We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Kyalami
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

We spent three days at this lodge and only have good things to remember. The room was nice with a deck over the river where the hornbills visited us.We were lucky that there were only a few people in the lodge, being their quiet season.This is a full board lodge and there are no shops nearby, the lodge is quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne and Mari K
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 July 2015

The lodge was a great experience from the first warm greeting we received from Patrick and the ladies - delicious homemade lemonade and a warm towel greeted us followed by a delicious lunch on the deck overlooking the river. A five-star game viewing experience was delivered by the talented and affable Benson who's relaxed style made it an incredible experience....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Harriet and Mik... L
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Tickhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Have just returned from a 6 night stay and cannot understand all the negative reviews of this lodge. This was the 5th time we have been on safari and the best value for money we have ever had. All I can say on the comments regarding the food portions is that some people must have far bigger appetites than mine....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mandsTickhill
Naledi1, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you.

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 28 April 2015

The lodge is currently busy with renovations, however majority of it has been done. This did not affect our one night stay.Some tips are to arrive early even before check in at 2, in order to have the best of your stay as the afternoon drive leaves between 3 and 4 in the afternoon.The drive to Madikwe from Johannesburg might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noeleen H
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2015 via mobile

Located right on a river, the wildlife you can spot from your room. The guides that took us out on the game drives were so knowledgeable and the staff at the lodge couldn't help enough. The lodge has an African feel that fits well with the surroundings. It is a malaria free area too which was a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelWriterKate
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

We are regular visitors to Madikwe and as such we have stayed at a number of lodges within the reserve. Madikwe river lodge remains as one of our favourite places to stay. I truly believe that these reviews should reflect value for money as opposed to a comparison of what other lodges have to offer. Whilst I agree that there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hayley F
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015

I stayed overnight here in mid February. I did two game drives which were superb. Ernst the ranger managed a fantastic leopard sighting and great lion. The lodge is being renovated currently so 5 rooms are occupied max. A great , reasonable price option for this part of the reserve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben U
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback,we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Stuttgart
Reviewed 8 February 2015

My husband and I have been to South Africa a lot of times during the last 20 years. We always had wonderful accommodations in different lodges and therefore good experiences to see the differences. We were booked in at the Madikwe River Lodge for three nights in October 2014 and due to the website and the high-price segment of this...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SJH33
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may caused you.

Reviewed 20 January 2015 via mobile

Having seen the number of poor reviews of this lodge, I feel the need to provide a review based on a number of stays I have had here. There are few places in Africa that I have returned to a number of times, yet this is one of them. Whilst agreeing that the lodge is rustic and could do with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hayley F
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Reviewed 11 January 2015

Having secured a "confirmed booking" over two weeks prior to our New Year stay, we were informed the day before the visit was due to start that this contract could not be honoured on the second of two nights. Being New Year, we now had few options to go elsewhere with our adult son who was visiting from the UK....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Michael W
Nick V, Internal Marketing Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (147)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
5.6 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
557 reviews
13.6 km away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#15 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
302 reviews
22.1 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
339 reviews
26.2 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
274 reviews
8.9 km away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Madikwe River Lodge is positioned in the heart of Madikwe Game Reserve and offers attractive comfort in sixteen split level suites with an outdoor dining boma located on a central Island,accessed by a wooden bridge,this luxurious Lodge invites guests to enjoy the sights & sounds in mother Africa's land of brilliance. Surrounded by 75 000 hectares of malaria-free African sand veld.Each suites is individually decorated to create a rich African feel,and offers en-suites bathroom with a full range of guests amenities as well as a private wooden viewing deck overlooking the river. Madikwe Game Reserve, is world of breathtaking scenery and endless African bush. At Madikwe River Lodge the guided game drivers and trails are thrilling to be a part of with Africa offering you and incomparable experience in the wild. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge

Address: | P.O. Box 17, Madikwe Game Reserve 2876, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $661 - $1,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe River Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Denver, Colorado

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All have excellent views.”
289willl, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick a different game reserve”
dwh24, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for your room not to be too far from the dining area if you don't like walking in scorching heat !”
201sylvainb, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Amazing staff, great deserts, free wifi, peaceful location, abundance of wildlife, great game viewings, off road driving, great rangers”
  • Bathroom with a view over the river (Photo by Drive South Africa, #TrekSouthAfrica)
  • Bedroom with a view over the river (Photo by Drive South Africa, #TrekSouthAfrica)
  • View of the river (Photo by Drive South Africa, #TrekSouthAfrica)
DevonKrantz, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“excellent views to the river”
mhz1303, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5