We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Traveller (495)
Room & Suite (97)
Pool & Beach (25)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Small, Owner run property situated on the western edge of the Chobe National Park. Our remote location means our game drives do not reach the masses that inhibit other Chobe Lodges. Also enjoy boat trips on the Chobe and walks within the Chobe Forest Reserve. Muchenje offers Rustic luxury accommodation with outstanding views across the flood plains and into the Caprivi Strip.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Internet
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
River View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Kasane Airport49 km
Mpacha Airport68 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Muchenje Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
353
74
18
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
353
74
18
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip chobe river game drives flood plain other guests local school early morning the managers superb views family style guide bee big table served buffet style night game kasane airport afternoon drive ridge overlooking
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We came here after a short but luxurious stay at a lodge in Livingstone. Luxury is not what we are after in safari lodges, but recognize that you can get used to something and only realize you miss it, once it is withdrawn! Luckily, we...More

3  Thank Practised_traveller
Response from ToffKiddy, Resident Lodge Directors at Muchenje Safari LodgeResponded 10 August 2018

Hallo Practised Traveller. With your kind words, you have just shown us again, how important it is to having a comfortable, home-away-from-home establishment for our guests. It is always a great privilege for us to have so many people enjoying the lodge, the sightings and...More

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a tour of Africa. This was our first stop. Amazing place. Great location, great lodge, amazing staff. Ten minutes after we arrived we were on safari, and they kept us going. Wonderful sightings. Sy, our guide, was...More

Thank ekm321
Response from ToffKiddy, Resident Lodge Directors at Muchenje Safari LodgeResponded 5 August 2018

Hi ekm321. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and that Sy(nack) and the Chobe National Park delivered their special magic. It is always great, even for us that live here, to see some of the photo's of the day's sightings. All...More

Reviewed 2 August 2018

Excellent guide and we were provided with viewing a wide variety of wildlife. Food was tasty and staff was very professional with attention to detail. Rooms have electricity and are very nice. Visited local school which was quite informative.

Thank Wayne and Mary D
Response from ToffKiddy, Resident Lodge Director at Muchenje Safari LodgeResponded 4 August 2018

Hi SeeUSA. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Have fun sorting through all the photos.

Reviewed 29 July 2018

We were met by Lips who was our guide when we stayed at Muchenje Lodge in 2010 at the Kasane airport. We chose to return to Muchenje for three nights so our kids and grandkids could experience the Chobe River with its large population of...More

Thank Jeep61
Response from ToffKiddy, Resident Lodge Director at Muchenje Safari LodgeResponded 4 August 2018

Hi Jeep61. Thank you for coming back to our lodge, this time with the whole family. We were impressed with the way you and your family brought all that energy with you. And kept coming back after every activity, telling us about all the sightings....More

Reviewed 28 July 2018

This lodge is at the Western side of the Chobe park in an elevated position with fabulous views and there are not so many jeeps on the drives. The rooms are very comfortable and all have good views. We were advised not to drink the...More

Thank Jackeyp
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
20thCenturyCox
24 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from muchenje1 | Property representative |
Hi - yes all chalets have tea & coffee facilities and a mini bar which is stocked on request. Thanks Alex
0
Votes
Bucket-Listers2
4 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from ToffKiddy | Property representative |
Unfortunately we cannot and do not. We only cater for our own resident guests for meals and bar and are not open to the public.
0
Votes
Byron O
13 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DouglasM32 | Reviewed this property |
Yes the climate control is very good.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"They all had great views and air conditioning."
carollyneb
3 days ago
Read review
"All the rooms/cabins have great views!"
MapleCruisers
3 weeks ago
Read review
"Chalet # 2 had a terrific view to the west, a little close to chalet # 3 however."
wassaw553
19 Sep 2018
Read review
"Wonderful views of zebra and giraffes on the Chobe floodplain"
davidhF6796XK
30 Aug 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$813 - US$1,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
muchenje safari hotel chobe national park
LOCATION
BotswanaNorth-West DistrictChobe National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing