We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Erinvale Estate Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Erinvale Estate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Erinvale has everything you would want and then some on your doorstep. From amazing restaurants, a spa, wine and olive estates. Surrounded by Lourensford Estate (great market, wine and coffee tasting), Vergelegen Estate (fine dining, world class wines and beautiful grounds to have a picnic), Morgenster Estate (award wining olives, oils and wines), Helderberg Nature Reserve and last but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlPit81
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

A hidden gem.They have themed Fri evenings outside on terrace,music and wonderful food.Alt one can sit inside in the Skellig's Irish pub/restaurant,really warm during winter. Pork belly and fish goujons delicious,craft beer on tap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive review after your visit to Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa. Our Feel Good Fridays are certainly proving to be extremely popular, and we have a wonderful line up of artists and music for the entire summer season. This is a wonderful way to relax on our terrace, with good music, good...

Interlaken, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very nice hotel. Great food. Unfortunately let down but very noisy room. Lots of noise from the street. The swimming pool was also very dirty with green water. I was also served very pink/raw chicken. I mentioned it to the waiteress and asked her to show the chef.... there was no explaination or feed back was given? And we we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shepheard B
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay with us. First and foremost may I take this opportunity to apologise most sincerely for the chicken not being cooked to your satisfaction. On the other hand also a big thank you for your very positive comments on all other food. With regards to the pool being green, due...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We love going to this place . We go every year for our anniversary. We love the country feel .Surrounded by really good wine farms ,restaurants and a fantastic golf course. We will be back .There staff are top notch and efficient. I highly recommend a few days stay at Erinvale Estate Hotel .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilellatd
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful comments, after your recent anniversary celebration with us. I am delighted to hear that my wonderful team of staff here at Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa, continue to make every stay with us such a memorable one. It is absolutely our pleasure to host you, and we look forward to many return...

Cape Town
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On Sunday the 13th November 2016 we had a family gathering a the Erinvale Estate Hotel, the table was set up for 14 of us, and it was magnificent, in every detail, the food was absolutely outstanding , it was a Buffet Lunch with an assortment of meats and veggies, with salads and a magnificent dessert table, my overseas guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia May F
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful and kind comments, after your recent family event at our hotel. I was absolutely delighted to hear that you and your guests have enjoyed your day and Sunday lunch with us, and that we were able to make this day such a special and memorable one for you. It was our absolute...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a summer delight package for my wife. On arrival the reception staff were very unhelpful. She was never offered lunch, although is was included in the package. Treatments also differ from normal menu to what's included in the package. Sent them an email long before I wrote this review to settle the matter privately but no response. Might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roccov851
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

I refer to your recent TripAdvisor outlining the experience your wife encountered in our Spa. I have also responded to your private email address to express my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment experienced, and reiterate my invitation extended to your wife for a complimentary Summer Delight treatment package. We have encountered some staff changes in our Spa,...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Travelling to meet clients in the area, I stumbled upon this great hotel. The hotel has an old school feel and the rooms are fantastic. The grounds are magnificent beneath the surrounding mountains. The hotel has a quaint bar with warm and receiving staff. The breakfast was lovely and the restaurant area was neat and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive review of our hotel after your recent visit. I was most delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you have enjoyed the wonderful location and the hotel services and food on offer. Your specific mention of the accommodation was indeed of particular interest, as we...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Hotel is located in Somerset West- just across the road from the historic Vergelegen wine farm in a very quiet serene area. Vergelegen is a must visit- lovely gardens and place to walk and enjoy a terrific picnic. Erinvale was originally part of the Vergelegen farm but this part is now developed into a hotel and separate golf estate. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pretoriamariev
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you most sincerely for your wonderful and detailed review of Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa, after your recent stay with us. We are indeed most proud and delighted that you have had such a truly memorable stay, and that you have enjoyed the wonderful location, food, friendly and efficient staff, and most comfortable room and all its amenities. It...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Our room like the rest of the hotel was of traditional style with all the mod cons required. We had a bath and shower which is our preference. The hotel is situated in a very pretty garden setting. We did not eat in the hotel but the bar, also traditional style, looked inviting and the breakfast was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Froggles5
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive review of Erinvale Hotel and Spa after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that your stay was indeed both memorable and comfortable, and that you have thoroughly enjoyed not only the hotel itself, but particularly the wonderful setting amongst the estates and vineyards of the Helderberg. It...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We choose the Bar restaurant for dinner and were surprised at the excellent choice. The fillet steak was cooked to perfection with an excellent pepper sauce. The beef and ale pie was the best I have ever tasted and a speciality I was told. Game Goujons to start were fresh and tasty, we shared a main course, highly recommend. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spithead
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review of our Skelligs Pub and restaurant at Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your meal and your evening with us. We do have theme evenings in our Pub every Friday night with live music, with various food themes. These have proved to be...

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
5.9 km away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
211 reviews
1.2 km away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
182 reviews
4.5 km away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
89 reviews
14.7 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,479 reviews
4.9 km away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#19 of 76 in Somerset West
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Steeped in history, surrounded by the majestic Hottentots Holland Mountains, the Erinvale Estate Hotel & Spa offers distinctive and captivating hospitality. The property is only 40 minutes from Cape Town and 20 minutes from Cape Town International airport. Guests are a stone's throw away from a world of outdoor and leisure activities and have access to golf, spa, wine, chocolate and olive tasting at famous estates, in the 'Heart of the Helderberg'. The neighbouring Gary Player-designed Erinvale Golf Course offers a unique golfing challenge to all levels of players. The Erinvale Estate Spa is operated by the Lurra Spa and Wellness Group. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Erinvale Estate Hotel

Address: 1 Erinvale Avenue | off Lourensford Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range: $142 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erinvale Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Erinvale Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erinvale Estate Hotel Somerset West, Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Erinvale Estate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a garden terrace room which had a lovely outside seating are to enjoy the sunshine.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlPit81, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great hotel if you are in the area, close enough to the wine route.”
 of 5 bubbles C3908IXrichardp, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“some rooms have their own patios- with a small garden overlooking the central lawn. There is no lift to the rooms on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles pretoriamariev, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Different houses. And some suites ask and they will tell you.”
 of 5 bubbles janicel692, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the room are being renovated so all will be good”
 of 5 bubbles 857johanv, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay