We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cheetah Plains

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Cheetah Plains
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cheetah Plains
See the most recent reviews
Showing 184: English reviews
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The people and service at Cheetah Plains was terrific! Would recommend them too all my family and friends. The accomodations were perfect, the food was amazing, and the game drives were the awesome! Our Ranger (Myke) did a great job.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank w1costa
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

It is so great to be assured that our guests had the experience they deserve! The game is so plentiful at the moment so I am so glad you got to witness it. Hopefully you were here when Harry, the hippo, paid us his evening visit and that you got to see those elusive cheetah that have recently graced us...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Cheetah Plains. We stayed at 3 different lodges on our South Africa trip, Cheetah Plains was the best of them all. The attention to detail, the food and the service were amazing. The game drives where very nice, we got to see all big 5 up close, (and I mean really close), we could literally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poncerc
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and your personal encounters with the '5'! I hope you were here to share in the excitement recently when the cheetah decided to wander into the vicinity to add to the game abundance. Given that it's our namesake, we have a special regard for those beautiful 'cats'. If you missed...

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Cheetah Plains. It was amazing. The Lodge and accommodation was great - good food and great staff. We did 2 game drives each day. We saw "the big 5 " within the first hour of our first drive - it was truly amazing to see the animals in their natural habitats. Would highly recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Greetings, Liz! Thank you so much for the positive feedback - it's always great to hear our guests enthuse about their experience! And yes, we are so fortunate with our 'Big 5' sightings, and are now even more delighted with the arrival of the elegantly sleek cheetah. You will have to return so that you can add this stunning feline...

Madison, Alabama
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The lodge is well maintained and compact with easy access to the central meeting area. Game sightings while I was there were outstanding, including Lions+cubs, Rhinos, Leopards, Buffalo, Elephant, Kudu, Impala etc. The range of birds was also impressive, I had good sightings of Martial Eagles, Bateleur Eagles, Purple & Lilac-breasted Rollers, Crested Barbet, Yellow-billed Kite and host of other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nik_Simpson
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Yes, we take great delight in our bird-life - to wake up to the feverishly excited weavers and the curious hornbills on the patio is a daily treat! The mammal sightings are quite magnificent at the moment with Harry, the hippo, paying the lodge a visit last night! Thank you for drawing the comfort of the game viewer to my...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Our first safari and we loved it at cheetah plains. A very warm welcome on arrival, hot chocolate and warm face cloths on arrival. We stayed in hut 8 and it was perfect. Room clean and spacious, outside shower and lovely balcony that is not over looked. High tea served at 3pm everyday before evening drives. Ephraim was our guide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VLH_87
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderfully positive response to your stay with us - it is always hugely pleasing to hear the comments of a satisfied guest. Yes, we are really fortunate in our wild-life-rich location and are only too happy for others to share in the bounty. Thank you for your kind words regarding Ephraim and Goodman - your comments...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Cheetah Plains for three Nights as part of a 4 week African adventure for our honeymoon. This was the perfect place to start GM Gary was really welcoming, he made our honeymoon special and has an enthusiasm that's infectious Our guide Andrew was the highlight of our trip, being our first safari we didn't know what to expect,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris J
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

We at Cheetah Plains really appreciate that you took the time to write a review - it is always useful to receive feedback as we are continually striving to provide our guests with a memorable experience. I am glad you got to benefit from Andrew's wealth of experience, knowledge and skills - he is a true asset. Yes, the refurb...

Essex
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

This was the third of the 4 lodges that we stayed in on our three week trip to South Africa. We have stayed in several other lodges in the immediate vicinity and expected this to be of similar quality, but were a little disappointed. The rooms are very small (although adequately equipped), and very dark. They seemed very old fashioned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tortoisephobic
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give such detailed feedback, of which we have taken careful note. Yes, we are all-too-aware that our 'bush camp' can be viewed as old fashioned - but, of course, many prefer it this way: simple, comfortable and unpretentious. A matter of taste. And expectations, I suppose. Please visit us again in...

Essen, Germany
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We had magnificent sightings, the highlights were a group of about 17 elefants at a watering hole and 3 lions real close. But the accommodation was fitting and great too: The main building has style and a wonderful atmosphere, it offers many great places to feel comfortable and relax. In the evening we had a delicious (!) buffet outside under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weihnachtsgrillen
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the bed-time rituals - please come again!

hexham
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Stayed here with my 14 year old son in August 2016 for 3 nights.On arrival we were warmly greeted by Candice. The hut we were allocated was lovely and had all we needed for a very comfortable stay.The grounds are gorgeous with wildlife free to roam as there are no fences. The food was delicious and we both enjoyed eating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 599annie
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Am so glad you enjoyed the experience and I hope the memories will linger for some time to come! Please come and see us again soon!

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days. The experience was first rate, we had no problems or issues. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable. The food is very good, expertly prepared, and of a high quality. As to the safari trips, I don't see how you could ask for more. In short order we saw every major predator. As they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wtilford
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Delighted you had a positive experience! Thank you for the positive and useful feedback. Hope you come to visit us again!

326 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (308)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (197)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
4.1 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
381 reviews
9.1 km away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
813 reviews
18.8 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
326 reviews
17.5 km away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
305 reviews
21.2 km away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cheetah Plains is a small, authentic bush camp in the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve, with 500 hectares of privately owned land & another 8000 hectares of additional traversing - you can be assured of exceptional game viewing - especially leopard and the rest of the "big 5". Cheetah Plains has only 8 traditionally thatched rooms - set amongst indigenous gardens - creating a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.We focus on freshly produced meals in wonderful surroundings - complementing the friendly and attentive service from all at Cheetah Plains. We look forward to welcoming you to our special bush home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cheetah Plains

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Mpumalanga, South Africa, Kruger National Park 1383, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $154 - $2,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cheetah Plains staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Santa Fe, New Mexico
9 months ago
Scottsdale, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Cheetah Plains staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all great”
karenhB8425JJ, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Not too far from the restaurant because you need to be escorted at dark”
Kirtiseth, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I think all the rooms have equality of view and accessibility as there are only 8 "huts"”
Boardie234, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are pretty much the same”
poncerc, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all are amazing!”
599annie, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5