We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

August Lodge Cooperstown

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartwick
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
August Lodge Cooperstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for August Lodge Cooperstown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Columbus
Reviewed 29 September 2011

What a welcoming and warm lodge! The rustic decor was lovely and just the right touch. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the towels smelled super-fresh! The campfires were a wonderful treat to return to in the evenings. The best part of our stay, though, was stepping outside on our first night and looking up at the clear, majestic...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JVBColumbus
Middletown,nj
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We picked this lodge without any personal recommendations so we knew we were taking a chance. Boy, were we pleasantly suprised. The place was rustic and beautiful. The rooms were nicely sized relatively new and very clean. The view out the back of the lodge is stunningly beautiful. We just relaxed right away. The staff did whatever they could to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andrea L
East Windsor, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at August Lodge for four nights in mid September, 2011. We wondered if there would be enough to see and do in Cooperstown for four days (the Baseball Hall of Fame tour being one day). Should not have worried. The best part of the trip was sitting on the private porch, enjoying the absolute mountain quiet, a book,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MikH188
nyc
Reviewed 20 September 2011

At the recommendation of a friend, my family recently stayed at August Lodge and we fell in love with the place. The views are breathtaking and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, especially the charming lobby where a fine continental breakfast is served-- and, I don't know why, but the coffee is some of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank taps455
ny
Reviewed 18 September 2011

For the last 3 years my adult baseball team has stayed at The August Lodge, while we compete in The Legends of baseball tournament. We have never been disappointed. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are always immaculate and the scenery is breathtaking.Through the previous years we had stayed at numerous other hotels in the area, but...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank worldtraveler16Ny
Chicago, IL
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We came to Cooperstown for the last week of the Dreams Park season. The twins and I stayed at August Lodge, my husband and son stayed at the barracks. The lodge was a perfect fit for us although on Saturday hurricane Irene made a direct hit on Cooperstown and it was a total washout with trees down everywhere and widespread...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Philla P
Otego, New York
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Although I travel a lot as part of my job, I rarely write in recognition of the service and amenities of the places I've stayed. However, our stay at the August Lodge the few days after Labor Day 2011 have been so completely enjoyable I wanted to send a note of thanks. My 2 sisters and I stopped giving each...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank G G
Somers
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We came up for the week for our son's baseball tournament. During our stay we lost power at the hotel. The owner of the property was rude and did absolutley nothing to make our sta more comfortable. All he cared about was what was convienent for him. Besides this the towels are cheap , so was the "so called "...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank matt l
AugustLodge, General Manager at August Lodge Cooperstown, responded to this review

Our apologies, we were hit directly by hurricane Irene, the Lodge was out of power for two days, not so bad considering there are still areas out of power a week later. Our emergency generator provided power for essential services. This guest was livid about the inconvenience which was totally out of our control. She was given a refund for...

Katonah, New York
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Other than the terrific views, this hotel is really a motel, just not as clean. The rooms are blah, and the freshly baked continental breakfast comes from a supermarket. Considering that the owner is in the hospitality busines, he is not hospitable. If this hotel charged $125 to $150 it would be adequate, at $300 per night all paid upfront...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert L
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This was a trip for my 13 yr old son baseball tournament at Cooperstown,we had the Sydney Suite (above the Lobby).We drove 12 hrs and looking forward very much to relax.Well according to the staff (Steve the owner included)!!!!!We were to LOUD.We walked to hard on the floor.Our kids were to loud.They complained to us twice and my 11 yr...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shelly g
AugustLodge, General Manager at August Lodge Cooperstown, responded to this review

Our sincerest apologies to "walking on eggshells". Our policy is that we allow guests to make all the noise they want. We only bring up an issue with a guest when another guest complains, which usually only happens at night. When a guest does complain, we locate the source of the problem and politely address it. Unfortunately this does not...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartwick
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
7.7 km away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
24.5 km away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
818 reviews
7.6 km away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
August Lodge offers you an authentic country experience in beautiful, spacious, rural surroundings. Relax on your private balcony with panoramic views of the Susquehanna Valley from your mountaintop country retreat. August Lodge is a 25 suite, two story timber frame country Inn, perched atop a wild flower covered meadow. Each over-sized suite is accessed from a two story, full length porch, with, soaring, dramatic, hand-hewn hammer beam trusses centered front and rear. Our suites have an expanded, fully stocked kitchen facility, including a cook top, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, china, stemware, silverware, and sink. ... more   less 

Additional Information about August Lodge Cooperstown

Address: 259 Seminary Rd, Hartwick Seminary, Hartwick, NY 13807-1149
Region: United States > New York > Hartwick
Price Range: $105 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
August Lodge Cooperstown Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Cooperstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from August Lodge Cooperstown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
NJ
10 months ago
New York City
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from August Lodge Cooperstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlook the pool or firepit area.”
 of 5 bubbles dominicc657, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the mountain view side of the lodge”
 of 5 bubbles 318jamesu, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a balcony with Adirondack chairs, mini fridge & cooptop!”
 of 5 bubbles 31joyb, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Try for a 2nd floor. We were on the1st floor and had an inconsiderate family above us.”
 of 5 bubbles mrtimbo5, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“second floor room was quiet and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles danielkL319GD, 26 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5