We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunbird Nkopola Lodge

73 reviews
Save
Traveller (57)
Pool & Beach (14)
Room & Suite (14)
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good49%
  • Average19%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lake malawi”(16 reviews)
“standard room”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (73)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
19
32
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
19
32
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake malawistandard roomlakeside locationbusiness tripfishswimming poolamazing placebeautiful settingconference centerrecommend this placechamboshoremanagementluxuryupgradingprojectloungers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful place by a beautiful beach. Lovely staff always willing to assist.fantastic food. Always try the chambo which is a Malawian delicacy. Extremely quiet and peaceful place to stay. Perfect for families

Thank Sithe87
Response from Benedict M, General Manager at Sunbird Nkopola LodgeResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you very much. It is our hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Reviewed 15 February 2017

I definitely recommend a weekend at this lake. It's beautiful and relaxing. However, the rooms need a face lift. They are old, with terrible bathrooms and showers. Despite having to wait for my room until after 6 PM, I was hurried out of it when...More

Thank GTINTC11
Response from Benedict M, General Manager at Sunbird Nkopola LodgeResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback on your last stay. We have immediately worked on service issues with the seriousness it deserves. Be assured also that the issue of rooms requiring a face lift have been taken seriously and plans are in place to...More

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my family wanted a trip to Lake during our stay in Malawi. We had been to Nkopola in the past but it definitely wasn't how we remembered. The service was very slow and very simple and sometimes we struggled to get our point...More

Thank kls918
Response from Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Nkopola LodgeResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you for the time that you have taken to review your stay at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you were subjected to during your stay. Thank you very much for raising the issues that you have...More

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Fresh meals, great location easily accessible from Lilongwe or Blantyre. Excellent conference rooms and board rooms. Very friendly staff, good WIFI and superb rooms. Eating along the beach made the trip fun especially at night. Local traditional dances available on specific days and amazing local...More

Thank ANDREW L
Response from Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Nkopola LodgeResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Andrew, Thank you for the amazing review of Sunbird Nkopola Lodge. We strive to serve you better, and it brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the service to be exceptional. We do hope that you...More

Reviewed 11 December 2016

I stayed at this facility over the weekend of 10.12.2016 and had a fair experience. Due to being busy with a conference, I agreed to a standard room. Rooms are well maintained and functional. Although ESCOM had regular electricy outage, the generator managed to supply...More

Thank Johan L
Response from Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Nkopola LodgeResponded 13 December 2016

Dear Johan, Thank you for your great review of the property (And the other Sunbird properties that you have visited). Your feedback is very important to us, and we appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know what you think. Please be...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345614
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$171 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$171 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (57)
Pool & Beach (14)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (6)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sunbird Nkopola Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"the best stop over traveling through Malawi from Blantyre to Lilongwe"
Read review
"Get one near the water"
Read review
"The lake front rooms are New, the round chalets are old"
Read review
"Room with a clear view of lake and away from generator"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing