We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Baluleni Safari Lodge

TripAdvisorUS$197*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$197*
Great Deal
US$200*
US$200*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Baluleni Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of Baluleni Safari Lodge
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Baluleni will way exceed your expectations! We spent 5 days at Baluleni in March 2017. We travelled from London, UK and it was our first Safari experience. We drove from Johannesburg airport to Baluleni and it has taken us around 7 hours. When we arrived, we were met by Evert and Elke (owners of the place). It was great to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anz016
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Great African safari experience overall. Access to Baluleni Safari Lodge is not difficult although it is about 20-30mins of dirt/gravel road. There were occasions where out Toyota Corolla (hire car) scraped on the uneven road surface and rocks. Eek! Upon arrival we were greeted by Elke and a number of staff who were more than helpful in carrying our luggage...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BullManJohn
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for such a thorough review, we appreciate it. Thank you also for staying over at Baluleni. Wishing you good life down under and we are already looking forward to welcome you again at Baluleni in the future. Kind regards Evert, Elke and Staff

Dortmund, Germany
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Very friendly staff. Ele and her team made our stay memorable. Thanks to our guide rangers Justin and Jan for their expertise and explanations. Though we could not view any Lions or Leopards but in all we saw many wild animals. Food was great and homely. Well maintained cottages. Nice pool. It was great but unfortunately 3 days was too...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sugur2017
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sugur 2017, We appreciate your review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always sad to say goodbye to our guests, but we are sure we will see you again and as you mentioned, next time a bit longer. We're looking forward to welcome you back. Kind regards Evert, Elke and Staff

Limburg Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had a great appartment. The food was very good en Evert and Elke are very kind people. We had great safaris with Jan, we learned a lot from him. We had a great stay there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 182henkr
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 182henkr, Thank you for your nice review of Baluleni Safari Lodge and a big thank you also for choosing Baluleni as a place to visit on your journey to SA. We hope to see you again in the future. From Elke and Evert, Jan and all our staff.

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I didn't know what expect but I enjoyed my stayed in the lodge. I booked 5 days and I didn't have to worried for what to do because Elke told me the night before what will be my next adventure. Staff and rangers were friendly and knowledgeable. I stayed in a tent that was really nice because at night you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJLA_35
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you for visiting us here at Baluleni. We enjoyed your company and we still talk about the elephant that was so close to us on safari. Thank you also for such a wonderful review. We are looking forward to welcome you again one day at Baluleni. Enjoy a wonderful 2017. Elke, Evert and staff

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We truly had an amazing experience staying at Baluleni. We had so many great sighting and animal viewing just relaxing at our chateau; Elephants including a large breading heard with babies, monkeys, baboons, and lions even passed through camp on our last night! We really appreciate the camp not being enclosed so that animals could roam freely. Matthew our guide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lexinterior
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lexinterior, We would like to thank you again for choosing Baluleni for your honeymoon and also for your wonderful review about Baluleni and its staff. They really work hard to make the lodge an enjoyable place for every guest and we appreciate what they do. We are glad you experienced good animal sightings, even at your chalet. We wish...

Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

My wife, teenage girls and I stayed at Baluleni for 4 nights and had the most fantastic time, it was beyond our expectations, a very special place. We have never been so sad to leave anywhere! The owners Elke and Evert couldn't have been more hospitable, nothing was too much effort. It is a truly wild, remote place yet still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nick, Elizabeth and daughters, What can we say after receiving a review like yours? A BIG THANK YOU for your kind words! You are a lovely family and we are happy that you could enjoy your stay with us. It is our motto to provide our guests with a little experience of what Africa can still offer in the...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed at Baluleni as part of our honeymoon trip to South Africa - we didn't know exactly what to expect, but it blew us out of the water! Elke and Evert have created a little slice of heaven. It was a 4 days of sheer bliss - a relaxing vacation atmosphere in the middle of nature. The property itself...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, Thank you for your choosing Baluleni for your honeymoon and a BIG thank you for your wonderful review! We and the staff enjoyed your company and already miss you. We are proud of our staff who try very hard to create a place where our guests can relax in nature and experience the creation, animals, birds, and all...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

A wonderful two-night stay and the only regret, not being able to stay longer this trip. A beautiful setting with delightful hosts, Elke and Evert doing all they can to make you feel at home in their home. I thoroughly recommend to anyone considering a personal safari experience, about as far from a corporate experience as you can find. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael B
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your review and we also enjoyed your company. We are so happy that you experienced the mother and baby elephant very close to you! Have a wonderful 2017! Kind regards Elke , Evert and staff.

Bozeman, Montana
Reviewed 12 December 2016

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at Baluleni and our expectations were exceeded! The camp is very relaxing and intimate. Food was delicious, the staff accommodating, clean & comfortable chalets. Our safari guide (and all the staff) were extremely knowledgeable. Wish we were still there and would recommend this safari camp to anyone who wants a more personal, amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s4franci
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Spenser and Susan, Thank you for a wonderful review. We enjoyed your company here at Baluleni. We still wonder how you guessed the shikwambana dessert right! We would like to welcome you back at Baluleni! Elke and (Evert) and staff

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (61)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
11.7 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
253 reviews
34.8 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,625 reviews
24.6 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
627 reviews
17.3 km away
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
#11 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
25 reviews
4.4 km away
Mbizi Bush Lodge
Mbizi Bush Lodge
#2 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Baluleni Safari Lodge. Our tranquil and peaceful owner managed Safari Lodge is situated on the shores of the Olifants River, in the 40 000 ha Balule Nature Reserve inside the greater Kruger National Park; and offer the splendour of the natural African bush with breathtaking sunsets, wildlife which includes the Big 5, bird watching, safaris and bush walks, and guma dinners under the stars. It is often referred to by guests as "Paradise" or "Heaven on Earth". Welcome at Baluleni "where the river always flows", far away from man-made world - Here I am man, here I dare to be. (Johann Wolfgang von Goethe) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baluleni Safari Lodge

Address: Plot 13 Balule/Grietjie inside the greater Kruger National Park | Balule Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: $301 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baluleni Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Baluleni Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Baluleni Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Baluleni Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We got the honeymoon chalet, if you can request it, it has the best views and spots for animal watching!”
lexinterior, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The chalets at the front have the best views of the game trails and the river but all are surrounded by wildlife.”
nickj989, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 has a river view and sitting on the terrace, you'll see a great variety of animals wandering through.”
N6383OHmichaelb, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed at the tented accommodation which is very nice”
Sjaakdb_2015, 9 Oct 2015 | Read review
“For the full experience, choose to stay in the tent!”
Jintymikmax, 27 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$197* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$200
TravelocityUS$200
Booking.comUS$198
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates