Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Sunset
Traveller (9031)
Panorama of the Beachfront Deluxe Bungalow at the Kurumba Maldives
360
Panoramas (18)
Kurumba Maldives
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 1 resort in Vihamanafushi
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort, located just 10-minutes from the airport with luxury speedboat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef, relax on the white sandy beaches, swim in our protected crystal clear lagoon, or treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with a variety of activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. And for culinary enthusiasts, be inspired by the Maldivian culture, local foods, art and dance, with 8 restaurants, 3 bars, and Maldives best nightly entertainment scene. With 8 styles of accommodation spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens, Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination for all occasions. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Game room
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Video game console
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Arabic and 12 more

Location

08340
5,348Reviews454Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,467
  • 651
  • 143
  • 47
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
sunshine290 wrote a review Aug 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne8 contributions29 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from our third visit to Kurumba ( 1st in 2019 and 2nd in 2021). This time we booked the delux pool villa ( previous visits were in garden pool villas) and it certainly didn’t disappoint! We’ve had the most fantastic relaxing week. We booked the all inclusive and ate in each restaurant ( except the Arabic) and didn’t have a bad meal. Although our two childrens favourite was the japanese and I need to give a special mention to Robert - he is a fantastic chef and put on an amazing show ( we ended up going there twice). We ate lunch in the bar everyday - the staff in there are amazing! Special mention to April as she remembered my sons pizza order everyday. Although all the staff were fantastic and nothing was ever too much trouble. We did the sunset dolphin cruise which was amazing and the children enjoyed the paddle board/ kayak rental that was included in our meal plan most days.

My husband and children did a discover scuba dive with on site Euro Divers. Valantina was both knowledgeable and patient and gave them all the most wonderful experience which they all loved and can’t wait to dive again. My husband lost his watch during the dive and they found it later that day which was amazing service from them!

It is the staff that really make this resort. Along with the amazing food and facilities. Yes you can see Male and the planes taking off and landing however we were not bothered by this at any point!

Thanks to all at Kurumba - can’t wait to go back in 2023 😍
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Jansson, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives
Responded 20 Aug 2022
Dear Sunshine290, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your third visit with us. We are happy to see our friends are coming back to re-create their memories and moments. Thanks a lot for your time and effort to write this beautiful, detailed review with special mentions. We will communicate the message to relevant team members. We are glad that all the family members enjoyed the stay, cuisines, excursions and activities. Our aim to provide an enjoyable journey at Kurumba for every guest. We can not wait to welcome you and your lovely family again in 2023. Have a wonderful continuation of the year ahead! Best regards, Team Kurumba
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Green family wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were lucky enough to return to Kurumba for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Year. We chose to return to Kurumba after an amazing stay here last July. We were so looking forward to going back and we again had an incredible holiday from start to finish.
We stayed in the 2 bedroom Kurumba residence which is a large and spacious villa with everything you could need. This room comes with butler service and Afu was our butler for the holiday. He arranged everything for us from booking restaurants to excursions and water sports. He always ensured we were happy and well looked after and he is a huge asset to the hotel. We cannot thank him enough for making our holiday so memorable.
Suman was our housekeeper and he also ensured we had everything we needed in our rooms during the stay. Having cleaning twice a day was so luxurious and the room was always spotless.
All the staff make this hotel so special and we were welcomed back by all who had remembered us from our last stay. Hilari and his team ensure you never have an empty glass in Kandu and we loved sitting here every night for drinks.
The restaurant staff are so friendly and we ate in all the restaurants at least once during our stay. Hamakaze and Thila remain our favourite restaurants but the service in all restaurants is first class. All the food is of an extremely high standard and is served so well too. Azmeel and the team in Thila/Hamakaze looked after us so well. Noor, Lahfan, Mohammed, Shahu, Usam, Nur, Brian, Kalyan, Ahmed, Ronan, Robert and Ali are just some of the staff who went out of their way to look after us.
We used the spa, did a private snorkelling excursion (which was excellent and Hassan was a great guide), went to Male, did the dolphin cruise and did some water sports whilst we were there.
The Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve gala dinners were out of this world and the hotel had gone to such a huge effort to decorate and provide entertainment for both events. Both nights were very special.
Afu organised a SOS dinner on our last night which was the highlight of the holiday for us. We had an excellent meal in a lovely setting and we will treasure that memory forever.
We noticed the aircraft noise again this holiday and it is something that unfortunately the hotel can not control. The proximity to the airport outweighs this issue for us as within 30 minutes of picking up your luggage, you are lying on the beach.
We would love to return to Kurumba in the future if we can and this is all due to the world class service and staff of the hotel. They certainly make Kurumba a very special place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurumbamaldives, Kurumba Maldives at Kurumba Maldives
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear SevidlaM2019, Thank you for this wonderful feedback! it is so rewarding to know that we have gained your credence to be chosen again for your vacation and you enjoyed your recent stay so much. Thank you for kind comments for our facilities, our chefs' culinary prowess, activities we offer at our Resort. We are so much delighted to read your extensive compliments towards Kurumba's Christmas and New Year festivities, our team made every effort to turn this very special time of a year into memorable and significant moments for our guests. But most of all we appreciate the kind comments on our staff and hospitable service. The fact that you mention our team did everything they could to make your stay so much easier and pleasant means a lot to us! We will be sure to share your encouraging remarks with all Kurumba's family especially the individuals you have mentioned such as Afu, Suman, Hilari and his team, Azmeel and the team, Noor, Lahfan, Mohammed, Shahu, Usam, Nur, Brian, Kalyan, Ahmed, Ronan, Robert and Ali, Hassan. We hope you enjoyed your journey back home and very much hope to welcome you back to Kurumba Maldives in the near future! Sunny Regards, Kurumba Maldives
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen B wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Angeles, California331 contributions267 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time I have stayed at Kurumba in the last five years. The room and the facilities at this resort are top notch!! The staff is very professional and will bend over backwards for their clients. I booked the basic the room but was upgraded to a regular bungalow instead of the second floor bungalow!!
Five years ago Kurumba had one of the most stunning reefs I had ever seen today this is not the case. The reef here is still good but all the coral has sadly died and is gray colored. The reef change is not the hotels fault and I see they are trying to grow new corals. There are still plenty of lovely fish to see as you swim past the pylons and hit the reef. I was very pleased that the reef was in as good condition as it was considering climate change/El Nino has for all effective purposes decimated the reefs in the North Male Atoll and around the other Atools also.I was still pleased with my underwater experience at Kurumba.
The Kurumba staff is great! All the staff will bend over backwards to make their guests happy. Top notch job in customer service.
The rooms are in great shape and cleaned twice daily and the hotel is generous in giving their customers water at the bar and everywhere on the island.
The one thing that needs improvement at Kurumba is the food and drink prices are exorbitant!! Food and drink prices at Kurumba are ridiculously overpriced. I have been to perhaps 20 other resorts so I can compare there food and drink prices to other five star resorts!! The buffet dinner is over $100 a person the buffet.The dinner buffet looked tasty but should be capped at MAXIMUM $70 including tax. A burger is $30! Outrageous price gouging and you cant do anything about it because they have no competition !!! A beer at happy hour $7.50 and cocktail $15- $20!!! I had one drink in four days and brought two huge sandwiches in Male for my dinner. I had seen families all having cup of noodles for lunch together!! At other five star resorts I paid $22 for a burger at Banyan Tree and at Vakarufalhi I paid $17 for a HUGE burger with a Carlsburg beer!!! This resort seriously needs to examine their exorbitant food prices. I would stay here again but again bring my lunch and dinner from Male so I dont price gouged on the food costs!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Bring in your own food if you dont have a meal plan! Food costs too much money here!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurumbamaldives, Kurumba Maldives at Kurumba Maldives
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Dear 7ContinentGal, Thank you for sharing your very fresh impressions of your recent stay in our Resort. We thank you for your extensive compliments towards the resort facilities, but most of all we appreciate the kind words on our team and hospitable service. Your positive comments will most certainly be passed on and we are sure you agree that positive feedback certainly helps motivate our team to go the extra mile for future guests. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future! Sunny regards, Kurumba Maldives
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben wrote a review Apr 2020
Belgium18 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the Kurumba and I have to say that our stay exceeded all expectations!! From the moment we arrived we were treated with utmost respect, the staff could not do enough for us and we actually felt very humble. We booked a Deluxe Beach Bungalow which was just stunning.

The food was delicious, my favorite restaurant had to be the Thila but I would recommend the dine around option which worked out a much cheaper option.

I can recommend the Sunset Cruise trip, we had a great time watching the dolphins, we actually saw a flying fish which was a wow factor and the dancing on the boat was fun.

The rooms all have fresh towels every day, fresh beach towels, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body cream also there is a small kettle with tea, coffee, milk sugar plus 2 free bottles of water every day.

You don't need to bring your own snorkeling gear and beach shoes (sharp pieces of coral) as the snorkeling at the Kurumba is amazing and not to be missed.

We booked for 12 nights and was a little worried about being bored but this was definitely not the case, we loved every minute of it, strolling along the beach, going for afternoon cocktails, having a swim in the hotel pool, chatting with the really friendly staff, snorkling, feeding the fish and just spending quality time.

The Kurumba has to be our favorite by far and will definitely go back again.

See you soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Beach room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurumbamaldives, Kurumba Maldives at Kurumba Maldives
Responded 12 Apr 2020
Dear ASRM13, thank you so much for sharing this wonderful feedback! In these challenging times we doubly pleased to read such a supportive and encouraging review from our guests. Happy to know you thoroughly enjoyed the island dining experience from our Chefs, excursions and activities we provide, our rooms' facilities and, of course, our house reef's stunning beauty we proud so much. Our team members will be absolutely happy to know they made your stay in the resort very special and memorable. Once tough times pass, please, come back and be our guest again! Be healthy! Sunny regards, Kurumba Maldives
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian H wrote a review Mar 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom6 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous 2-week holiday at the Kurumba Resort in the Maldives. It was sensational, probably one of our best resort holidays. General Manager Andrew and his staff should be very proud of the comfort and service they deliver to their guests. We were on the All Inclusive Dine Around package and housed in one of the Deluxe Bungalows. The package allowed us a choice of restaurant options at both lunch and dinner as well as other activities/services (e.g. snorkel trips, laundry, trip into Male etc.). Our bungalow was on the northwest side of the island with wonderful views over the Indian Ocean and was kept in pristine condition by the room staff with frequent bed linen/towel changes and turn down service in the evening whilst out.
Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff at the resort. Miho Koike
Assistant Front Office Manager is a credit to the operation with her professionalism and customer focus and Amil, the provider of superb cocktails in the Kandu bar went above and beyond the call of duty in order to temp us with the widest variety of drinks imaginable. He even created bespoke cocktails for us based on the type of tastes we have – many thanks Amil for everything and apologies for not getting to the cocktail party on the beach on Sunday, afraid we ran out of time before departing. The range and quality of food in the restaurants was brilliant, many thanks to Executive Chef, Janne Ollikainen and his team of chefs and restaurant staff. Our regular haunt for both lunch and pre-dinner drinks was the Kandu bar which provided us with live entertainment most nights, thanks to manager Hillary and all the staff in there, you looked after us admirably.
Our overwhelming impression of the resort was how friendly and eager to please everyone was, from gardeners through to management, it was a perfect location for us and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Finally, but no les important for me was the ocean, I am a keen diver and spent a considerable amount of time under the water as well as by it. Euro Divers are the resort diving company and they were fantastic, if you are interested I have left feedback on their website. Suffice to say that my wife has never before experienced encounters with sharks, turtles and stingrays but she did this snorkeling in the waters around the island, OUSTANDING!!
Our heartfelt thanks to everyone who became our friends at Kurumba, we had a fabulous time and look forward to returning and seeing you all again
Brian & Barbara Harrison
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurumbamaldives, Kurumba Maldives at Kurumba Maldives
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear Brian and Barbara, Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful heartwarming feedback on TripAdvisor. We are surely thrilled you have enjoyed your stay so much and you had one of your best holidays here at our resort. We thank you for your extensive compliments towards the resort facilities, rooms, culinary experience and activities we offer, but most of all we appreciate the kind comments on our team and hospitable service. Certainly, we are delighted that we got all the things right. The team spent a considerable amount of time focusing on the small details that make the difference. We will be sure to let Miho, Amil, Chef Janne, The Euro Divers Team know how much of an impact they made on your experience and will pass on your words of praise to the General manager of Kurumba Maldives Mr.Andrew Jannson. We thank you for your stay and hope it will not be too long before we get to welcome you back again in the future. Sunny regards, Kurumba Maldives
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sutty5896 wrote a review Mar 2020
27 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife Janet and I visited this island together for our first ever trip to the Maldives to enjoy both of our birthdays whilst here. From first stepping on the island to our last day the staff could not do enough for you. The food and drink was spectacular and we even had a visit to our table on several occasions from the executive chef of the island Janne antero ollikainen to ask if we had any special requests, We have never experienced this before and we have stayed in many resorts. Even Faisal from the Cafe restaurant visited our table and offered the mushroom soup recipe that my wife loved.
The ratio of staff to guests is almost 1-2-1, they have 500 staff working on the island to take care of your every request.
Many people we have spoken to have visited Kurumba several times and keep coming back. They say that islands further away are challenging to get to by sea airplane and it can take several hours including waiting, so Kurumba is a breeze and is 10 minutes on the power boat.
The evening entertainment is good which includes singers, DJ’s and Bands, all very good.
Our recommendation would be to upgrade to the All inclusive Dine Time which means you can eat at all 7 restaurants. All to a very high standard with good quality wine and beer.
We stayed in a deluxe bungalow which had french doors opening to the sandy beach area with palm trees, very spacious and always cleaned regular by the house keeping staff.
There’s lots of activities and excursions available of which some are complimentary.
The first day we arrived to watch the sunset from the beach a 4ft shark came to visit. These are harmless black fin sharks that eat plankton and seaweed.
The trip out to see the dolphins was spectacular with some great sightings of these wonderful creatures. The Recreation team are outstanding and hats off to their manager Ziyad who is a credit to the resort.
The paragliding was amazing, it was my first time and I was initially nervous but once you realise you are in good hands you will relax as I did.
The bar Kandu has amazing decking around it with double sun beds and pool close by. The Thila restaurant overlooks the ocean, a must to have a night here.
We simply can not say enough about this place and we will definitely be coming back soon. I would rate it as a 7 star not 5 star Who knows maybe back for my 50th in 3 years.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurumbamaldives, Kurumba Maldives at Kurumba Maldives
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear Sutty5896, we are so pleased to be chosen as a resort for your recent vacation to celebrate such special occasions! Moreover, we deeply touched by your highlighting our team's warm and attentive service first. To read such appreciative feedback is one of the best reasons to keep up our work and motivation. What a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our Island dining experience we provide and our Chefs' individual approach. We will be sure to share your encouraging remarks with Janne and Faisal. Thank you for mention our benefits due to our convenient location. That's so nice you had a conversation with our repeat guests. Probably they shared some secrets about our resort and why they keep coming to Kurumba. Nice to be complimented on the entertaining and activities we offer our guests. And it's s absolutely great you were able to explore so plenty of them. We will be sure to let Ziyad know that he made an impact during your stay. We very much hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know when you plan on returning, we will be delighted to assist you with your booking. Sunny regards, Kurumba Maldives
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrs_WEngland wrote a review Feb 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom76 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort has lots of nice restaurants, water sports, including a dive centre (eurodivers) on site, wet bikes, banana rides, fishing trips, boat tours etc. There are various types of villas so research them to find the best for you also there are different meal plans so again research them to get the one best for your needs. The spa is lovely and offers lots of different treatments. There is also a gym, basketball/football pitch, table tennis, 🎱 pool and a kids club. The beaches are lovely and everything is very well kept with staff constantly attending to the gardens and beaches. If you have a variety of interests ages and holiday likes and dislikes to cover this resort should be a good choice. Another plus is it is close to Male the capital and the airport so no lengthy transfers or overnight at the airport to worry about also no luggage weight restrictions for a seaplane transfer. All the restaurant and bar staff were very helpful and welcoming and all the staff looked after your every request. We had a pool villa which had a private pool and jacuzzi and at the front was the beach and sea which was lovely, we also took out the all inclusive dine around package which gave you the option to dine in all the restaurants and have a good selection of drinks throughout the day and with meals, there were also optional premium drinks, which on that plan were half price, if you wanted them instead of the included drinks. It also gave you discounts on mini bar items, spa treatments and 1 free excursion for every 2 nights dine around booked, we had a Male tour and could have also had a guided snorkelling tour. I would highly recommend the Kurumba.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurumbamaldives, Kurumba Maldives at Kurumba Maldives
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear Mrs_WEngland, Thank you for this wonderfully comprehensive and detailed review. We are so grateful for the full review of the Resort facilities and activities we provide. It will certainly help all future guests. Thank you for highlight the advantages of our convenient proximity to the airport. It is a pleasure to learn how much you enjoyed the room, preferred meal plan and all the benefits it is complemented by. We are delighted to read you found our staff to be friendly and efficient. It was a great pleasure having you here as a guest and we hope you will be visiting us again soon. Sure you will have another enjoyable vacation with us. Sunny regards, Kurumba Maldives
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SineadFitz wrote a review Jan 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom50 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I made our first visit to the Maldives and after a lot of searching chose Kurumba for our 5 night holiday. The main two reasons we did was due to the location close to Male (after a flight into Abu Dhabi and then another to Male, we were more than happy with the short speed boat to Kurumba) and the choice of restaurants whey opportunity to do all inclusive.

As soon as we arrived into Male, the excellent service started, our luggage was taken from us onto the boat, we were given water and cold towels. We didn’t see our bags again until they were delivered to our room - perfect! On check in we were given a delicious coconut sorbet and the whole check in process was so relaxing!

Our room was fabulous, exceptionally clean, such a good size, great beach view and the bathroom - wow!! I had been worried about bugs in the outside bathroom but there was no need I didn’t see any our whole stay!

We did a walk around the island most days which was lovely, very easy to walk around on the paths or beach! Again everywhere was exceptionally clean and well looked after!

Now the food, we went all inclusive dine around as we like to have a choice of where to eat at dinner, and so glad we did! We have been to many all inclusives throughout the world but the restaurants and food at Kurumba was out of this world! We dined at Indian, Thai, Lebanese, Teppanyaki & Seafood and all were amazing! We kept the seafood one until last and so glad we did, it was a lovely romantic last night with the tables by the water looking into the ocean. At lunchtime we tended to eat in the restaurant (rather than the buffet) and it was great, such a good menu selection! I am gluten free (although not coeliac) and the options there were great, they fully understood my issue and never made it a problem - I believe their head chef is also gluten intolerant.

We used the beach bar for sunset drinks and had great service there, as we did at the main bar in the evening! All of the staff we met were fantastic, bar staff in the evening even came to knew mine and my husbands usual drinks. We also met quite a lot of the management team who greeted us by name and always asked was there any more they could do, and I felt they genuinely meant it! Although there never was as everything was perfect!!

All staff were great and we didn’t manage to get everyone’s names but April at the bar was always so helpful, really quick service and always very friendly! Then Brian served us at a couple of the restaurants including the teppanyaki and he was fantastic, nothing was too much for him and again super friendly!

I would 100% recommend anyone to visit, couples, groups of friends, families with children! We have already recommended to friends at home! Can’t wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurumbamaldives, Kurumba Maldives at Kurumba Maldives
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear Sinead86, On behalf of our entire team, we could not be more pleased reading your review. We are grateful you noticed every little touch we do for our guests and their experience. Thank you for appreciating our convenient proximity to the airport and the fact you were able to start your vacation within a very short time after the plane landing at the Velana International Airport. We are happy to know you were so much delighted with our welcoming service, we spent a considerable amount of time focusing on the small details that make the difference. We thank you for your extensive compliments towards the island dining experiences we offer, we couldn't be more happy to know it was beyond your expectations, but most of all we appreciate the kind comments on our team and hospitable service. This is extremely rewarding for us to hear as we work hard to ensure that you receive the warm and attentive service that you enjoyed so much. We will be sure to share your encouraging remarks with the team especially April and Brian. We thank you for your stay and hope it will not be too long before we get to welcome you back again in the future. Sunny regards, Kurumba Maldives
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Muzammil N wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Delux Pool Villa & Delux Bunglow in this resort for 15 nights from 12th.September 2021. Frankly our visit to Kurumba Maldives has been one of our best travel experiences. The perfect arrangements for the comfort of family especially our kids , the various recreational facilities of the resort especially the various water sports available including Yoga training , swimming , snorkeling , Kayaking, Parasailing, Jetsking, Scuba Diving, tennis courts etc. provide enchanting time . Kurumba is truly blessed with rich Marine life around its resort , easily accessible to guest on their own that adds one more thrill to self-exploring guest here! The watersports team has lessons to allow guest to be trained or at least be comfortable before experiencing the thrill at snorkeling or scuba diving Excretion activities are perfectly arranged with ample time whatever you are going as group or arranging a private tour with them. The VELI SPA @ Kurumba provides you another reason to get yourself treated to the experience & care by the team here.The specialty restaurants with renowned CHEFS provides you a perfect options to celebrate your occasion & party at private space among the nature guest!. Blessed to have enjoyed fresh “Coconut “ Water, Start Fruits etc at all times. The white sand beach at the resort, excellent meals (Breakfast, lunch & dinners) for the are truly memorable taking into consideration our taste & food culture. The landscaping of the resort with absolute greenery and flowering plants create a soothing ambience for the guests. The well trained staff members are always ready to help are certainly plus points of Kurumba Resort. Always remember smiling face of Tatiana from managing Breakfast tables so efficiently while greeting the guests, Housekeeping staff are also training & focused to keep our accommodation safe, clean fresh considering frequent visit to beach & pools by families especially kids. Specail Thanks to Mr. Ali Waheed who took care of our accommodation for major part of our stay @ Kurumba. For my family the returning point to this resort would be Kids Center & staff(Alena,Mal), Snorkeling Team lead my Munnaz .The Non-alcoholic Mocktail Bar managed by Mr. Chamunda, whose flavours mixing was magical & would be blessed with different taste & relaxing times at every sip.Finally the presence of senior Kurumba Team members with frequents visit to different resort arrangements to make sure the guest epriance is perfect makes it count for us I would certainly recommend "Kurumba Maldives " for it's magical location, ambience and guest comforts.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Experience Ocean Whispering with u at all times ! Lest Travel time to Resort
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Jansson, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Dear MuzzamillN10, Thank you so much! A very detailed review and so many highlights, we are glad we could do our part in providing you and your family with an amazing travel experience. Out team is at the core of our service approach, and we are lucky to have such dedicated and passionate team members who embrace the guests as family. We have shared your comments with those people, as well as the rest of the team, and there is no better motivation for them to continue their hard work. Wishing you a wonder end of the year and hope we have a chance to welcome you back to sunny Maldives again. Warmest regards, Team Kurumba
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashish9225 wrote a review Mar 2020
Ajmer, India11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited kurumba maldives on 6th march and stayed for 3 nights in delux bungalow 213 & 214 just few mtrs away from beach.. to summarise the experience i have noted few key points which will be helpful to all who are planning :

Distance from male: 10 min boat ride( we wanted to be near male due to covid19 panic as hospital access or evacuation would be easy) , super fast check in , honored our request for early check in which was great.

Beach,water, reef & gardens : it was our first trip to maldives so we haven't seen many resorts but from our personal experience , research and other guests reviews it was at par with all the best resorts.

rooms: all rooms are spacious ,upmarket , well maintained will suggest room facing open ocean which gives u a feeling of privacy and faraway from world feeling.

bar ,restaurants & food : plenty of options , something for everyone , one of the best indian food that we had on a holiday away from india special mention to chef kelum and chef nanda for making our stay memorable all the other staff was also cooperative ( except odd few from the kandu bar)..

Package : we chose the all inclusive package as we were two couples and didn't want to waste time ordering and comparing costs..but this option is only good if you have above avg. alchohol or beverages consumption requirement, for us it was value for money .

overall kurumba maldives lived up to the expectations of most of the travellers who come to this paradise, we generally do not repeat resort properties but somehow kurumba has left us to be wanting more of it.. so we will be back soon. cheers to all the staff working there for making it so..

Regards,
Ashish karwa
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurumbamaldives, Kurumba Maldives at Kurumba Maldives
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Dear Ashish, Thank you for sharing your five-star experience about your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to help future guests and our team. We are grateful you have an eye for detail and noticed the little touches we do for our guests. We thank you for your extensive compliments towards the resort facilities, that's great to read you enjoyed it that much! We are happy to read that the culinary experiences we offer met your expectations. The team will be happy to read the kind comments on the hospitable service we provide. Please be ensure we will share your encourages remarks and let Chef Kelum and Chef Nanda know that they made an impact during your stay. We are thrilled with your intention to come back for the next trip to the Maldives! We very much hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know when you plan on returning, we will be delighted to assist you with your booking. Sunny regards, Kurumba Maldives
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from antri t
1 contribution
I have not stayed in a pool room... I stayed in a beach front room and it was private and perfect
Answer from Alex George
Dubai, United Arab Emirates295 contributions148 helpful votes
I have stayed there twice and never faced any issues with the WiFi. Even in the public areas it worked perfectly fine.
Answer from priyanka
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia32 contributions30 helpful votes
Yes breakfast included in full board .All the information about the resort you will get in their website . Also I will recommend to download there app which is very helpful. All prices are listed as each restaurant has different price .
Jamy Z wrote a tip Today
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are many fun events happening around eid, so make sure you join in on them when possible!"
Read full review
Mark L wrote a tip Yesterday
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the relaxation by the sea. Snorkelling is fantastic."
Read full review
Fifi830 wrote a tip 3 Jun
Barnsley, United Kingdom126 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware you can see the mainland at one side of Kurumba. Snorkel even if you don't normally, you'll not be disappointed."
Read full review
Zayniddin V wrote a tip May 2024
18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Suggest you to try some dishes at Khing Thai and Thila! They are very tasty"
Read full review
rchal75 wrote a tip May 2024
Lebanon3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Vihamanafushi area.
PRICE RANGE
S$304 - S$652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kurumba maldives hotel north male atoll, kurumba maldives north male atoll, kurumba hotel
LOCATION
MaldivesKaafu AtollNorth Male AtollVihamanafushi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KURUMBA MALDIVES: UPDATED 2024 Resort Reviews, Price Comparison and 9,908 Photos (Vihamanafushi) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kurumba Maldives
Which popular attractions are close to Kurumba Maldives?
Nearby attractions include Hukuru Miskiiy Mosque (5.5 km), Grand Friday Mosque (5.4 km), and Male Fish Market (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kurumba Maldives?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kurumba Maldives?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kurumba Maldives?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Kurumba Maldives?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Red Snapper & Coffee Beans, The Cloud Restaurant, and Cloud Signature.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kurumba Maldives?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Kurumba Maldives have airport transportation?
Yes, Kurumba Maldives offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Kurumba Maldives located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 km away from the centre of Vihamanafushi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kurumba Maldives?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kurumba Maldives offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kurumba Maldives?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, Hindi, Thai, and Arabic.
All Vihamanafushi HotelsVihamanafushi Hotel DealsHotels near Kurumba Maldives
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire