We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Brewster Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Brewster Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Brewster Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
New Hartford, NY
Reviewed 4 July 2016

I'm writing about the restaurant. Parking lot loaded. Huge number of outdoor diners. We ate inside. Kind of stuffy atmosphere here. Very extensive and eclectic menu. Prices moderate...$122 for four people with a drink for each. We shared one dessert. Waitstaff seemed tired of saying the same thing over and over again. But the food was worth all this...Excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NYBob6
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. So sorry that you felt the atmosphere was stuffy, we do have 4 different indoor dining rooms to choose from and 3 outdoor areas for seating -- so another seating area might do the trick for you. So glad you enjoyed your dinner -- look forward to seeing you again sometime...

Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Took off early for a dinner and had a drink at the bar before our 5 pm seating outside. Our drinks at the bar were awesome. We were seated promptly at 5 and Kelly our server was great. I ordered a smoked salmon appetizer and the wife French onion soup And sea bass. Half portion. Everything was was spot on....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATMGUY63
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Spot on - thanks so much! So glad you had a chance to come early and enjoy a drink ahead of time. You'll have to try the outdoor bar sometime -- it's so fun! Cool cocktails too! Thanks for mentioning that you had a great night with Kelly. She has been with us for 30 years -- we are so...

Irondequoit, New York
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We were in carriage house #24. Large well appointed room. The road was close by but the well built structure didn't allow any noise to disturb us. Staff was efficient and helpful without being intrusive. The grounds are on the lake with a beautiful view of the entire lake. The provided breakfast was self service waffles, bagels, juice, yogurt etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phototrip2011
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words! Would love to have you stay with us again!

Sauquoit, New York
Reviewed 5 June 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. My husband had a beef dish and I ad the Brewster inn shrimp scampi. Our dessert was fabulous. Our only disappointment was the cost of the soda. We were charged for each soda. I had a glass of wine which was very good. $3.50 per soda seems a bit excessive given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joakakaren
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind words!

Pittsford, New York
Reviewed 31 May 2016

While the property was historical and the views were scenic, I thought the $200 room would offer a modicum of luxury, or at least some quiet. We sat on the balcony at night and were annoyed with the sounds of a bug zapper nearby. At 6 am the kitchen below our room came to life and we heard every thud,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globe_dancer16
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

So sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay. I wonder if another room might have been a better option for you. If you would like to discuss, please don't hesitate to email caitlin at info@thebrewsterinn.com.

West Orange, New Jersey
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We sat outside on patio with beautiful view of lake. We were group of 10 and everything ran smoothly. We started with Bloody Mary's, Mimosa's and coffee. We ordered the made to order Eggs Benedict they were excellent brought to the table direct from kitchen. They were cooked perfectly and hollendaise sauce was very creamy and tasty. At the buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Besos43
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback. We take great pride in our Sunday brunches, as well as our wonderful outdoor seating area. There is no better way to end the weekend and kick off a busy work week than to enjoy a beautiful brunch right on the lake. We hope to see you back at our...

Hamlin, New York
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This is the perfect place for a weekend get away. The staff was very friendly and helpful offering suggestions on things to do in the town, which is lovely. The location is great right on Cazenovia Lake and you can walk to the main part of town where there are several restaurants. There is also a beautiful winery right up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathiem120
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback in regards to your stay in our hotel! We love that not only do we have rooms in our main house, but also our carriage house rooms. Although the carriage house isn't right on the water, we love that our main house has open lawn access with rocking chairs, fire...

Marcy
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

We arrived around 4pm and were greeted immediately by a pleasant young woman at the front desk. She gave us the lay of the land and we headed off to our room. We stayed in Room 2, which was amazing and took our breath away the minute the door opened. Large king bed, huge shower in the bathroom. Beautiful antique...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oaky9
Rhinebeck, New York
Reviewed 3 March 2016

People were extremely nice and helpful. We stayed in a comfortable room with a view of the lake. We walked into town which is a cozy village with a variety of shops and restaurants. We ate dinner at the Brewster Inn - the food was excellent. The bar is a also a memorable place. We were fortunate to take advantage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 41Teddy41
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words! It is a bit quieter this time of year, but Cazenovia is a beautiful place, even coated in snow! Glad you were able to take advantage of the winter package we do -- it puts a nice dent in the dinner bill! Hope to see you both again soon!

elmira,ny
Reviewed 11 December 2015

we had a room in the main house facing the lake on the 3rd floor stairs not a problem here . We loved our room quiet beautiful view . I wish we could have eaten at their restaurant but our plans would not allow . We did manage a drink at the bar & desert both were exceptional ! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank omni98
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking a moment to write such kind words. Yes, you must come back - pretty please! We would love to show you a wonderful dinner. Sounds like you had a busy stay but we are delighted that you were able to join us for a drink, dessert and a comfortable stay. Have a great holiday...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazenovia
0.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
17.0 km away
Craftsman Inn
Craftsman Inn
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
158 reviews
23.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 km away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
#9 of 31 in Syracuse
79 reviews
25.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Tully Inn
0.4 km away
Brae Loch Inn
Brae Loch Inn
#1 of 7 in Cazenovia
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As the only hotel on Cazenovia Lake, The Brewster Inn is a historic mansion, built in 1890 as the summer home of Standard Oil Financier, Benjamin Brewster. Overnight guests choose from rooms in either the main house or the adjacent carriage house, many rooms of which were renovated in 2015. All rooms and suites have private baths, television, and HVAC. Some rooms even feature jacuzzis, fireplaces, sun porches, private decks and lakeviews. The inn also offers a DiRona Award Winning Restaurant and a Wine Spectator Awarded wine cellar on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Brewster Inn

Address: 6 Ledyard Ave, Cazenovia, NY 13035-1209
Region: United States > New York > Cazenovia
Price Range: $153 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brewster Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Brewster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brewster Hotel Cazenovia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Brewster Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Marietta, Georgia
5 months ago
New Hartford, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Brewster Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter rooms are away kitchen unless your a heavy sleeper or night owl. The restaurant/bar quiets down before midnight.”
 of 5 bubbles Diane1Allentown, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just have dinner here.”
 of 5 bubbles NYBob6, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Those in the carriage house are quieter as they are not close to the popular restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles randc843, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“look at the web site; it's complete and accurate. Talk to the staff; they're helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles davidgU4761NW, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Find a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 483AnnC, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay