We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunbird Nkopola Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Start your review of Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful place by a beautiful beach. Lovely staff always willing to assist.fantastic food. Always try the chambo which is a Malawian delicacy. Extremely quiet and peaceful place to stay. Perfect for families

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sithe87
Benedict M, General Manager at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much. It is our hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Minnesota
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I definitely recommend a weekend at this lake. It's beautiful and relaxing. However, the rooms need a face lift. They are old, with terrible bathrooms and showers. Despite having to wait for my room until after 6 PM, I was hurried out of it when checking out. The pace in which the rooms were cleaned was laughable. It appeared the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GTINTC11
Benedict M, General Manager at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback on your last stay. We have immediately worked on service issues with the seriousness it deserves. Be assured also that the issue of rooms requiring a face lift have been taken seriously and plans are in place to modernise the rooms very soon. I will be glad to meet you on your next...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my family wanted a trip to Lake during our stay in Malawi. We had been to Nkopola in the past but it definitely wasn't how we remembered. The service was very slow and very simple and sometimes we struggled to get our point across to them. There was lots of building work going on which was disruptive when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kls918
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the time that you have taken to review your stay at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you were subjected to during your stay. Thank you very much for raising the issues that you have mentioned in your review. We have taken steps to improve on our service. We are...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Fresh meals, great location easily accessible from Lilongwe or Blantyre. Excellent conference rooms and board rooms. Very friendly staff, good WIFI and superb rooms. Eating along the beach made the trip fun especially at night. Local traditional dances available on specific days and amazing local meals

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW L
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you for the amazing review of Sunbird Nkopola Lodge. We strive to serve you better, and it brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the service to be exceptional. We do hope that you come and stay with us again. Perhaps you can also visit our other lakeside resort,...

Reviewed 11 December 2016

I stayed at this facility over the weekend of 10.12.2016 and had a fair experience. Due to being busy with a conference, I agreed to a standard room. Rooms are well maintained and functional. Although ESCOM had regular electricy outage, the generator managed to supply sufficient power to have air conditioning throughout the night. Breakfast, Dinner and the A-La-Cart menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan L
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Johan, Thank you for your great review of the property (And the other Sunbird properties that you have visited). Your feedback is very important to us, and we appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know what you think. Please be assured that we have taken note of the points raised, and will do better to...

Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

I always enjoy trips to Nkopola. A must visit place with top services,from the friendly staff and offcourse the beautiful views and chalets. It's definitely worth a visit and you won't regret the money spent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pempho N
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pempho, Thank you for your review on Sunbird Nkopola. We are very pleased to know that you enjoy your visits with us and we hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards.

Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We attended a Rotary conference for 4 days. The conference facilities were excellent and the staff coped really well with meals for all the extra guests who were not staying on site. Our family room overlooked the lake and was very comfortable and clean. The beach is beautifully kept, both service and security staff were polite and attentive. The beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandyzim
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review on Sunbird Nkopola Lodge. It brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, including the rooms, and the boat ride. Hopefully, you will stay with us again soon and enjoy a Malawi gin and tonic while the sun sets. Your review is greatly appreciated, and we hope...

Reviewed 18 May 2016

Despite Mangochi being mostly a rural area, the moment you enter Sunbird lodge everything changes. It exceeded my expectations at all levels - the accommodation, the conference center, the food and last but not least, the beach. They certainly know how to take care of the place and their guests. The only problem I faced is that I couldn't use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M C
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Micheal, Thank you for your great review on Sunbird Nkopola Lodge!! It brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope that you stay with us again sooner rather than later. We will find a way to sort out the ATM problem so that you and others may not face this...

Lusaka Province, Zambia
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Stayed at Nkopola Lodge for 4 nights it was comfortable. meals very tasty we had a room overlooking the beach which was great. Our friends had rooms over looking the water but had to walk upstairs to get there so if booking and you are not 'fit' please let them know.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Judy, We are glad you chose to stay with us at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge, and we appreciate the time that you have taken to write this review. We hope that you come again soon and please feel free to request a room overlooking the beach as you check in. Thank you once again. Kind regards.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

The lake view is undeniably beautiful. But the service leaves much to be desired. If you try to sleep in one morning, you will receive 4-5 telephone calls asking if you are going to eat breakfast, when you are leaving the room, when they can clean the room, etc. So much for a relaxing morning of sleeping in! It felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C P
Sunbird-Malawi, Ellard Savala - General Manager at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Sunbird Nkopola Lodge. We apologize that you had a bad experience. However, we appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience, and for the feedback that we have received from you. In regards to the phone calls, it is unfortunate that more than one telephone call was made asking for you to come...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangochi
0.0 km away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
75 reviews
0.0 km away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
1.9 km away
The Makokola Retreat
The Makokola Retreat
#1 of 3 in Mangochi
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 18 in Mangochi
9 reviews
0.0 km away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 46 in Lilongwe
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Sunbird Nkopola Lodge

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sunbird Nkopola Lodge

Address: | Village Nkopola, Mangochi, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Mangochi
Price Range: $157 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Nkopola Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sunbird Nkopola Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Nkopola Hotel Mangochi
Nkopola Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Nkopola Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with a clear view of lake and away from generator”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a studio room with an outlet straight onto the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 533judyl, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Normal rooms are economical, all rooms have very good views as windows are facing towards the beach front...”
 of 5 bubbles 27marialuzr, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“definately beach from rooms but chose the ones on the father end because of noise around the bar area.”
 of 5 bubbles mkenyahh, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the beach are great.”
 of 5 bubbles beng521, 2 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5