We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Monwana Game Lodge

    | Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    No availability for your dates from these sites
    Traveller (195)
    Room & Suite (35)
    Dining (12)
    Overview
    • Excellent98%
    • Very good2%
    • Average0%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Parking
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Laundry Service
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    We're sorry, there are no rooms available on TripAdvisor. Please change your dates, or view all Thornybush Private Game Reserve hotels with availability
    Write a Review
    Reviews (243)
    There are newer reviews for Monwana Game Lodge
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    11 - 15 of 217 reviews

    Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

    A small but very cozy and efficiently run property, that makes their guests feel like a princess. From the warm welcome after each game drive, to the meals which are always painstakingly prepared to the hot water bottles placed inside my blanket on game drives....More

    Thank Zenaida N
    Response from Candice W, Community Manager at Monwana Game LodgeResponded 21 July 2017

    Hi there Zenaida N, how delighted we are that you had a wonderful time here with us! And of course you're welcome to stay longer next time :)

    Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

    Everything was perfect! Family with 3 teenagers and everyone loved their stay. Lodge is extremely private, rooms are huge and beautiful. They treat you like royalty. Safaris twice a day. Ranger and tracker are the best. If coming in winter bring warm hats and fleece...More

    Thank jazzy111
    Response from Candice W, Community Manager at Monwana Game LodgeResponded 21 July 2017

    Hi there jazzy111, thank-you for posting this review. What a special experience for you and especially for your teenagers to have. Educating future generations on our incredible wildlife is such a privilege, so thank-you for bringing them along!

    Reviewed 25 June 2017

    This is a 5 STAR property overlooking a waterhole. From your upscale room you can see all the BIG 5 come drink. The safaris are upclose to all the wildlife. The food was delicious. I wished we could have stayed longer.

    Thank Mary W
    Reviewed 25 June 2017

    This property is only 4 units (max 8 guests). Very personal service. Excellent staff. Great game drives. Ranger and Tracker. Our room was nearly perfect. Good laundry service. IF you are only going to do one property in Africa, this, in its price range, would...More

    Thank ranles76
    Response from ThornybushLimpopo, Manager at Monwana Game LodgeResponded 10 July 2017

    Thanks so much for your lovely feedback ranles76!

    Reviewed 31 May 2017

    My friend and I stayed at the Monwana Lodge for 5 days, 4 nights and absolutely LOVED our experience. There's no doubt in my mind this game lodge has the absolute best staff out of all the private game reserved in the area. The lodge...More

    Thank Joe E
    Kapama Buffalo Camp
    410 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kapama River Lodge
    1,780 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kapama Southern Camp
    626 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
    273 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Balule Nature Reserve
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Airport Transportation
    • Laundry Service
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$687 - US$867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 5
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monwana Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Kruger National Park >
    • Thornybush Private Game Reserve
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (195)
    Room & Suite (35)
    Dining (12)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (156)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Kapama River Lodge
    1,780 reviews
    14.50 km away
     
    Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
    273 reviews
    39.47 km away
     
    Kapama Buffalo Camp
    410 reviews
    12.16 km away
     
    Kapama Southern Camp
    626 reviews
    8.78 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit
    434 reviews
    24.58 km away
    Potluck Boskombuis
    334 reviews
    44.89 km away
    Austrian Coffee Estate
    7 reviews
    46.33 km away
    Cala la Pasta Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria
    295 reviews
    24.66 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Camp Jabulani Elephant Experience
    79 reviews
    9.14 km away
    Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre
    843 reviews
    27.90 km away
    Blyderivierspoort Hiking Trail
    30 reviews
    38.76 km away
    Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre
    765 reviews
    14.39 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    michellemilash
    18 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Candice W | Property representative |
    You can email them through the Thornybush Collection Fan page on Facebook @ThornybushGameLodge.Official
    1
    Vote
    michellemilash
    9 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from PaulPauwen | Reviewed this property |
    The jeep can take up to 9 pax. We were only 4 on our trip
    1
    Vote
    John W
    30 July 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from ThornybushLimpopo | Property representative |
    Hi John, Monwana Game Lodge is in a private reserve and no drives are permitted unless you're staying at one of the Thornybush lodges i.e we do not allow day visitors... We are considered to be in a malaria low risk region..
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "small informal lodge with lovely team"
    Read review
    "Rooms that view the watering hole"
    Read review
    "The suite overlooks the watering hole and provides for an excellent view"
    Read review
    "All rooms have great views"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing