We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Teniqua Treetops

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Teniqua Treetops
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 395: English reviews
Start your review of Teniqua Treetops
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were quite surprised with this venue, lots of positives and negatives. The website made it seem a little more upmarket so we thought we had a fairly clear idea of what we were arriving to. Driving into the estate, there wasn't any security and it seemed like anyone could get onto the property, and having lived in South Africa,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ag8702017
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great - but unrealised - potential! Views of the forest are beautiful, also from the windows of the hut. However, amenities and furniture are very primitive and tired, the room is extremely small and we bumped our shins more than once against the bed - bruised. The hut is not built to accommodate persons taller than 1.7 metres. Our bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CorliC
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful peaceful place to stay. Enthused with nature, views and surrounds. Comfortable accomodation with all utilities. Lovely walks in the forests surrounding by birds and tress. Lovely decks with sunsets and evening brains

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dochenry1990
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of four (10 year old and 14 year old) booked at No. 2 Eyrie. Check in was very informative and we appreciated the personal attention. The lady walked us to our treehouse and showed us all the facilities available, including the pool, jungle gym and entertainment room. She carefully explained how the eco friendly bathroom and water facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin L
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thank you for such a detailed response. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I think we need to add boardwalk onto our never ending project list Regards Robyn

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow, Treetops was a really great place to stay. The site is lovely with sweeping views of the forest and river. Loved the hiking trails. The tree houses are beautifully crafted and very comfortable. The pool and game room are top-notch. Loved the focus on environmentally sound practice's. Owners Robin and Vivian are very helpful and interesting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherinesJ6487UC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Ah, thank you. I am so pleased you appreciated what we had to offer Regards Robyn

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great to experience this set-up. Beautiful scenery, makes you feel one with nature. Friendly service went out of her way to make us feel at home. I would just recommend to get assistance with unpacking as it is a bit of a distance to the unit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank karind810
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thanks I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sorry you found it far from the car to the tree house. Regards Robyn

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really looked forward to this visit but were disappointed with some of the experiences. This being an expensive choice, we got the impression that management/owners were trying to save money by not really keeping their hands on the place. The geyser was initially not working and although they eventually got it started, we had to nurse it for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan M
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Hi I am sorry it was not for you. It was our first cold spell of the season, and I apologize I thought your geyser problem had been resolved. We have solar geysers and a gas geyser as a back-up. Its difficult to then have a third geyser as a back-up of a back-up. We will recheck it again, and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in 'Moon over Milkwood' and it was one of the real highlights of our trip to South Africa. You feel like there is no one else around for miles - indeed we didn't see anyone except for when we checked in and out. We had a braai on both nights and watched the incredible sunset,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cebradley2016
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Hi I am so pleased you enjoyed Moon Over Milkwood, each tree house is unique and special. Regards Robyn

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for our anniversary and stayed in the family tree house as all other rooms were booked but was not disappointed. Was such an amazing experience. The owners are welcoming with the friendliest cat who even came to visit our tree house during our stay. There was a Knysna Loerie who visited frequently as well. Bird lovers will thoroughly enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank traceXD
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Hi, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay It is something a bit different Regards Robyn

Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife decided that we have to visit this venue as many of her friends have been to this attraction. We were booked for two nights. One has to plan 5,5 hours travel time from Cape Town and don't try to shorten this time as you will end up with a R500 traffic fine as we did by an unmarked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelFeetZA
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thanks, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for a realistic review Regards Robyn

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
25.6 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
776 reviews
12.0 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
19.0 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
23.9 km away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#2 of 100 in Knysna
308 reviews
12.1 km away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 13 in Sedgefield
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tree house accommodation. Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Address: Foot hills | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Price Range: $116 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Teniqua Treetops staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Expensive, but no luxuries!”
CorliC, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Tree house 5 had great views”
529andreh, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a very different experience, so be open to nature coming to visit :)”
  • Kitchen
NicolineBotha, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the forest”
KathAMM, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best to check out the various cabins as they are very different in location to each other”
Retiredtravellers852, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5