We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of October. Overall was a great place and would recommend. Few specifics: It happened to be pretty cold when we were there which we didn't prepare for (our fault). I think going there when the weather is a little warmer would make for a more comfortable experience. But I also think that just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David D
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Hull-O Farms 2 weeks ago and I am still thinking about it! Our kids had a great time getting a real farm experience - feeding the animals, milking the cows, and they loved the baby kittens! Baby piglets were born while we were there! We enjoyed the corn maze and pumpkins. The accommodations were comfortable and clean! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwendolyn L
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from our 19th visit to the Hull Farm. I found it online in the 90's when I was looking for a place to show the kids what it was like to work on a farm and we've been coming ever since because it is a real, working farm. There are plenty of things to do - feeding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blackflyman555
New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Me and my husband went there to buy organic meat from their farm. I turned left at the corner instead of going inside where the stand is. when I made a U turn a car also turned left and I have to move a little forward to the grassy part of the road to make way for the passing car....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maban2016
cook51, Owner at Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations, responded to this review

We are so sorry and deeply apologize for the disrespectful experience that you had at our farm. I assure you that our rule is to manage all situations with respect and dignity. We have reviewed proper conduct and reinforced the importance of these guidelines with all team members.

New York
Reviewed 13 October 2016

What a disappointment! This place does not give you a real farm experience -- it is a mere facade, and an overpriced facade at that. "Feeding the animals" was giving a few pieces of hay through the fences to the sheep and watching one of the workers feed the cows. "Milking the cows" meant that the children could give 2...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ny_murray
cook51, Owner at Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had a dissatisfied experience. I assure you that we are a real farm which actually has been in operation by the Hull family for over two centuries. I apologize if you felt misguided in anyway about the experience we offer. We believe that small sustainable rather than large...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My 2 year old had so much fun. There are lots of kittens and cats, some bunnies, cows, dogs, goats, chickens, horses, deer, ducks... the cottage we stayed in was beautiful, clean, a little remote from the farm, but very quiet. The owners are wonderful people, very warm, welcoming,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marika444
cook51, Owner at Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! I’m glad to hear that your accommodations were comfortable, and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you, Miss Sherry

Glastonbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I originally stumbled upon a reference to Hullo Farm in a web article about 10 vacations that will change your life, and immediately decided it would be a perfect place to take my grandchildren 6 and 10. In doing further research I found that it is the only such venue in new England that allows guests to actually help with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen F
cook51, Owner at Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind words, Karen! It’s so nice to know that your vacation lived up to the article you found us in, and that you enjoyed your time with the grandkids. That you found your experiences here to be fun as well as educational is especially wonderful to hear. Thanks again for taking...

Corning, New York
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I am the most popular aunt ever right now! I took my neice to Hull-O Farm and she was in heaven, playing with the animals and feeding them, and milking a cow and getting eggs. It was simple, safe and she loved it. Accommodations super clean, and food excellent. There are cute country stores within 20 minutes. Great place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdventurePB
cook51, Owner at Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! It’s always a joy to share our farm and the beautiful area we live in with other families, and it’s great to hear that your niece enjoyed it. Enjoy that ‘best aunt’ title- you’ve earned it! Thanks again, Miss Sherry

North Easton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Wow! What a vacation! My wife and I along with our two girls (ages 10 and 9) visited Hull-O Farms recently and couldn’t be happier that we did. I rated the trip 5 stars, but if Trip Advisor would allow it I’d give it more (my 10 year old rated it “a 20 out of a 10!”). I had stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mborden575
cook51, Owner at Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It means so much that you took the time to share your experiences, and more importantly that your family felt so at home here with us. It’s always our goal to make our guests feel like family because that’s truly what you all become while you’re here. To be able to read...

Massapequa, NY
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I just finished a 3 night stay with my cousin Heather & friend Stephanie at Hull-O Farms. We smiled from the moment we arrived! Sherry, Farmer Frank & Jared are the most kindhearted family I know! Jared taught me how to collect eggs from under a hen! I collected 3 eggs! My best memory ever! I learned how to milk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamaicaBoundKC
cook51, Owner at Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review! It’s wonderful to hear that you all enjoyed your stay, and that you left with good memories and better friends. I have to agree that the view is heavenly; it’s too beautiful around here to keep it all to ourselves so we love to share! All the best, Miss Sherry

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (223)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (153)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
10.5 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
273 reviews
39.3 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
28.5 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 9 in Windham
480 reviews
6.1 km away
Gavin's Irish Country Inn
Gavin's Irish Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwallville
72 reviews
2.9 km away
The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We share our family farm vacations and all-natural meats and produce with people from around the world who want to understand and experience a part of their history. By helping with farming tasks, you can watch your children or grandchildren milk a cow, feed pigs, or collect eggs for the first time. Learning about farm life in rural upstate New York, from a real farmer, is a unique educational experience that many claim to be "€œpriceless!" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations

Address: 10 Cochrane Rd, Durham, NY 12422-5225
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham
Price Range: $156 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hull-o Farms, Family Farm Vacations Hotel Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are none”
 of 5 bubbles ny_murray, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rose Cottage is the nearest accommodation to the farm house. It sleeps 4 plus people, and is immaculate.”
 of 5 bubbles KarenF356, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This is a whole guest house complete with eatin kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles betsyessie, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi only available in main house, Rose cottage doesn't have separate wifi so have to logon each morning at breakfast or through the day.”
 of 5 bubbles PippaB1976, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Gifford and it was lovely. Large kitchen, 4 bedrooms, lots of sitting areas. Right across the street from the farm house.”
 of 5 bubbles LINGO1234, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5