We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belmond Eagle Island Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belmond Eagle Island Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We had three rooms for my family of 5 and were all very pleased. We stayed at all three Belmond properties in Botswana and we all agreed that Eagle Island was the best. The pools are a great idea, we were disappointed that it was too cold for us to use.. The food was great - there is no way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jennifer s
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jennifer s, Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We hope you and your family left with lasting memories of the lodge and most importantly your safari vacation in Botswana. We will most certainly look at heating for the pools over the winter months, thank you for the suggestion. You are welcome to keep...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon, we could not have chosen a better place to stay, it is a magical lodge in the heart of the Okavango Delta. We were greeted by our lovely guide Bashin and arrived at the lodge in 2 mins from the air strip, welcomed by the staff singing. The room was like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florence R
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Florence R, Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us, and we are delighted that we were able to make lasting memories of your honeymoon in Botswana. When the Delta is in full flood it really does bring the area to life, a magical time in Botswana. We wish you an your husband a long...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

In the heart of the Okavango Delta lies the Eagle Island Lodge. This superb game lodge offers access to game and other wildlife viewing from water craft on the Delta. The accommodation is sublime, and takes you too an almost spa like feel, with a personal plunge pool, HVAC, and USB ports for charging modern devices. Really there was too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drake132
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear drake123, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are really delighted that our honeymoon was so fabulous and that we made this even more memorable for you with the special touches we offer. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for an upcoming wedding anniversary no doubt! You are welcome to keep up to date with...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

We are giving this property 5 stars exclusively because of the game drives. We stayed at all 3 Belmond properties in Botswana and this one was by a mile the very best but only because of the game drives - not because of the lodge. First of all we had a private vehicle and a guide to ourselves without paying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaiwana
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jaiwana, Thank you for reviews of our three lodges, and we would like to extend our apologies for the disappointing experience you had. We are delighted that you enjoyed the game drives, and hope you managed to do some water activities too. With the flood waters coming down from Angola, the Delta is flooding and the area just comes...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We stayed three nights at each Belmond lodge with Eagle Island our second stop. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable offering magnificent views over the river which came right to the property. Elephants do really wander through camp which was exciting. The food and service was very good. Activities included land drives, walking safaris, motor boat cruises, mokoro canoe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toddbsell
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear toddbsell, Thank you so much for your lovely review of the lodge and your compliments to the staff, we will make sure to let them know. Our 'resident' elephants are truly special and so lovely that you were able to enjoy the water activities as the flood waters have come down to the lodge which we're sure you were...

plettenberg bay
Reviewed 7 June 2016

spent two nights after a ten month revamp.Improvements everywhere except overall lighting level which is definitely too low. Four subsequent nights at Khwai River Lodge helped to proves this.Menu was good but not better.Beds were unbelievably comfortable. water level still low but outings were ok.may have to think again about a rhird visit

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank derek r
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear derek r, Thank you for taking the time to review our two lodges, and we are sorry to hear that you find the lighting level too low. The lights at the lodges are energy saving lamps as we run the lodges of generators, and this could explain the lower than expected lighting levels, and we're glad that you found...

Gerringong, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This lodge is truly first class - courteous, friendly staff; amazing, luxurious cabins and delicious food. We enjoyed the safaris along the waterways and our guide was very informative about the wildlife, the many birds and fauna. The helicopter flight on our last morning topped off a great stay. Keepsakes purchased from their shop onsite will always remind me of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni M
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JenniM, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. You visited the lodge at a very special time with the water levels rising and the water activities were able to run at full capacity again. You are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Eagle Island Lodge was our second stop on our trip through the Okavango Delta. The lodge recently had a full refurb and was completely rebuilt in 2015. I was blown away by this lodge. The décor is superb and compliments the area so well. Not to mention the service and food offering which was just as amazing. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renier F
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Renier F, Thank you for your fabulous review of our 'new and fresh' lodge! The lodge is our new flagship lodge in Botswana, and reviews like yours makes us extremely proud, thank you so much. Last week the lodge managers advised us that the flood waters arrived at the lodge and that the game drives are now restricted but...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We were totally blown away by the elegance and luxury of this camp, in the middle of the Okavango Delta. Accessible by private airstrip, it is secluded and oh-so special. Our room was magnificent: comfy king bed, huge soaking tub, outdoor shower (as well as indoor), sitting areas, private deck, wifi. The camp staff think of everything, starting with coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Elaine S, Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We are overjoyed that you loved the newly rebuilt lodge, the staff and the experiences on offer so much. We cannot agree with you more, the Okavango Delta is one of the most awesome places in the world, and we are very fortunate to be able to offer...

Hollywood, Florida
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Beautiful camp, perfect setting, outstanding service and wonderful staff. As an avid travelers I have to say that Eagle Island exceeded all our expectations. The welcoming and caring staff makes you feel like old friends. How can we forget Moses the gentleman who took the best possible care of ourselves during the stay. Or the activities and safaris offered twice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinrumboconocido
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sinrumboconocido, Thank you for your fabulous review. Reviews like yours is what we work and hope for, we strive to offer our clients an escape, a memory of a lifetime and we are delighted that we exceeded all your expectations! Moses is such a gentleman, he grew up in Botswana and as he says 'guiding is in my blood'...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
91.2 km away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
44 reviews
31.7 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
202 reviews
21.7 km away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#26 of 70 in Okavango Delta
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 70 in Okavango Delta
112 reviews
87.6 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#13 of 70 in Okavango Delta
69 reviews
123.2 km away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#12 of 70 in Okavango Delta
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, Africa’s ultimate water-focused safari in Botswana’s Okavango Delta, is the ultimate luxury safari paradise. Nestled in Botswana’s lush Okavango Delta, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the world’s largest inland water systems, the lodge overlooks a lagoon that attracts a breathtaking variety of big game and exotic birds. Explore the region by local canoe, roam on foot or take to the air in an exhilarating helicopter flight overlooking the magnificent Botswana landscape. A wonderful secluded retreat, Belmond Eagle Island Lodge offers a safari vacation that brings together the excitement of discovery and an experience of the real Africa: this is the spirit of Belmond through and through. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond Eagle Island Lodge

Address: | Xaxaba Island, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Price Range: $1,295 - $1,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Eagle Island Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Eagle Island Camp By Orient-Express Hotel Okavango Delta
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge Botswana/Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belmond Eagle Island Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond Eagle Island Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“wifi very ordinary but you are in the middle of nowhere!! wifi only in the office at the main lodge, not in your room.”
PerthKerry, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Chalets 1 and 2 are furthest away from the main area and are therefore more secluded”
  • chalet no. 2 sleeping area
  • a nice touch
travellerin2013, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are amazing!”
  • croc warming up - view from the jet boat
  • View from bar - the most beautiful sunsets!
jenntabb, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Amazing lodge!”
LianneI140, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms great. Quieter/more private to the left of the main entrance”
CharlL98, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5