We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Royale Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Grand Royale Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Grand Royale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

we had a great stay. It was neat to stay in an old courthouse. Our room was very clean and the ceilings were very tall. There was a street festival going on when we got there which made it a little confusing to know where to check in. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typical...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ksugrad9899
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This was the MOST disgusting hotel I have ever stayed at in my entire life. What was expected to be a historic, somewhat luxurious boutique hotel - turned out into being the complete opposite. As a traveler that stays in the likes of many 4/5 diamond properties, I was hoping to find something similar (or at least interesting in a...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank dba80
grandroyalehotel80, General Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this review

We believe that this was a fraudulent posting. We did not recieve a complant about a cockroach from any guest during this period of time. Our hotel has an extermination contract with a national company and we have never had evidence of having infestation. In addition the photo looks like a prop, and there is no visible evidence that this...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 29 July 2011

our room was fine; a bit cramped, but solid bed and frame, clean bathroom, cold A/C and not too musty-smelling even in high heat of mid-July. late night arrival went fine. wish i'd have checked out the "front" of the place sooner than i did and explored the breakfast before we went to the "java" place in back w/o trying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oliz
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Long story short: when in Binghampton, don't book at the Grand Royale. Book at the Holiday Inn, because that's where you will end up staying if you book at the Grand Royale. And the staff is much nicer there. It's very smart that you are checking Trip Advisor first, because I certainly wish I did! We booked to stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Realitybites96
grandroyalehotel80, General Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this review

As the General Manager who was present during this time. I would like to address the guest comments. It is true that we did not have a record of a reservation that a guest did have, this was due to an internet problem that we had no control over. Unfortunately this occured in the middle of a convention. In very...

Huntersville, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We were in Binghamton NY for the American Legion Annual Convention. The attendees were over 2000 people spread out in all the hotels in the area. First of all, this hotel is no longer a Clarion Hotel. The management was woefully inexperienced. They were unaware of the previously agreed upon rate for the Legioniers & were over charging us for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gram247
grandroyalehotel80, General Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel check in policy is three pm. We do our best to accommodate guest requests for early check in when possible. In this case, Most of the convention attendee's arrived very early and were insisting on checking in. Our staff did a very good job trying to meet the guest needs under difficult circumstances. With regards to the room...

Virginia
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Our family was on a month long road trip and needed a place to stop overnight between NYC and Niagra Falls. Binghamton fell right in the middle and we selected this hotel instead of one of the chain hotels because it seemed interesting and unusual. It also had a 4 diamond AAA rating. We were driving late and because we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mom2dems
grandroyalehotel80, General Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconvenience that this guest may have experienced. Our staff did inform us that there was evidence of smoking in the room at checkout. It is the hotel policy to charge a fee for evidence of smoking in the guest room and, the guest does sign a waiver at check in. We are currently in the process...

abingdon, md
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I used the grande royale as the hotel for the guests of my recent wedding to stay at. That was an absolute mistake! Not one of the over 50 people we had staying there had a good experience. There are too many horrible things to list so I will name a few: rooms were not clean, staff was stealing guests'...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank beans47
grandroyalehotel80, General Manager at Grand Royale Hotel, responded to this review

The group rate that was contracted for this function was $95.00. In no instance was any guest charged more than this, in fact, many had there rates changed to $89.00. There is no evidence that our staff was stealing anything from guest rooms, This was not reported to management at any time. To make such unfounded accusations about hard working...

NYC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This hotel had high ceilings, clean rooms and an exqusite breakfast room in the former entranceway. This hotel was very reasonable and had a grand interior. Some of the touches (carpets, elevator) were a tad outdated but clean/fine; the main features /bones (lights/chandeliers, giant windows, ceilings, staircases, drapes, bedding, sculptures/marble) were amazing. The Bed was very comfortable and bathroom clean....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Avalon19
wanderfulwrld
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Totally enjoyed this stay - new furnishings, new linens, and terrific service. If opportunity knocks, we'll certainly go again!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wanderfulwrld
oswego,ny
Reviewed 31 March 2011

well we came into town for a concert - so the location was great! a quick walk to the Arena- that was the best thing! the free breakfast was also very nice! bread, bagels, cream cheese, pb, and jams. they had milk and 3 kinds of cereal - great muffins and two kinds of juice. there was fresh fruit and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank vegascalling

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binghamton
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
3.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
135 reviews
3.7 km away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
187 reviews
5.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Binghamton - Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Grand Royale Hotel

Address: 79 Collier St, Binghamton, NY 13901
Region: United States > New York > Binghamton
Price Range: $75 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Royale Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Binghamton
Clarion Grand Royale Hotel
Clarion Binghamton
Binghamton Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grand Royale Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay anywhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles dakimbay, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid any room above the hookah bar.”
 of 5 bubbles canadien10, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The second floor is accessible to the middle stair case, directly down to the lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles winniegao86, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask if there are any music events planned for the lane beside the hotel. If so, ask for a room on the other side.”
 of 5 bubbles GrampaBrian, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Free wifi that doesn't work.”
 of 5 bubbles treesha21, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay