We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hwange Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hwange Safari Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our stay and honeymoon at hwange safarilodge! We got a spacious Nice room with a wiew to the savanna and the animals. The place was quiet with few guest, so we felt we had the place for outselves. Great hospitality and great safari, an unusual exotic experience. Loved it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terminatora
Nigel N, General Manager at Hwange Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Terminatora Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you loved your stay here, and we sincerely hope that you will come back for an anniversary visit one day!

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff - reservations, reception, waiters, barman and lady, game guide, and room attendants, were excellent. Our bookings were professionally handled right from the beginning. I would like to single out the reservations and reception staff for their professional approach. The reception staff were in contact with us from the moment we set off up to our arrival at the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lewis M
Nigel N, General Manager at Hwange Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lewis M Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge, your feedback is appreciated. We are in the process of planning renovations for the rooms, and the WiFi has since been repaired. I will pass on your wonderful comments about the staff as I know they will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great stay. Despite the rains making everything green we still saw much game, especially lots of elephants, as well as a pride of lions! Staff were friendly and helpful.Christmas dinner was disappointing but otherwise food was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NRRAfrica
Nigel N, General Manager at Hwange Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear NRRAfrica Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. I appreciate your comments on the Christmas dinner and your feedback will help us to improve our offering. We hope to see you here again in the future.

Chiredzi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay at Hwange Safari Lodge was remarkable. I really enjoyed the hospitality of Hwange Safari Lodge and I don't hesitate to recommend it to would be travellers. There are good panoramic views and the outdoor is a beautiful sight as well as witnessing game coming to a pool in sight to drink water. Hwange Safari Lodge is a great...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 199clemencem
Nigel N, General Manager at Hwange Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 199Clemencem Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the lodge. We appreciate your positive feedback, and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Compared to the last time I was there a few years back, I was rather underwhelmed. My booking thru booking.com somehow got messed up and was put as a booking for a single person instead of a double. Hotel showed remarkable inflexibility in rectifying the mix-up and I ended up paying considerably more than envisaged. Fortunately I was carrying enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NDABEZINHLE M
Nigel N, General Manager at Hwange Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ndabezinhle M Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge and your feedback is appreciated. Unfortunately we were unable to meet your expectations and I would like to apologize for this. With regards to your booking we were unable to cancel your reservation through the agent and offer you our Christmas Special without incurring their cancellation fee...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Loved the place. the staff was pleasant and quite helpful. The hotel is well kept and I especially loved the view of the waterhole from my room and from the gardens. The dinner and breakfast was freshly made and very filling and nice!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank trishm555
Nigel N, General Manager at Hwange Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Trishm555. Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Bulawayo Province, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Heard Legacy had taken over and stopped in for a bite to eat and some drinks Monday lunch......we were the only people at the hotel and the management refused to let our 2 kids cool off in the pool despite us ordering hefty lunch....needless to say we cancelled the order and departed with a very sour taste in our mouths....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martinzim2015
Nigel N, General Manager at Hwange Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I would like to apologize on behalf of Hwange Safari Lodge for our communication breakdown, which resulted in you being given the wrong information regarding our non-resident policy. We do allow non hotel residents to use the swimming pool if they are dining with us. I have contacted you via your Facebook account so that...

Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The lodge is located close to the entry of the Hwange National Park. A particular feature is the large park nearby, facing a waterhole where elephants and many other animals come all day long to drink. The lodge's garden features a platform from where guests can see the animals. You can even watch them while you are in the swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcella20142016
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and whilst the hotel was basically empty we enjoyed the quiet and the accommodating staff . We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite - which gave us space to enjoy our time in Hwange even tho the aircon didn't work In the lounge area. The animals at the water hole were amazing, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

First day, on arrival immediately spotted a herd of elephants. Great atmosphere! Great welcome service from the team. Waiting to post more details of the trip. Was also told that just before we arrived a herd of buffalo had left the viewing area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blessings C

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
4.0 km away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 21 in Hwange National Park
51 reviews
10.7 km away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#2 of 21 in Hwange National Park
315 reviews
30.6 km away
The Hide
The Hide
#1 of 21 in Hwange National Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 21 in Hwange National Park
36 reviews
0.0 km away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hwange National Park
215 reviews
4.7 km away
Sable Sands
Sable Sands
#11 of 21 in Hwange National Park
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Hwange Safari Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hwange Safari Lodge is an oasis of luxury in the heart of the African savannah. Surrounded by untouched wilderness our guests have access to all the modern amenities required to make their stay truly comfortable. The hotel has two restaurants, one which is located outside with views of the watering hole. The swimming pool is a popular oasis for cooling down each day and the bar is the ideal place to relax after a safari. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hwange Safari Lodge

Address: Farm 39, Hwange National Park 5792, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Price Range: $183 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hwange Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Jovago.com, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hwange Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hwange Safari Hotel Harare
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hwange Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hwange Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Am not sure what I am supposed to write here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 341lewism, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best views from the executive rooms on the top floor directly facing the water hole.”
 of 5 bubbles N657MTjohnc, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms overlook the waterhole”
 of 5 bubbles kk1981vet, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I think all of the rooms look toward the back with the watering hole, which is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelGrlCT, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face waterhole, some have trees obstructing the view. Always close the balcony doors to stop monkeys and baboons getting in.”
 of 5 bubbles webbyinmudhut, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay