We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kafunta River Lodge

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Kafunta River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 182: English reviews
Start your review of Kafunta River Lodge
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Another great stay at Kafunta, my guide Abel was fantastic what great knowledge he has nothing was too difficult for him. All the staff were tremendous and made us feel so welcome the food was excellent hope to be back again soon. Thanks to John Lemon and the Painted Dog group for our Lion And Painted Dog sitings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duckquackers2017
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear "ducqackers", Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent visit to Kafunta River Lodge! I'm so happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay, especially the expertise of Abel and team of guides. I have passed on your comments, as it is always nice for them to read this and receive...

Perth
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have just spent 8 nights at Kafunta River Lodge with the Painted Dog Tour.It was an awesome experience in a beautiful lodge.Our guide Effie was fantastic,he was a walking encyclopaedia and had a wonderful sense of humour.He also made sure we had an amazing view of the animal sightings.Due to late rains we couldn't use the pontoon which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glynPerth
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear "GlynPerth", Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor! I'm delighted to read that you had a good time while at Kafunta River Lodge, and enjoy being in the company of Effie (Ephraim). It is indeed a shame that we had so much late rains, up to mid-May and were delayed in getting the pontoon operational....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This lodge is as good as it gets. A great setting, great rooms, good food and really fantastic guides. They are engaging, knowledgeable , competent and fun to be with. Also included in the cost is having your washing done every day. The only downside is the wifi is very poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryle P
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ryle, Thank you very much for your review following your recent visit. I'm very happy that you have enjoyed your stay, and the knowledge of our guides, I have forwarded your feedback to them as well. A tap on the back is always rewarding. Thank you for that. And yes you are right, our bush internet is poor, this...

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Going on safari during the rainy season is always something special and one never knows how far one can go due to the water on the road. But when going to Kafunta, we realized for the first time, how beautiful this place is during the rains. The whole atmosphere is so different. Clear sky and hot one day, short thunderstorms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nini6924328
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Friderike & Fine, Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of your recent stay at Kafunta River Lodge! It is not always that we have guests so happy with seeing the rain :) But I agree with you, it is a great time of the year for those who dare, the light, the sunsets, and the game viewing...

Trefnant
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

We have been lucky enough to have visited many African countries on safari, all during the dry Season. What an experience it was to visit S Luangwa during the Green season, yes we had a little rain and some thunderstorms, but this all added to the atmosphere. We benefitted from seeing healthy looking animals and having 'no dust.' The Lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Paula, Alun & Catrin, Thank you so much for posting a review from your very recent visit to Kafunta River Lodge. I'm sorry that we didn't meet in person, but I have already forwarded your very kind feedback to Lisa and the team on site as you words will be of great encouragement for the season! I'm delighted to...

perth
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Wow! what a wonderful African experience. We had been to Africa before but never as awesome as this, we have just returned from staying at Kafunta River Lodge for a week and just didn't want to leave. The staff were all amazing and went out of their way to make our stay really special. The whole experience was just seamless....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzie b
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Suzie, Thank you very much for this very enthusiastic review! It is such a treat for us at Kafunta to read such kind feedback, and I have already forwarded it to the staff at the lodge. I'm so happy to read you have seen so much, and that the rains - which I know have been heavy - have...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The accommodation is really comfortable , with lots of space and a balcony overlooking the marsh . Free hanging mosquito net with room around the bed to move was a big bonus - though in truth mosquitos were not a problem . Hippos were abundant and very close to the individual rooms - how cool to be able to hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hylas_10
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear "Hylas", Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at Kafunta River Lodge. I'm happy you found the sound of the hippos at night to be a nice lullaby! :) I have passed on your feedback to our staff, it is always rewarding for them to hear their handwork is appreciated. I...

Krefeld, Germany
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Just returning from an amazing experience with a 6 days safari at Kafunta River Lodge. Excellent and astonishing place, friendly staff and considering still being at the end of the rainy season we saw a lot of game. I saw the comment from a fellow traveler posted a few days ago to which I wanted to share my impressions. April...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul_Krefeld_Germany
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback after your very recent stay at Kafunta River Lodge. I'm so happy that you have enjoyed your stay, despite the rainy conditions. The rains have definitely been late this year - which has impacted our roads and as you said, our ability to put our pontoon in service! I'm so...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Fantastic setting overlooking the floodplains; comfortable rooms, friendly, helpful staff and excellent food. The game drives organised by the lodge were outstanding - the drivers certainly knew their stuff and were brilliant at spotting and identifying the various wildlife. Christmas Day was special - how anyone can organise such a feast out in the middle of nowhere is remarkable. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Thank you for your kind review following your stay at Christmas, last December! I'm so delighted to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your safari, the lodge and everything that came with it! I'm also glad you have enjoyed Christmas in the bush - I have passed on your compliments to Lisa and the team. We hope to...

Tutbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I have read a lot of the reviews and agree that this lodge is excellent. Friendly staff, excellent varied food, well layed out with good views over the grasslands leading to the river in the distance. However the journey times to and from the game park approx 12K away are very restrictive. Our average journey time getting there was approx...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank migobax
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Migobax! Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Trip Advisor, so quickly after your stay at Kafunta River Lodge. I'm delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the lodge and its facilities, but of course I'm truly sorry to read that your overall experience was darken by the conditions of the access to...

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (152)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
9.2 km away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#17 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
201 reviews
6.9 km away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#10 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
106 reviews
22.6 km away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#19 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#18 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
88 reviews
0.0 km away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
62 reviews
0.0 km away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Kafunta River Lodge

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kafunta River Lodge is set in the riverside forest on the banks of the Luangwa River overlooking the South Luangwa National Park, Zambia. This classic safari lodge offers our guests all the comforts, while being situated in unspoilt wilderness. There are 8 private chalets and 2 luxury suites, all overlooking a game rich flood plain. We offer game drives, night drives and walking safaris. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kafunta River Lodge

Address: Box 83, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: $380 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kafunta River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kafunta River Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kafunta River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The suits are really beautiful”
nini6924328, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to book a suite Leopard or Lion and you have the option of sleeping out on the balcony overlooking the wildlife plain.”
  • a night picture of the set up option to sleep on the balcony overlooking the river
589suzieb, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are the same and you can't choose. Ours (Elephant) had several big bushes in front affecting the view.”
migobax, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All chalets have a wonderful view”
788kentj, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All have wonderful views”
travellerNEEngland, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5