We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Willowbrook Country House

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$93*
US$91*
US$93*
US$93*
US$91*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Willowbrook Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Willowbrook Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

This was our sixth visit in twelve years to Willow Brook, and as ever, we wish we could have stayed longer than our 4 days. The staff are always friendly and helpful, and the kitchen opened for lunch just for the two of us on our arrival. We were early on that day, but the rooms were already available. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
Mandal, Norway
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Willowbrook Country House is a very nice place, in a nice & quiet location with top service from Lisa and her colleagues. One feel at home very quickly and we stayed 2 weeks and enjoyed every day. We played golf on some of SA-s best courses, all of them booked by Willowbrook. Needless to say that the food and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tunnejohn
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 7 March 2016

I arrived after a busy day seeing clients, and all I wanted was to relax, watch TV and have a nice dinner. On my arrival I waited for 15 minutes in the reception to be assisted, the poor lady on duty (the only staff member) was running around checking in and serving dinner. First I could not order room service...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Annali01
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Lovely room and very pleasant and helpful staff. We stayed for a week whilst visiting family in the area. Very good breakfast. Ideally placed for visiting local vineyards and nature reserve. We would visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
henley in arden
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This was our first stay here and we were very impressed by our lovely air conditioned modern suite. There was a lovely garden to sit in outside and walk to the riverside. Lisa and her team were excellent in the manner they looked after us and were so friendly and helpful.breakfast was excellent and although their kitchen is small they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaeldufty
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Simple effective accommodation / value for money in a beautiful quiet rural setting. Excellent restaurant / food with a twist. Worth a visit for the exquisite menu with freshly cooked local ingredients

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 39kaz
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2016

It would be unfair to say that the rooms were not pleasant, clean and acceptable aside from being a bit overpriced, but I would not recommend it because of their billing policies and devious overcharges, especially in the restaurant. Here again I have to add that the meals were of a good standard, but here it is true to say:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 31Extensivetraveller
Willowbrook31, Owner at Willowbrook Country House, responded to this review

Dear Extensive Traveller, We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable and well appointed rooms, our excellent food and service in our restaurant. It is however disappointing and extremely surprising to read your feedback when no problem was brought to my attention during your stay with us. We don't quite understand your remarks about "devious overcharges" as...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 13 December 2015

I liked it so much that I returned 1 week later for another few days,,,, My first room was at the back, super quiet and had a beautiful view over the garden, huge comfortable bed and great sized bathroom... My second room was just as beautifully designed and overlooked the front gardens. Super pool where I enjoyed sampling their wines,,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simlyhippychic
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Lovely hotel close to golf courses and wine farms. Try Erinvale for golf and then do wine tasting and dinner or lunch at Lourensford wine estate. Great day. The Hotel has nice, refurbished different size rooms with a nice garden and pool. Located in a very quite and safe neighbouhood. Lisa and her staff are incredibly nice and helpful with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
Reviewed 10 November 2015

I specifically requested twin beds when I made the booking a few months before our arrival and was assured it will be no problem. However, upon our arrival late Thursday afternoon, there was only the 1 queen bed. All the other rooms were booked out so we could not get another room!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grobbies
Willowbrook31, Owner at Willowbrook Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are very sorry to read that you had a disappointing stay with us and we feel that a couple of points should be clarified. You reserved a Petite double room - by definition the smallest of the rooms available at the time - for a one night stay in November - high season - and asked to...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
5.1 km away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
282 reviews
1.2 km away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
287 reviews
8.2 km away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
19 reviews
9.4 km away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
193 reviews
5.7 km away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Willowbrook Country House offers luxury accommodation in an idyllic, private and secluded country setting amidst lush gardens in the quiet residential town of Somerset West in the Western Cape, South Africa. Owner Lisa will welcome you and personally make sure that your stay at Willowbrook Country House is a superb experience. Our location offers the advantage of being in close proximity to the tourist hot spots of the area, pristine golf courses, sandy beaches, the Cape winelands and popular towns including Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Hermanus. Willowbrook Country House also offers an exquisite dining experience – the D’Vine Restaurant, voted among the top 100 in South Africa. Our garden setting next to the river is also ideal for intimate private functions such as weddings and smaller conferences. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Willowbrook Country House

Address: Morgenster Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa (Formerly Willowbrook Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range: $135 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Willowbrook Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Willowbrook Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbrook Country House Somerset West, Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Willowbrook Country House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Willowbrook Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“At the back and away from the builders next door.”
220judithc, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“choose room at rear overlooking garden and river”
michaeldufty, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter”
wmartinbird, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I imagine all the rooms are of the same high standard so can't think of a suggestion”
EmerFly, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book a classic double or superior double room.”
  • Classic or Superior Double room
FrizzyFrosty, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$93
Expedia.comUS$91
TripAdvisorUS$91
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates