievably beautiful. The view is insane and the tree top huts are stunning. They are simple yet so luxurious. its private and quiet... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 340alexh
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thank you. I am so pleased you enjoyed it Regards Robyn More 

Kimberley
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay here. Nice walks around the area, and the views are spectacular. There was a problem with our water supply in the honeymoon cottage, but the hostess luckily had a extra cottage free. Unfortunately the other cottage was not as isolated, and we had loud music and persons echoing through the wood until late that night... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cornebookingcomp
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Hi, sorry you were disturbed, we do ask guest not to play loud music, but sound travels, even though the tree houses are far apart, you can hear people. But, not see them. As for the water, well, its not so simple, we have explored various options, we do not want to use chemicals and pollute the environment, filters would... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tree tops are cute little wooden cottages with breath taking views. Very comfortable and cozy. Lovely hikes available below the cottages, very friendly staff. The only improvement we can recommend is cleaning standards in the kitchen area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank minke k
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Hi, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please can you email me so I can work out which tree house and what went wrong with the cleaning of your kitchen. I am sorry you had a bad experience Regards Robyn More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful one night stay at the "teniqua treetops"🌿 Very basic,clean tented/wooden chalets,amazingly private and sooo relaxing. It poured with rain so unfortunately no walks or outdoor Braai...(sadly) All self catering,so come prepared.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandgav
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thanks, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay Regards Robyn More 

East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The view from the tree tents are amazing. We were met by the the hosts on arrival and they were very helpful and pleasant, we had a quick tour or the facilities before being taken to our tent tree house. The tent accommodations was very charming rustic and basic. The bath water was a wonderful tea color but clean and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VPVerwey
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thanks More 

Korat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We had a truly wonderful stay at Teniqua Treetops. The service was excellent, the 'Gorge View' tree house we stayed in was incredible and the hike down the gorge was beautiful. The house is even serviced which helped us to truly relax. The entire operation is top-notch in terms of sustainability - so if you are interested in that -... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 769gin
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thanks I am pleased we could share our piece of paradise with you. Regards Robyn More 

Eindhoven, Nederland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The Teniqua treetops are awesome cottages as close to nature as one can get. They have an open air toilet and bath. The cottages are located so that you feel totally at your own. At a cold night electric blankets can be used.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marijke-en-Jan
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thanks I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Regards Robyn More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our complete break from the world at Teniqua. The accommodation was perfect, staff were great and the solitude was very special. Quite rustic, the odd encounter with the reptilian kind, but nothing too serious.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thanks, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards Robyn More 

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
12.0 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
12.0 km away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
80 reviews
25.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
23.9 km away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 101 in Knysna
268 reviews
10.8 km away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 19 in Sedgefield
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Address: Foot hills of the Outenique Mountains | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Price Range: $120 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Teniqua Treetops staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Tents have great views”
 of 5 bubbles VPVerwey, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Philosophers Perch would be chilly in winter because the living area is open, but it is very close to the games room and pool.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonandfamily23, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They are all separate and very private!”
 of 5 bubbles Dewaal, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think they all have great views of the forest, nicely spaced out & quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles CandiceLink, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“We choose the The Eyrie & Tranquility”
 of 5 bubbles SamBrits, 12 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay