We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Erinvale Estate Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Erinvale Estate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Erinvale Estate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 223: English reviews
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I was disappointed that there was not as much variety of food as there was the last time I visited Erinvale, but that said - the food provided was tasty & well presented. The service was wonderful, Koleka was a fabulous waitress, and I must say that sitting on the shady deck on a sunny day, and listening to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zeeroo
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your recent visit to our beautiful hotel and for taking the time to complete a review. We are indeed delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the food, entertainment and superb service from our staff. I am indeed very proud to have a wonderful team of managers and staff who always ensure that our...

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 12 December 2015

First of all we are already big fans of Skelligs. We come here roughly once a week, and have always loved the atmosphere, the setting, and most of all the staff. In particular Dennis the Duty Manager, Jocelyn, Patience, and all of them really. However on our last visit we were quite disappointed. First of all the nice traditional menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane d
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are most delighted to hear that Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa is a home away from home for you and that our staff and food continue to delight you. I am indeed very proud to have such a professional team of staff who consistently provide service excellence to our guests....

johannesburg
Reviewed 10 December 2015

One of the better hotels I have stayed in around the world (ranging from 2 to 5 star establishments). Two issues stop me giving in 5 stars - the spa was fully booked when we arrived - it is obviously small as the hotel was not at all full and secondly, the food was disappointing - tough burger, toughish chicken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james l
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your visit to Erinvale Estate Hotel. First of all I would like to apologise most sincerely for the quality of the food you have received. I was most surprised to hear this, as our kitchen has a reputation for excellence and would not reflect our normal high standard. I have discussed these issues with our...

Cape Town
Reviewed 20 November 2015

We were privileged to attend a three day conference at the Erinvale Hotel in Somerset West. The venue was superb, the service was unobtrusive and of the best and, I have saved the best for last, the snacks and meals were absolutely excellent! We will definitely be voting to have our next workshop back at this venue!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LyndaTCapeTown
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

What a delight to read your detailed review on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the entire management and staff a very big thank you. It was an absolute pleasure and honour to have hosted you and your colleagues during your conference. We are very proud and happy that we were able to contribute in making this event such a success, and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015

What a lovely estate with stunning gardens and awesome bronzes to admire. We had lunch in Skelligs pub which was outstanding the best burger I have ever eaten. The hake was simply delicious cooked to perfection and so fresh. The food was great the wine was stunning and the day was great. Erinvale is a fabulous place to stay –...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brotherbill99
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your experience and your delight after staying with us at the Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa. We are truly pleased that your stay was such a memorable and enjoyable time for you, and particularly that you enjoyed our wonderful cuisine on offer in our Irish Pub, Skelligs. Being of...

Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

Just came back from a 3-night stay at Erinvale Estate Hotel, where my company held a leadership conference. My room was lovely - spacious, well appointed and comfortable. I had a comfortable nights sleep on my queen bed - great mattress and a duvet that was just right. I could have done with firmer pillows though. The room was meticulously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindiwe S
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

What a delight to read your detailed review on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the entire management and staff a very big thank you. It was an absolute pleasure and honour to have hosted you and your colleagues during your conference. We are very proud and happy that we were able to contribute in making this event such a success, and...

Cape Town
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

A quant estate with charming rooms, the finer details that makes this hotel extraordinary. Superb service from all staff. Food is prepared with the extra touch of class. Our training venue is elegantly decorated and afternoon tea is surprised with sweet treats and popcorn. During Winter, the room is prepared for you with hot chocolate and marshmallows at your bedside.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AKIsaacs
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the management team and staff here at Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to comment so positively with regards to our hotel. We were delighted to hear that you had a successful conference with us, and that you have enjoyed the food and treats provided by...

kirkwood,south africa
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Great service and friendly and helpful staff staff across board very helpful. All my requests were responded promptly & in a very friendly manner. Excellent Breakfast, better than what I have experienced as compared to 4-5 star hotels in Europe, USA & the East. The rooms are large and convenient.. The Location is very peaceful with convenient access to main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grysbeer
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to respond most positively with regards to our hotel, and in particular with the services you enjoyed from our dedicated staff. We were also delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast spread. Your comments will most certainly motivate all our staff to continue to ensure that all our...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Best Hotel stay, feels like my home away from home. Friendly staff, staff knows you individually. Lovely rooms, warm and very easy access. My bookings are handled effectively and when I check in I am welcomed with a friendly greeting. Thank you for your humble and homely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abigail P
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most kind comments with regards to your recent stay at Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa. We were delighted to hear that you felt welcome and most comfortable during your stay. Erinvale Estate Hotel and its staff are dedicated to making each and every guest feel special in every way, and we are so...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Original historical buildings, select a larger room downstairs, beautiful gardens and ponds. very friendly staff and great breakfast. great pub. a perfect location for a wedding or party. great rooms very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meganjewelscarr
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire management team, staff and myself I would like to thank you very much indeed for your most positive review of Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa. Thank you in particular for taking the time to detail your experience, and the hotel and its unique setting, services and facilities on offer to our guests. We are indeed...

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
5.9 km away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
229 reviews
1.2 km away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
188 reviews
4.5 km away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
110 reviews
10.3 km away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
177 reviews
20.2 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Steeped in history, surrounded by the majestic Hottentots Holland Mountains, the Erinvale Estate Hotel & Spa offers distinctive and captivating hospitality. The property is only 40 minutes from Cape Town and 20 minutes from Cape Town International airport. Guests are a stone's throw away from a world of outdoor and leisure activities and have access to golf, spa, wine, chocolate and olive tasting at famous estates, in the 'Heart of the Helderberg'. The neighbouring Gary Player-designed Erinvale Golf Course offers a unique golfing challenge to all levels of players. The Erinvale Estate Spa is operated by the Lurra Spa and Wellness Group. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Erinvale Estate Hotel

Address: 1 Erinvale Avenue | off Lourensford Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range: $147 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erinvale Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Erinvale Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erinvale Estate Hotel Somerset West, Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Erinvale Estate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“40+ numbered rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles R4675BKkarenh, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a garden terrace room which had a lovely outside seating are to enjoy the sunshine.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlPit81, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great hotel if you are in the area, close enough to the wine route.”
 of 5 bubbles C3908IXrichardp, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“some rooms have their own patios- with a small garden overlooking the central lawn. There is no lift to the rooms on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles pretoriamariev, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Different houses. And some suites ask and they will tell you.”
 of 5 bubbles janicel692, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay