Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown

Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown

Traveller (102)
Panorama at the Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
360
Panoramas (18)
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
S$182
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 5 hotels in Elmsford
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
The 156-room Hampton Inn White Plains/Tarrytown hotel, is located in beautiful Elmsford, a short Metro North train ride to New York City. Explore all the area has to offer including Sleepy Hollow, Downtown Tarrytown, The Rockefeller Estate, and Hudson River mansions. Take advantage of our 24-hour business center, free wireless internet access and proximity to businesses including Regeneron, General Motors New York Training Center, and Dannon. Relax in our updated guest rooms and enjoy a range of free amenities including internet access and our free, hot breakfast served each morning. If you're in a rush, pick up a Hampton On-the-Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday, to take with you. Our hotel features over 2,800 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space to accommodate events of all sizes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

200 West Main Street, Elmsford, NY 10523
1,069Review12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 379
  • 316
  • 166
  • 123
  • 85
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
WonderWander wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York370 contributions166 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have a great deal of admiration for the Hampton Inn brand, which is why I sincerely hope that this hotel is soon due for an upgrade, as the room quality was way below what I've experienced at their sister hotels: scratches and dents everywhere, exposed wall structure materials, a noisy heater, and a terribly sagging bed (which made for a rough night of sleep). The quality of the lobby area is more typical of the brand, and the staff was very friendly. I'd say it was a good value, but I stayed at a similar property in a nearby town last week, where the price was $20 less yet the room was vastly superior. Please invest in this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrandiiBar, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. In addition, we would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey. I do apologize for these inconveniences you had to endure. I have gone ahead and have passed your comments on to the appropriate departments, so that we may look into them. Thank you for bringing these to our attention.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily M wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband, son and I were originally going to stay three nights at this hotel and we transferred to the Yonkers Hamton Inn and Suites after one night. We hardly slept all night because the beds were so uncomfortable. We have stayed in many Hamton Inns and they usually have very comfortable beds. This is an older hotel that has not been updated. The toilet was so low to the ground that it was only the right height for my 6 year old. The carpets were sprayed daily with disinfectant and the hotelq1 smelled like chlorine bleach at all times, except when one of the guests came in after smoking pot which happened frequently. The pool is small, located outside and has very limited hours. The front desk staff were nice and helpful as were all the staff. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful when we wanted to check out early.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from joselyn hernandez, Owner at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Responded 16 Jul 2022
I would like to sincerely apologize for all inconveniences you had to endure during your stay here with us. We aim for 100% guest satisfaction and I see that we failed with your trip. I can assure you however, that this is not a standard we go by and I will work on improving all concerns you have brought to my attention. I have also gone ahead and have passed the others on the appropriate departments. We do hope you reconsider our property so that you may witness our progress.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gailmath wrote a review Oct 2023
Ludlow, Massachusetts289 contributions174 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable as well as a good location for our plans. The hotel staff was friendly and welcoming. The beds and bedding were very nice and our room on an upper floor and facing the woods was quiet. Breakfast was as good as pre-covid hotel breakfasts.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaye Rivera-Correa, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Responded 9 Oct 2023
Dear gailmath, On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing about your stay with us. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with the team as a way of celebrating the great guest experiences we delivered. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Estero Bay wrote a review Jun 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Superb Customer Service. Rooms have been updated and are nice.
Excellent breakfast. Some breakfast chairs need reupholstering. Parking terraced on a steep hill. I wish there was a Hampton Inn north of White Plains in Westchester County.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaye Rivera-Correa, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Responded 20 Jun 2023
Dear 042546: Thank you so much for the great feedback from your stay with us, it is great to see that the staff was so amazing during your stay. I have shared your feedback with the team, and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Sincerely, Kaye Rivera-Correa General Manager Hampton Inn White Plains/Tarrytown
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael K wrote a review Jun 2020
Albany, NY251 contributions306 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My purpose in submitting this review is not to be negative for the sake of negativity but rather to caution travelers who are concerned about Covid about the lack of safeguards taken by this hotel. It so happened that we stayed here in mid March when the pandemic was just emerging and I thought that the precautions they were taking then were very diligent. We had me travel from Florida to this area again in June and because of our prior experience, and because of reading about Hilton's  cleaning  policies, I chose to stay here again. First of all, I believe that the Hilton policy does not necessarily apply to all hotels that have the Hilton brand and this is something that needs to be checked by all travelers. In addition, the lack of precautions at this hotel was alarming. Even though it is located in New York , almost none of the guests wore masks, and the staff did not ask the guests to wear a mask.  This was in contrast to just about every other business I visited in the Westchester Tarrytown area. I believe that the hotel suffers from poor management. As an example, the entrance/exit lobby was being mopped at 8 AM, at a time when people are more prone to exit. Why they shouldn’t have been done so at an earlier or later hour is beyond me.  Also, when we went to a room one night, they were too young men, not kids but young men, wrestling in the hallway. There were no sanitizer dispensers available in common areas (although there had been in March when we were there). .  We were told by a staff member that the hotel was being used by many individuals who were working on construction projects nearby.  For whatever reasons, those guests did not wear a mask and that made our entire experience stressful. To their credit, the clerks were polite and in fact refunded one night's rate because of the wrestling incident. Even so, we left the hotel and stayed at a nearby hotel of a different brand where the precautions were totally in place and provided greater concerns for safety.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brandii Barbour, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Responded 9 Jan 2021
I would like to sincerely apologize for all inconveniences you had to endure during your stay here with us. We aim for 100% guest satisfaction and I see that we failed with your trip. I can assure you however, that this is not a standard we go by and I will work on improving all concerns you have brought to my attention. We do hope you reconsider our property so that you may witness our progress.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vinny G wrote a review Aug 2021
Smithtown, New York, USA26 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was so very disappointed with this hotel. I was staying overnight with my wife after attending a concert downtown. I should point out that i have stayed at no less than 20 different Hampton Inn’s over the years, and this one by far was the worst. First off, it is in dire need of a cleaning - top to bottom. Everything in the room and lobby areas was dirty and old. The rugs needed cleaning, and were frayed in many areas. There was a dire need for touch up paint everywhere. Even the entrance to the parking lot was in disrepair. It was being worked on (which made it tough to even enter the hotel parking lot), but the rest of the lot was in need of repair and resealing. The hallways were dingy and smelled. Speaking of smells, there was a heavy smell of weed throughout the hallways, on more than one floor. The worst part of the entire stay was that our room smelled of weed when we got in it, and the smell continued throughout our stay. I guess our neighbors didn’t really mind that they were on a non smoking floor. The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is that the people working the front desk seemed to be pleasant. Aside from that, I would never stay here again. At over $200 a night, there are much nicer choices in the immediate area to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CDM49 wrote a review Jun 2021
Amarillo, Texas6,349 contributions718 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had reserved for two nights but left after one. First location is terrible. It sets high on a hill but you can’t make a left turn into or out of the parking lot. You have to go down the street and turn around. This can be tricky due to the traffic in the area. When entering the parking lot there’s a small sign directing a u turn then up the hill for checkin. The handicap ramp is from the parking area and not in front of the checkin. Checkin was basically ok no welcome just name and here’s your room key. Did not get the room requested although I made reservations 6 months ago and was told plenty rooms were available like I wanted. Clerk did not even say sorry just not available. Also did not receive the bottle of water as a honors member. Now to get to the room we had to park up the hill to the second floor level. Take our bags walk around the pool enter the second floor walk down the hallway to the elevator then up to our floor. At our room the door was damaged, looked like someone had previously tried to break in. The inside safety latch was very loose almost ready to fall off. Inside room was good size but bathroom was very small. Could not open door when setting on toilet. Rust in bathtub. Room decor was outdated still had popcorn ceiling. Rug stained and old. There was no safe in the room for security no microwave. Internet service was very poor in the room. Breakfast was pitiful it came in a bag small breakfast bar, small piece of what tasted like cake. Coffee weak all most water. We left it. Management needs to get busy and update, clean up, repair and improve checkin service.

So far on this road trip we have stayed in six Hampton Inns and this is by far the worst.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
amjs13501 wrote a review Jan 2020
Utica, New York204 contributions119 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay over 75 nights at year at Hilton brand hotels and this Hampton Inn is far below their standards.

The lobby is modern and clean, but the rooms are dated and worn.

My room had a broken lampshade that was also filthy and the ceiling light was filled with debris of some kind. There was no clock in the room, which I don't think I have experienced in event he cheapest hotels I have stayed in. There were big areas of the ceiling that had clearly been patched, but not with the same texture/color as the original ceiling. When I tried to turn on the light on the side of the bed, the entire fixture was loose and turned in the wall.

The furnishings in the room are really low quality and show extensive wear. It looks like the hotel tried to make the appearance of a makeover using the cheapest items they could find.

Pretty much everywhere you look you can see evidence of wear and quick attempts to cover it up.

This is on par with a low budget motel and should not be a Hampton.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TarrytownGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. I will thoroughly investigate every area of imperfection you mentioned and work on improving to unsure we do not have this same experience for future guests. I really appreciate the feedback as it helps motivate, and also improve the product. I thank you for being a loyal guest, and look forward to your next stay. Kindly, Terron Jones General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
inferno1020 wrote a review Oct 2021
Orlando, Florida111 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I appreciated the free parking, they did have a hot breakfast, room was clean and the remote control for the TV was wrapped in plastic and sanitized. I must add that at the front desk they had complimentary chocolate chip cookies and it was excellent. It had plenty of chocolate chips, decorated in Halloween colors and it was slightly crunchy. One of the best cookie I have ever had.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohnnJack wrote a review Sept 2021
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania68 contributions22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay in Hampton Inns almost exclusively. And we do so because they are consistent with good front desk, good housekeeping, reasonable breakfast (considering it's free) . Not this one.
We checked in to our room and found that they had not put face towels, wash cloths or a bath mat. There were two bath towels only.
At breakfast the orange juice was water, slightly orange. There was no hot cereal, and the cold cereal selection consisted only of sugary cereals meant to attract kids. The coffee urns were repeatedly empty and it required several visits to the front desk to get them filled.
Housekeeping did not come to the room all day at all during our 2-day stay.
None of this is terrible, it's just not equal to most Hampton Inns.
Lastly, because it had not been programmed right, my key stopped working.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Judy G
Montreal, Canada273 contributions142 helpful votes
I would suggest you call the hotel and ask. I picked my haughtier up at the train station in Tarrytown and it was a 15 minute drive. I don’t know where Irvington is.
Answer from Myrsa B
This is my question. Can someone please answer this question for me?
September K asked a question Sept 2019
Saratoga Springs, New York
What is the closest metro north station to the hotel?
Answer from Brandii Barbour
Elmsford, New York
White Plains train station & Tarrytown train station are close to the hotel.
Llpc64 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Catskill, New York50 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher floors, facing east (front of building) a bit of road noise, but a nice sunrise view."
Read full review
Gail Z wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel at all costs. Hotel requires complete refurbishment and employees trained in customer service."
Read full review
Haywood16 wrote a tip Oct 2022
Seaford, New York164 contributions170 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look for another property"
Read full review
Traveler wrote a tip Sept 2021
New York3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid all food coming from this kitchen. Avoid this hotel and go to the Marriott"
Read full review
Lilla wrote a tip Jul 2021
Brooklyn, New York5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"find another hotel, but if stuck, get a room on the opposite side of the highway!!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Elmsford area.
PRICE RANGE
S$205 - S$306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn white plains / tarrytown hotel elmsford, hampton inn elmsford, elmsford hampton inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkWestchester CountyElmsford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAMPTON INN WHITE PLAINS / TARRYTOWN (S̶$̶2̶8̶2̶) S$248: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 339 Photos (Elmsford, NY) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown?
Nearby attractions include Deluca Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casaletto Ristorante, Ruth's Chris Steak House, and Rini's Restaurant and Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Elmsford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Armour-Stiner Octagon House (4.7 km), Kykuit, The Rockefeller Estate (3.8 km), and Lyndhurst (3.4 km).
All Elmsford HotelsElmsford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ElmsfordHotels near Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire