We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Starlite Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Starlite Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Starlite Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Brewster Ma.
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Where to begin?…. Chapter one: Arrived tired after 300 miles of great touring on our motorcycles. The place was closed with a handwritten sign on office door saying "Welcome….key in door" Parked our bikes next to two rusty dented children's bicycles…and emptied all our bags and began to settle in for four nights (which had been booked in Februrary…7 months...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jazzrunner
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review

Again, I am truly sorry for the mix up and accept full responsibility for not having your reservation from the third party booking engine. I understand your horror. It was my biggest nightmare come true. I had wished that my apology in person and my offer to comp your stay for the long weekend, would have given us the opportunity...

Boulder, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

By chance we found this place on our way to Belleayre Lake for a stop off on a road trip. It had everything we needed, especially the full kitchen. The backyard was great for my toddler and in the evening she enjoyed the fire pit and lightning bugs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chandra556
Michelle O, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review

So glad to hear we were able to supply you with everything you needed during your stay -- especially the full kitchen. Great to hear you were able to enjoy the patio with your young one and see some lightning bugs! Hope to see you on your next road trip! Best, Michelle O., Owner

Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 July 2014

You really have to wonder where previous reviewers have stayed before when they use the words charming and delightful to describe this motel. This place is beat. Clean, but beat. We, too, had an awful smell in the room which I believed to be carpet cleaner/deodorizer trying to mask the smell of urine. Think about it, this motels allows dogs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The smell in the room from some kind of cleaning or deodorizing chemical caused me to have bad sinus issues.. Very iiritating! The breakfast basket is a joke ... real bad cereal, hard bagel and some strange muffin. We didn't touch anything in the basket. The backyard is disgusting, lights don't work , everything is rundown.. flat pillows on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonaAria
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review us. So Sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We take pride in what we do here and responding to guests needs are a priority. I do wish you had brought any or all of your concerns to our attention. Maybe we could have made your stay more comfortable, had we known there...

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay,and as delightful as the first. The rooms are homey, with a basket of goodies awaiting road weary travelers upon their arrival. The kitchenette has everything you could need, including wine glasses and a bottle opener (and a fresh quart of milk on the fridge!). Wifi is good (don't expect phone reception as you're in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I, along with two other couples, stayed 3 nights in the renovated house associated with the Starlite Motel in Big Indian, NY in the Catskills. It was clean, spacious, and had very comfortable beds. Most all the needed conveniences were included. The flat screen TV set-up was a little difficult to understand and the water pressure for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bruce B
flusing
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The room was a little smaller than I thought, but clean. People were very friendly. It was quiet, but near fun things to do. The person who runs the hotel was very helpful and worked with us to find things to do. There is phone service, butit was a little spotty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S R
NYC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Starlite multiple times over the past three years. it simple charming efficiency style motel off Route 28 in Big Indian. The owner Michelle is a lovely person who really cares about the comfort and convenience of her guests. there are plenty of litlte touches to make your stay personal (giant marshallows to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QuietAmericans
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My boyfriend and I recently took a trip to the Catskills, and we also wanted to bring our two doggies. It's really hard to find a good pet friendly affordable place, but the Starlite Motel was perfect!! The location in Big Indian is great, and our efficiency room was really cute. We liked the option of being able to cook...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah L
Michelle O, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review

Leah, glad you, your boyfriend, and your pups had a great time with us up in the Catskills. It makes me happy you were able to do some home cooking and enjoy the outdoor space! Whenever you want to come up again, we'll be eager to have you! Best, Michelle

Uk
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Room fine, kitchen clean but in need of updating, one ring of the (30 year old?) stove was not working. Overall it was reasonable value for a mid week stay in the off season. Owner very helpful during a difficult family time and lent us a set of with trail maps for the whole area.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Widewalker

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
5.5 km away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
80 reviews
29.8 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
1.6 km away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
276 reviews
37.5 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
146 reviews
30.6 km away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Address: 8722 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410-5133
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Price Range: $152 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Starlite Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
NYC

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Starlite Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are the same view”
 of 5 bubbles saddle11, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are great .”
 of 5 bubbles Guitar1959, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They are all great”
 of 5 bubbles susanpB5265HT, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are ground level and have equal amenities”
 of 5 bubbles donnaf278, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great quick breakfast options in the AM, From health bars to milk in the fridge.”
 of 5 bubbles 504josepht, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5