We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA

Jl. Kubu-Abang, Tulamben 80853 Indonesia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (920)
Dining (138)
Room & Suite (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 12 hotels in Tulamben
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With direct access to the beach, Matahari Tulamben Dive Resort & SPA offers an outdoor pool and a restaurant with stunning ocean views. Free Wifi Hotspot. The Dive Center provides convenient access to the Coral Garden and only 5 minutes walk to the USAT Liberty Wreck. Enjoy relaxing massages and beauty treatments in the lovely SPA.The homely Balinese-style rooms are all with private bathroom and equipped with either air conditioning or a fan. The low cost standard rooms have only cold water.The resort offers free parking, motorbike rental and laundry service as well as a tour desk for trip planning (included climbing).Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at beach restaurant, which serves appetising Seafood, Balinese Specialities, Indonesian and International cuisine.Transfer time from Ngurah Rai International Airport to Tulamben is 2,5 hrs and is available for a fee.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Spa
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Taxi service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian

Location

Jl. Kubu-Abang, Tulamben 80853 Indonesia
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
883Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 513
  • 269
  • 69
  • 22
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Hellen wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Excellent hotel and restaurant. Good food, friendly staff, nice and clean. The location was great, right by the sea. Really relaxing to spend som time at the poolside or in the garden after dive. The dive centre was good and most of the dive masters did a great job. One of the guides unfortunately didn’t care so much about the safety. He didn’t make the safety stops and he was really bad in English, it was impossible to communicate to him about a problem with my equipment due to the language barrier. He also went on picking up stones and corals and he poked under a rock for an octopus to come out.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
neoplasticity wrote a review Jul 2019
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked this through hotels.com for July 29, 2019 which I immediately noticed. I rebooked for the correct date, July 1, 2019 and then called hotels.com to cancel the other incorrect date which they said the hotel would have approve. I went to the hotel and stayed on the correct dates and let them know that I had also booked a month later incorrectly and that they should cancel that reservation since i won't be there. They assured me they would however I just called hotels.com today and they state they have emailed and called Matahari several times and they do not want to cancel or refund the incorrect reservation after I stayed with them on the correct date and explained to them a month in advance. They even assured me it would be taken care of in person but i guess after I
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suci K, Inhaber at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Responded 3 Jan 2020
Dear Mr.Lee, we are absolutly upset about your review in Tripadvisor about the cancellation with hotels.com!!! We never received a call from Hotels.com about your bookings for the 2 standard rooms and we cannot cancel the reservations from our side. You have to modify the booking with them and we are agree to cancel without fee. We dont need to take money for rooms which are not sold!!!! And of course we are agree to cancel when you made a mistake with the dates and booked other dates via a new booking with hotels.com. For the hot water we apologize that we are not able to get a technician to repair the hot water in the evening. But this can happen to you even in a 5* hotel. And that my Team charged you for the Lifejackets was also correct. I (the owner) was not available and if the Dive Center make report to the Reception then they have to charge. If you would ask for myself (owner) or the manager then we could fix the problem. Please contact them as soon as possible because we not yet received the payment for July!!! I hope for your understanding that I am unhappy with this issue because it is not in our hand and only you can fix it. But we will contact Expeida/Hotels.com from our side and try to do something. But notice: you have to cancel both bookings for the standard rooms! Best regards Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA Suci -------------------------------- From: Komang Suci <divetulamben@yahoo.com> To: MM Team Indonesia <assistanceid@expedia.com> Sent: Sunday, July 28, 2019, 5:23:34 PM GMT+8 Subject: request to cancel bookings: xxxxxxxxxx No: [ xxxx ] + xxxxxxxxxx No: [ xxxx ]: 29.07.-30.07.2019 guest names (hotels.com) Dear Expedia Team, please can you cancel this two bookings and wave the cancellation fee. This guests booked the wrong dates and came earlier: 01.07.-02.07.2019 guest name, EXPEDIA (hotels.com), booking xxxxxxxxxx No: [ xxxx ] Thanks for your help and please inform the guests about that. Thanks for your help and best regards Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA Suci
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
raffidi wrote a review Jul 2019
Seremban, Malaysia13 contributions3 helpful votes
Made a return for a dive trip with 28 people looking to have a great holiday. Suci and her team did not disappoint at all. She made sure everything or in order from the months before in communication, the transport arrangements, accomodating rooms and food to everyone's need. Everyone at Matahari was just so friendly and warm that the holiday was just awesome. Would return to Matahari any time when the opportunity arises. A highly recommend place to visit for a dive holiday that does not burn your budget with a 5 star experience. Thank you Suci and team for making our holiday a great one.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Responded 15 Jul 2019
Thanks for your great feedback. Makes us happy :-) We loved to have you and your group her. It was a pleasure for us and we would be happy to see you all again. Greetings from Tulamben. Suci and the TEAM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Travelbuddysontour wrote a review Jun 2019
Bern, Switzerland15 contributions16 helpful votes
We really don’t understand why this Hotel has a good assessment. Very old and bad looking rooms (with many damages), unfriendly staff. A few can not even greet you, other just starring at you while eating or sitting on sunlounger. (4-8 staffpeople just sitting in front of divescool) Not motivated employees on Restaurant and Reception. They also charged us for totaly 2h renting snorkling equipment of course 2 full days like 48h! Really?! They just want your money. If the service would be good then ok. But not like this. We never would go stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suci K, Manager at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Responded 28 Jun 2019
It is not easy to make everybody happy. I have no idea who are you but I am behind my TEAM. They are friendly and very helpful and they smile and greet with all friendly people. They are motivated and work hard to make your holidays great and if the Dive Team is sitting in front of the Dive Center it means they are between dives and have a rest. The divers very, very often are sitting with them together, chatting and singing. And my TEAM in the Restaurant and Reception is nice as well if you are nice. I am not agree when you say "They just want your money"!!! If you rent for 2 days snorkel equipment, YES, then we charge you for 2 days. If you snorkel only 2 hours inbetween 48 hours then it is not our fault. And be serious, which kind of service do you expect when you rent snorkel equipment? And for the Restaurant: to be honest what should the waiters do when they are waiting for orders and serve you in the Restaurant. It is not possible for them to be unvisible. Because if you cannot see them, surely you would complain that we dont have staff. We have a sundeck with loungers upstairs where you can be nearly alone and nobody will watch you. Why you didnt go there??? That my Resort is not the newest is clear. We operate already since 23 years. But we always improve and renovate. Therefore we have lot, lot of repeater guests which are very happy to stay with us. And if you something not works like you expect: Very easy to talk with us and we all try hard to make your holidays enjoyable. But we see from your other reviews that it is not easy to satisfy you. Maybe you should start to book 5* hotels only. Thanks a lot to all Matahari Friends and Guests which love to visit us. Warm greetings Suci and the TEAM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carotte82 wrote a review Jun 2019
8 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed there wanting to dive Tulamben just for a night. I stayed longer, as I really enjoyed the view from the restaurant and terrasse. The staff was really friendly, the food was delicious with a very large menu. Diving was beautiful around: I did 3 dives at The USS Liberty, spotted a group of 7 Bump head fishes, turtles, an other diver saw a red electric clamp, plus beautiful corals and lots miniature animals wonderful for macro. The spa was great and prices very affordable. I would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Responded 29 Jun 2019
Thank you for your great feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your holidays with us :-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Papman wrote a review Jun 2019
Melbourne, Australia71 contributions14 helpful votes
This was my third stay here, we keep coming back because we love it! Right on the beach, great spa and restaurant but most of all lovely friendly staff! They all made us feel welcome and ensured we enjoyed our stay. Suci the owner was welcoming as always and takes great pride in her resort. Its great to go from room to restaurant to dive centre, to spa, all within 50 meters of each other. Cant wait until our next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Responded 29 Jun 2019
Its always nice to meet you again and again and again...... :-) See you next time...... Suci and the TEAM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rtw160days wrote a review May 2019
Cronulla, Australia61 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Loved this resort, I didn’t have to think. Just enjoy the view and relax. Two tips, bring your own pillow and if diving ask questions especially other dive sites. Enjoy the great massage and great food.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Responded 1 Jun 2019
Thank you for your great feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Greetings from all of us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erin C wrote a review May 2019
Atlanta, Georgia336 contributions126 helpful votes
Great dive resort! Came here on recommendation from a friend. Staff was incredibly friendly, dive guides were great. We got upgraded to a nicer room which was a nice surprise. Breakfast everyday was good, had dinner a few times at the restaurant which was also nice. Pool area is great for just hanging out between dives. Diving is very inexpensive here, mostly shore dives at 3 sites but you can request other sites for a bit more cost. Definitely worth it! Close to the Liberty Wreck which is an awesome dive site! · Dive equipment was a bit disorganized at first, but we were able to sort out what we needed and able to keep the same gear most of the time we were there. I do wish the dive guides were a little more clear with customers that they should respect aquatic life - saw two
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Responded 1 Jun 2019
Thank you for your important feedback. I will talk with our Dive TEAM about your recommandation. Greetings from Tulamben and thanks for stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bgdiver1963 wrote a review May 2019
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania1085 contributions114 helpful votes
+1
We arrived a day late, package was adjusted to maximize diving. Rooms are dated, diving from shore and our guide was great-Parta Wayan. Restaurant is seaside, with cold draft beer after diving. All in all, a great time. Thanks to all the staff from transfers, to hotel staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Responded 1 Jun 2019
Thank you for stay with us. The complete TEAM is happy about your feedback (same like myself) and we all say "hello" to you. Would be great to welcome you sometimes again. Greetings from all of us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
marcelv1 wrote a review May 2019
Nootdorp, The Netherlands18 contributions8 helpful votes
Went back after 3 years. What a relief, it became even better. The rooms have been upgraded, the divegear is still perfect and the people working there are sweet as ever! Now planning for the next time!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Responded 29 Jun 2019
Marcel, it was a pleasure to see you again and we are happy that you like the improvements :-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tulamben area.
PRICE RANGE
S$26 - S$30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
matahari tulamben hotel tulamben, matahari hotel tulamben, matahari tulamben hotel bali
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliTulamben
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MATAHARI TULAMBEN RESORT, DIVE & SPA: See 630 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 953 Photos (Bali) - Tripadvisor