We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
See the most recent reviews
Showing 189: English reviews
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I enjoy a trip to Taos, NM a couple of times a year. We usually stay at the Don Fernando for it's proximity to the plaza and resort like feel. It had been 18 months since our last stay, and the place has deteriorated badly. There is no hot tub and no bar. The wallpaper in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonya M
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Sonya M. I want to personally thank you for your recent stay, and apologize for any inconvenience. We have been working very hard on the outside of our buildings, and our guest rooms. As you stated we no longer have our hot tub or lounge, but we do have a great indoor swimming pool, and our high speed internet is...

Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I had made reservations online, based on how nice it looked and some of the previous reviews. I had booked a King with micro and a refrigerator and smoking. Rate for 5 days. Once we got there the was not able to make our request at first, but they final after raising the we had a room. My husband and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Ms. Petrous, I want to personally thank you for your recent stay, and apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We have been working very hard on the outside of our buildings, and our guest rooms. Although our property shows its age, we were surprised to hear that our staff did not meet your expectations, as we seem...

Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We've stayed here as a band three times now, and these guys always are always courteous and ever-ready to let us check-in at all hours (which is necessary when you play late). We've always found the rooms impeccably clean and everything in order...the only complaint we had is that the continental breakfast has gone downhill since last we stayed (especially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muni K
Clarendon, Texas, United States
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My sister and I stayed here one night while on a trip through northern New Mexico. They advertised that the bar was open, but it wasn't. The rooms were okay, nothing great. Breakfast was the average continental meal. Probably would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raenell S
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Raenell S., Thank you for your recent stay, and your review on TripAdvisor. I apologize for any advertising that stated that the lounge was open, as our lounge has been closed for over a year now. If there is advertising that our lounge is open, we have been checking all outlets, and will correct each one. The planned renovation of...

Tombstone, Az
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This place is awesome. Rooms are clean and secluded. Pool is lovely, (however, there was no spa), grounds are well tended, conveniently located, staff extremely friendly. However, whatever they are cooking those eggs in has got to go!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizzieann53
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

lizzieann53, Thank you for your kind review, we have been working with our supplier regarding the eggs product that we are offering each morning, and they will be working on getting us several options. We appreciate your business and hope you will be back to see us.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hole in the bathroom door, Hair Dryer did not work, Bed mattress are in bad shape. Front desk staff was help full as much as possible. Everything is very old and outdated. I believe they could have offered an additional discount.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ebennett921
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear ebennett921, First of all please allow me to sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay with us. We clearly have some issues with items in that particular room. Your valuable input has been noted. Our sincere desire is to take care of each of our guests and provide a wonderful stay. We always appreciate honest feedback...

Amherst, New Hampshire
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos last week. Originally, we had booked the Sagebrush Inn. But upon checking in to the Sagebrush, we were HORRIFIED. The room was tiny and reeked, the carpet and furniture were stained, the bathroom was a nightmare, and to top it off, the walls were paper thin. Being on the first floor, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MWD123
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This property was initially built many years ago as a Holiday Inn. The layout of the hotel is so unique and very interesting as Taos has special building codes to follow. It is now an independent hotel and they are doing a fair job of keeping this sprawling property up to speed. It had gone through a period of disrepair...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RonWhiteArtist
Thornton, Colorado
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My family and stayed at Don Fernando In Taos during spring break March 26, 2013. We choose this Inn because of cost, it has an indoor swimming pool for grandchildren, and from reviews it looked okay. First and foremost I was awaken at 1:30AM with bed bugs in my bed. My daughter was in another room we checked her beds...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Maria C
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

April 5,, 2013 Thank you for taking time to write TripAdvisor of your recent visit to the Hotel Don Fernando de Taos. Needless to say, we were dismayed to learn of the problems you encountered during your stay. We appreciate your bringing these issues to our attention, as it is the only way that we can correct and improve. We...

Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Made our reservations on the phone for March 9th - 14th, clerk said Taos Ski Valley was only 10-12 miles from the hotel, (actually 22 miles one way). While making our reservations we told them we require a mini fridge for medication. On March the 8th I get an email from the hotel Don Fernando Taos stating that from March...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim F
Marzex, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Tim F, First of all please allow me to sincerely apologize for the many problems you encountered during your stay with us. We clearly “dropped the ball” and your valuable input has been noted as to how we should have handled things differently. Our sincere desire is to take care of each of our guests and provide a wonderful...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 km away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 17 in Taos
336 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Taos
343 reviews
2.1 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 17 in Taos
531 reviews
2.4 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 17 in Taos
1,047 reviews
3.4 km away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bargain affordable Taos hotels, 1.5 mi south of plaza on Rt 68, the main street, free breakfast, indoor pool, long term stay, 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, plus Stray Catt II Restaurant casual dining - traditional Northern New Mexican plus American favorites.Don Fernando Taos Hotel - sitting on the Camino Real - Route #68, 1.5 miles from the heart of town - the plaza,Now under new management:- with indoor swimming pool- free hotel breakfast- extended stay accommodation- pets welcome - lots of green space for walking- hotel layout is that of small versions of the Taos Pueblo "look" - set in grass courtyards and under trees.- 112 rooms, many with sleeper sofas or two twins, arranged in six courtyard like pavillions- Plus 12 suites with fireplaces - one and two bedrooms plus sleeper sofa - superior for a family get-away- 2 large boardrooms- restaurant space for catering functions- all rooms are in "pods" of 22 rooms - built to look like the Taos Pueblo- built around a small pueblo-like courtyard- Two floors onlyHeated Pool All Year Round at our Taos Hotel. We are the only Taos Hotel with an indoor pool all year round. It is a standard oblong pool but we do have blow-up toys, wading pool, water games and a family resort feel. Our pool is open year-round, heated, and under glass. As the one indoor pool at a Taos hotel, we see many of our guests with families taking a break here in Taos, taking advantage of our affordable one and two bedroom suites with fireplaces and, then, after a day of exploring mountains and gorges, spending the evening at the pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Address: 1005 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5969
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Price Range: $121 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Fernando De Taos
Don Fernando De Hotel Taos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay at your own risk of intestation”
 of 5 bubbles nancylou82, 26 Dec 2015 | Read review
“There are room in the back section that will eliminate the sounds of the main highway that goes through town.”
 of 5 bubbles debclementi, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Choose one in the main lodge if available.”
 of 5 bubbles grand672015, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The Martinez Room was great”
 of 5 bubbles TexasSAgirl2013, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I do not recommend spending a night here, nor your money, select another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 565PatriciaC, 3 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay