We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 382: English reviews
El Paso, Texas
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Paid $380.00 for 2 night stay . Over priced. Breakfast was cold . Area where breakfast is served is dirty. Awkward parking to get to room. Noisy. Could hear conversations thru the walls.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
Olivia M, Front Office Manager at Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center, responded to this review

Dear Patricia B, Thank you for writing your review.

Spring Grove, Illinois
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Out of date. Needs repairs and paint. 2 bulbs out in room asked to have replaced never done. We were there for 3 days. Carpet dirty. Sauna boarded up. Outside pool not heated. Breakfast is yogurt and granola bars.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O1578XYlindal
Olivia M, Front Office Manager at Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately having an out door pool in NM makes it seasonal. Usually the first week of October seems to be the last week the pool is enjoyable after that week the wind, rain and snow kind of take over. Thank you for your review.

Lake Villa, Illinois
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B2376KVdebbiep
Olivia M, Front Office Manager at Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center, responded to this review

Westport,ma
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We stayed here to attend the baloon fiesta. The price of our room tripled for the event. The pool was around 55 degrees,the hot tub was not functional. We had no hot water,despite the on duty maintain.person's best efforts. Every facet of this property was in disrepair,the worst being blown light bulbs at stairways. This was once a wonderful motel,but...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank karengU7781YG
Olivia M, Front Office Manager at Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center, responded to this review

Dear karenu7781YG, Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay. We value all of our guests reviews and appreciate you taking the time to write yours.

Jemez Springs, New Mexico
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Rooms are large and up to date ! The beds are comfortable! My two Services Dogs loved the huge outdoor patios. The rates there are better then other chain hotels down the street. And they have a descent breakfast too!!!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Royce W
Olivia M, Front Office Manager at Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center, responded to this review

Dear Royce W, Thank you for the wonderful review about our hotel. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again

Thornton, Colorado
Reviewed 8 October 2016

This was our last stop on a 2 week road trip, so we had experienced quite a few hotels by then. The hotel was very pretty. The Desk Clerk was overly chirpy-- bit too much and pretty fake. The phone in our room didn't work. There were no knobs on the bedside lamps. My husband had a swiss army knife...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleenp806
Olivia M, Front Office Manager at Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center, responded to this review

Dear Kathleenp806, We are very sorry you did nor enjoy your stay with us here at our hotel. We are working on the issues you have mentioned in your review as we value all of our guests reviews and want to create a comfortable stay for all of our guests. Thank you

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We stayed at this hotel for the Balloon Fiesta an couldn't be happier with the location very nearby the South Intel Park & Ride lot. The front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful. However, we were disappointed with housekeeping, a room was only cleaned once during our 3 day stay. Also, the continental breakfast was quite lackluster. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DTown6964
Olivia M, Front Office Manager at Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center, responded to this review

Dear DTown6964, I am sorry to learn your stay was not an enjoyable one. I will speak to housekeeping as to why the room was only cleaned once during your stay. Generally they will not clean it if there was a DND on the door as we do respect the request. Thank you for your review.

Los Alamos
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Looks like this was a nice hotel 50 years ago. Rooms were large and clean. Everything on the outside, however, was pretty dated. Wood railing and stairs are looking pretty old. But mostly the biggest issue was no hot water. Luckily I was only staying one night, so I could live without a shower, but yuck. Front desk said to...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank allanMarcus
Olivia M, Front Office Manager at Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center, responded to this review

Dear allanMarcus, Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We are working hard on making improvements to our property. Thank you again for your review.

Bedford
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
Olivia M, Front Office Manager at Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center, responded to this review

Reviewed 25 September 2016

Just yesterday, I went into the Toro Burger Bar (connected to the Howard Johnson Hotel in Rio Ranch, NM) to meet a friend and have some dinner. I had never been there before but had heard good things about the food. I was greeted warmly by the bartender, James, and was told all about the specials and innovative dishes that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
Olivia M, Front Office Manager at Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca M, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you mentioned how good the food is as well as the customer service you received from James. I have printed you're review and will be sharing it with all of staff.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Rancho
2.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Albuquerque - Rio Rancho
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho
2.2 km away
Days Inn Rio Rancho
Days Inn Rio Rancho
#4 of 5 in Rio Rancho
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Rio Rancho
Comfort Inn Rio Rancho
#2 of 5 in Rio Rancho
140 reviews
9.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#47 of 144 in Albuquerque
253 reviews
14.2 km away
MCM Elegante Hotel
MCM Elegante Hotel
#74 of 144 in Albuquerque
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come stay at a piece of Rio Rancho history. Built in 1967, this hotel recalls the days of the motor lodge with 118 guest rooms in a full service landmark hotel, conveniently located just NW of Albuquerque. Experience our spacious courtyard featuring a sparkling seasonal outdoor swimming pool, gazebo, and towering Ponderosa pines along with wildlife and bushes located in our 2-acre slice of paradise. A complimentary continental breakfast is offered daily in our spacious Toro Bar and Grill, which is also open on weekend nights for dinner and drinks. Very affordable with room types that fit a variety of travelers' needs. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center

Address: 1465 Rio Rancho Dr SE, Rio Rancho, NM 87124-1007 (Formerly Inn at Rio Rancho Howard Johnson Rio Rancho/Albuquerque NorthHotel & Conference Center)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Rio Rancho
Price Range: $73 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Rio Rancho Hotel Rio Rancho
Inn At Rio Rancho Hotel And Conference Center
Hotel Rio Rancho
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here sorry”
 of 5 bubbles DesireeB550, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have microwave and refrigerator for the basic price. Just ask!”
 of 5 bubbles ronir715, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“free wifi, but didn't work very well.”
 of 5 bubbles A-10s30, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at other hotels are much better”
 of 5 bubbles evilmonkey2, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles megank756, 7 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5