We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
See the most recent reviews
Showing 254: English reviews
Seattle
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was no wifi signal in my room during my three-day stay despite assurances by the front desk and the management. Other guests told me they had the same problem. My request to change rooms was denied. Poor lighting in the room. Bus loads of noisy tourist groups who would inundate the lobby and breakfast room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhlp77
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding you recent stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we use this to maintain or improve our level of service and facilities where necessary. I am very sorry to read that you had some challenges during your stay. I can assure you that this...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The new Lord Charles has been nicely refurbished since my previous stay. The rooms are all updated and nicely appointed. The public areas show the biggest improvement. A good business class hotel in a nice location in easy access to the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Michelle Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your most recent visit to our hotel. You've mentioned some of our greatest qualities we are very proud of, such as our recent refurbishments and excellent location. We look forward to welcome you back to NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Hotel in the near future...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I attended a conference at the Lord Charles hotel several years ago. I was pleasantly surprised by the upgrade. Good points: Central between Stellenbosch and Cape Town. Ideal for business. They are much better geared for business than the wine farms. Enough parking Hotel and conference area good ambiance Food basic but tasty Staff friendly Breakfast good selection and fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nico v
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Nico Thank you very much for your amazing feedback on your most recent visit to NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Hotel. Thank you for also mentioning some of our greatest attributes such as the location, perfect conference venues, ample parking bays and friendly staff. We work very hard to make sure our guests are well taken care off....

Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We started with an afternoon tea and the most delicious scones. A buffet dinner which was varied and well prepared followed in the evening. The famous breakfast on both days was very good. They cater for Halaal clients which is great for me as I am allergic to pork. Sparkling wine is an option with the juices. The most divine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Margaret I am delighted to read your fantastic review. Thank you for taking the time to give us such great feedback. Thank you for also mentioning what a great experience you from breakfast to dinner. I will make sure I pass on your gratitude to the staff so they know their hard work paid off. We look forward to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very clean hotel on beautiful grounds with an extremely nice and attentive staff. There are two outdoor pools, both of which are very nice. This is a great place to relax. Beds very comfortable, food at the hotel is very good. I recommend this highly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tcgielow
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your most recent visit to our property. Thank you for your mentions of our clean hotel, our attentive staff, great facilities and excellent food, as these are some of our greatest qualities. We look forward to welcome you back very soon to enjoy another excellent stay....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean well kept room. Delightful and wide choice of food for breakfast. Lovely grounds around the hotel and very peaceful. Large shopping Mall available close by and well positioned to access highway. Staff helpful and friendly. Will definitely visit & stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burt1735
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Burt I am thrilled to read your amazing feedback. Thank you for mentioning some of our greatest qualities such as well kept rooms, great breakfast variety, lovely grounds, excellent locations and helpful and friendly staff. We are very proud of these traits and will always go above and beyond to make sure our guests are well take care off....

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at 9pm walked past 3 employees/ porters with not one offering to help with my bags or escort to my room, I didn't even get greeted. Floor by tea station was grubby and sticky. Sliding door didn't work well. 3 of the tv channels had sound but no picture. Wifi signal very poor, which would be ok, but you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 607kim
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Kim Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as we use this to maintain or improve our level of services and facilities where necessary. I am very sorry to read that you had some challenges during you stay. I can assure you that this is not our standard and that we informed all departments to...

Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff is friendly and helpful in general. The place seems old and it lacks paint in a few areas. It's a bit far from the beach. During 2 or 3 days, there was no hot water to shower in the morning. When I asked about ideas on what to do half a day, I really didn't get anything useful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miaureen
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Miaureen I am sorry to read that you had some challenges during you last visit to our establishment. I can assure you that this not our standard. The relevant department has been informed to take action where necessary. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff, I will make sure I pass on your good words. We hope...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived in the early afternoon the Esther was 33 degrees so all we wanted to do after a long flight was a nice cool shower and head to the pool. On arrival the Hotel looked lovely from the outside loads of place around the hotel and very private. There are the local shops just a 5 minute walk away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paiis
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Paiis Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such extensive and constructive feedback. We have taken all your comments and concerns into account and will take action where necessary. Thank you for also mentioning some of our hotel's great qualities such as the distance to local malls, clean rooms and lovely grounds. We look forward...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the second stop on a Saga tour of the Garden Route, right in the heart of the Winelands area. On a busy crossroads by a shopping Mall but the hotel grounds are large enough not to be concerned by this. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms large and the food OK, breakfast was the best meal of the day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pgp394
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for the great feedback you gave us on your most recent stay at our hotel. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly and thank you for also mentioning most of our great qualities, such as the fantastic location, friendly staff, large rooms and excellent food. We hope we will see...

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
5.9 km away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
286 reviews
5.1 km away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
198 reviews
37.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
136 reviews
37.1 km away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
1.6 km away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles hotel in Cape Town is nestled between the wine country of the Cape, the Helderberg Mountains and False Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Address: Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range: $122 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Cape Town The Lord Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Cape Town The Lord Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh The Lord Charles Hotel Somerset West
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Somerset West, Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NH Cape Town The Lord Charles staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from NH Cape Town The Lord Charles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are travelling with large bags ask for a ground floor room. There is no lift.”
BronwynStephenson, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I had as requested a room designed for a disabled person with easy access .”
, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rather opt for alternative accommodation”
D0uwW, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms facing the lawn has tables and chairs outside. There is a good handicap room which we used as my mom is in a wheelchair”
margarets424, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“bottom floors are the best”
tcgielow, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5