We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Penny Lane Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Penny Lane Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Penny Lane Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 30: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Penny Lane Lodge proved to be a great find for me. The chalet was very clean and comfortable and had all that I needed. Diane and Kevin are great hosts. I travel through Cape Town airport quite a lot and I will certainly be using Penny Lane Lodge again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anfield4ever2014
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Penny Lane Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Tulbagh, South Africa
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights while visiting friends in Somerset West. Our room was very comfortable and clean and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony with the mountain view. Diane and Kevin made us very welcome and we loved the garden by the pool. We were hugely impressed by Diane's paintings - she even has her own...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice comments, Laura. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay...and my paintings! Hope to see you again if you're coming through to Somerset West.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Thank you for the warm welcome. Really cool. 😊😊 Lol :-) - please keep the dogs away to allow use of the indoor pool. Perhaps regular check ups on the guests if they need anything. Overall, really enjoyed our stay and room. Thank you so much.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lerato M
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and for reminding us that our friendly dogs don't always have free range of the garden. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you.

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed the first 10 days of this year. A perfect base for our family holiday! We stayed in the two bed cottage, it was great to have this much room as a family on holiday, rather than having to squash in one hotel room. Kevin and Diane were really friendly, although we were so busy we didn't see much of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GCh81
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay! We agree that the cottage is great for families...and there is lots to do in and around Somerset West. We would love to welcome you back sometime!

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I need temporary accommodation whilst we are preparing to move from Somerset West, Cape Town, to Pretoria. I visited Penny Lane lodge on 19 Jan '14 to view the "chalet". I was, somewhat, disappointed as the "chalet", viewed, appeared to be an old, wooden-based, "Wendy House" converted to accommodation?? It was small and appeared cramped and "musty"....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

We always welcome feedback - including from people who don't actually stay with us. A fresh eye is a useful marker. In response to this review, we would advise that our chalets are timber-framed and clad, insulated with plasterboard and were newly constructed just a few years ago. They are located in a secluded garden setting which many people enjoy....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The place is great & offers a nice & quiet environment for resting. One thing that the hosts can improve on is separating their reception area from pets & smoking areas - visitors generally don't like both.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phylis M
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and have taken note of your comments. It is good to know that you were pleased with your room during your short stay and we will pass your appreciation onto our housekeeping staff.

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed at Penny Lane with my family. We had a really nice time. The owners and the dogs were all very friendly and the breakfasts were wonderful. No complaints from us! Kevin and Diane had lots amazing ideas for things for me to do. Thanks for the experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrandonRoberts
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Brandon, so glad you enjoyed the safari, the golf and the surfing...and that you came back all in one piece from your sky dive!

W Yorkshire
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed here last week for 4 days on business. I was put up in one of the self catering chalets. Unfortunately being on business meant that didn't have much chance to take Dianne's and Kevins sight seeing advice, but they were very useful for recommending nice local restaurants. They were even kind enough to help me after I trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZX6RRick
dianewh, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to give us your feedback. We do appreciate it! So glad you had a comfortable stay. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again, whether on business or pleasure, we are here to make all our guests feel at home and you would be most welcome.

Gibraltar
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My husband, two young children and I stayed in the cottage at Penny Lane Lodge. The cottage is very comfortable with a well-equipped kitchen which was perfect for self-catering for our young family. There is a private patio behind the cottage with a little garden and a barbeque. There is a nice clean pool in the main garden surrounded by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
dianewh, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Julia, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we do appreciate your nice comments. So glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday here. It was such a pleasure to have you stay here. Have a lovely summer and hope to see you again one day! With best wishes, Diane

Houston, Texas, Usa
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We needed a place which could accomodate 3 adults, and for only a single night. For that, Penny lane was fine. The room was spacious and clean, and I thought the price was quite reasonable. For a longer stay I would probably look for a more scenic location. If you don't like smoke - the reception / lounge area has...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darryl S
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

We're pleased you found your room comfortable and value for money! We pride ourselves in being able to accommodate guests for short and long stays, in a handy location for many activities and events and at an affordable price.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.1 km away
Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast
Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast
#60 of 78 in Somerset West
21 reviews
6.2 km away
Chelaya Country Lodge
Chelaya Country Lodge
#3 of 26 in Somerset West
69 reviews
2.6 km away
De Molen Guest House
De Molen Guest House
#31 of 78 in Somerset West
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Stellendal Guesthouse
Stellendal Guesthouse
#8 of 78 in Somerset West
112 reviews
2.5 km away
Bay View Somerset West
Bay View Somerset West
#13 of 78 in Somerset West
116 reviews
1.2 km away
Smart Stay Luxury Self-catering Apartments
Smart Stay Luxury Self-catering ...
#12 of 26 in Somerset West
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the beautiful town of Somerset West with magnificent views of the Helderberg Mountains, and at the gateway to the winelands, close to the beaches of Strand & Gordons Bay, close to 5 major golf courses, we have 6 units to let on a self-catering / room only basis. We are 20 minutes from Cape Town International Airport and 35 minutes from central Cape Town, centrally situated for the tourist or business traveller. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Penny Lane Lodge

Address: 5 North Avenue | Westridge, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range: $98 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Lane Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Penny Lane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Lane Lodge Somerset West, Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Penny Lane Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See my review.”
 of 5 bubbles 498JohnS498, 26 Jan 2014 | Read review
“We booked the Cottage and both the chalets, the rooms are all large and clean, the only downfall of the cottage is that it doesnt have air conditioning and the chalets do, but this would not stop me going back to this location.”
 of 5 bubbles LWallington, 19 Jan 2012 | Read review
2 of 2