We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Afrovibe Adventure Lodge

Booking.comUS$26*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$43*
US$26*
Great Deal
US$42*
US$42*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 222: English reviews
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2016

What a terrible, unhygienic and unventilated dormitories I have ever seen. How can a bath be inside a dormitory without a door where 12 people sleep. The one dormitory host 12 people without a single window or air ventilation to the room and bathroom and the light must be used even during the day. The bathroom is in the bedroom...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jolenec671
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jolene, We are a very proud Backpackers Lodge, NOT a hotel! Our website clearly indicates that dormitory accommodation is budget accommodation best suited for international youth travelers NOT FAMILIES. Together with your family you arrived at this establishment expecting a hotel and a family room - of course you would then have had the "worst stay ever". You paid...

Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We had an awesome stay at the afrovibe adventure lodge. Definitely one of the best hostels I have ever been to. Good food, great atmosphere, friendly people and very safe. The best part about it is the home made pizza at the camp fire in the evening and all the excursions they offer. You'll miss out a lot if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cori K
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2016

A very pleasant stay on the beach. Clean and comfy. Although, the basin was propped up and wouldn't drain properly, leaving a pool of used water in it constantly.. but that would happen in a bathroom as tiny that is meant for 12 people. Breakfast is too expensive for what you get. Pili Pili is great!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dylan S
Erlangen, Germany
Reviewed 5 January 2016

This beautiful place right at the sea with friendly staff has a big problem: The dorm beds are too small! I am a 1.90 m person and the first night I had to sleep in a 1.80 m bed, so I could not even stretch out a single time per night. The night after we changed into other beds in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blownfaraway
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Smelly and mouldy bedrooms and toilets; stained sheets; old dust hanging from fan in bedroom; loud dancing music and noise of pub/bar under rooms till 3am in morning!! we could not wait to leave! only respite was the beautiful Myoli Beach over dunes. Thank goodness for that. Phew!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carin G
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Carin G, I am sorry to hear of the disappointing experience you had at this establishment. We are in process of having the extraction system redone which will hopefully resolve the smell and mould issue that is prevalent in the room that you stayed in. December is our peak season, as indicated on our website noise levels are higher...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2016

located on the beach,views from my room were awesome.staff are so helpful and friendly.a must stop on your trip.the pub and restaurant are fantastic and well priced.i felt like the staff will go out of their way to keep you happy.thanx guys and best wishs and three cheers for 2016.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingsara44
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

This hostel is located at the beach of Sedgefield, within 2 minutes walking you're actually on the beach! We stayed here with a group of girls. The dorm was ok (the beds were a bit sandy) and had an ensuite bathroom which wasn't quite enough for girls but still we managed. Dinner was very good and breakfast was fine. At...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VLS8
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Afrovibe has a quality service that does look after their guests. The rooms are very nice and right above a very nice bar and restaurant. Afrovibe offers a delicious Afro breakfast. The area is very family oriented in peak season but is nice to spend time with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X210YKdaniela
Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

This is my first stay in a backpackers and it was what I expected. The sunset from our room was like a beautiful red painting. Waking up to the sound of the waves was refreshing. Friendly service at the front desk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jody K
Ballito
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

Right next door to the ever popular Pilipili.....Afrovibe's Cafe offered what pili couldn't. ....early breakfast! And what a find! Continental breakfast was laid out for back packer guests....but it was the smell of good coffee that drew us in....decor is "surf shack chic" with lots of info on the attractions of the area, chilled tunes and a small menu offering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate W

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
0.7 km away
Afrovibe Beach House
Afrovibe Beach House
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
15 reviews
6.6 km away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
150 reviews
22.0 km away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#34 of 102 in Knysna
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Shearwater On Sea
Shearwater On Sea
#7 of 20 in Sedgefield
40 reviews
1.3 km away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
136 reviews
2.0 km away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge and Backpackers hostel is located in Sedgefield, a quaint seaside village set in the lakes district between the towns of Wilderness and Knysna on the Garden Route of South Africa. This owner-run hostel is situated right ON Myoli Beach. Myoli Beach is an undiscovered paradise littered with adventure. In-house activities include: Kite-surfing, surfing, wakeboarding, stand up paddling, paragliding, mountain biking, horse riding, canoeing, beach volleyball and trips to the Bloukrans Bungy Bridge or White Shark Africa where one can dive with Great White Sharks. With plenty to do life truly is a beach at Afrovibe! Spend your days on an unspoilt beach, sip on cocktails with sand between your toes at the beach bar, try to spot a dolphin or two from the roof top jacuzzi or enjoy a scrumptious meal from the in-house restaurant. Room types include; single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms, family rooms and dorms - all of which are en-suite. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all self-catering facilities at your disposal. These facilities include a spacious communal lounge, fully equipped communal kitchen, BBQ facilities,free Wi-Fi, secure off street parking, Baz Bus Stop and friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Afrovibe Adventure Lodge

Address: 2 Claude Urban Drive | Myoli Beach, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Price Range: $46 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrovibe Adventure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Afrovibe Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Afrovibe Adventure Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“More chance of noise with seafacing. Viewing deck within 50m of the hotel where you can see the ocean far better.”
NikkiR624, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go to the beach!”
SeanFH, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would definitely suggest that its better to pay the bit extra and book a bed in the 6 bed dorm room.”
Kirsty822, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room (11) was good for a dorm!”
Rubber_Duckie89, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose the rooms on the top floor facing the beach.”
nanklesaria, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$26* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$42
PricelineUS$42
CheapTicketsUS$43
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates