We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surfside 3 Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Surfside 3 Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 74: English reviews
Start your review of Surfside 3 Motel
 Click to rate
Howard Beach, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very disappointed, I did not have high expectations being a motel. However I did provide the management with all details of the day. The motel stunk like pot and environment was very low end. I was looking for convenience to prepare for my wedding being held in the high end venue next door. You would think the motel would accommodate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emos72473
vinluccisano, Manager at Surfside 3 Motel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you were unhappy with your stay with us. We do offer both smoking and non-smoking rooms to assure the comfort of all of our guests. I know you had a large group to accommodate within your rooms because of all the preparations for the wedding, with many people coming and going throughout the day, and I...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a difficult place to review. Is is well located for access to JFK and most of its guests seem to come from there. It is always slightly troubling to find sheets completely un-ironed on a hotel bed. This is a basic motel complete with noisy air con and grim decoration. Bathrooms are small with showers in the bath....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luxuryloafers
Levittown
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

It's a motel, don't expect anything fancy. Nice place for a quick stay. Clean & newly renovated rooms. I enjoyed my stay there. Jacuzzi tub was great! Def worth the little bit extra for it. If you're looking for something quick or last minute in a nice area like Howard beach then this is the place to go :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla R
New York City, New York
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I used to live not far from this motel. When I have early flights and want to stay close to JFK I get an hourly rate and pop in here for a few to avoid the drive. There are other reasons you may want an hourly spot and you may notice short stay guests as alluded to in other reviews....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CulturedBlackPearl
Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 15 July 2016

My expectations were not high. All I needed was a place to sleep after an early evening JFK arrival from Casablanca and prior to a long drive west the next morning. First room we were offered had hair in the shower and wet towels on the floor in the vestibule. Next room was in order - sort of. AC/heating system...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
vinluccisano, Manager at Surfside 3 Motel, responded to this review

Nick, I'm sorry to hear you had some issues in your room. It sounds like you arrived on a very busy night where many guests came in at once. Our staff works 24 hours to ensure your comfort during your stay. I am certain they were able to correct the problems quickly once alerted. Next time you fly into JFK,...

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

I ended up choosing these motel since it was the only one that didn't charged me for early check inn. Otherwise any other hotel would have been even cheaper. The motel is DISGUSTING. Hair on towels and on the floor. Very small room. No closets. No nothing besides 2 uncomfortable beds, a chair, rare furniture with cases and an horrible...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sam s
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Very friendly staff! Clean. Nicely located near deli & JFK with a shuttle. Nice view of the water and some very pretty fowl life. Just can't say enough about the accommodating staff and ownership. They take a lot of pride in their business. As far as the coffee pot issue, just ask ANYONE and they will be happy to serve!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarlaStone
Madison, Connecticut
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

I chose this place due to the 4 star review. It doesn't come close in my book. Basically no amenities. No coffee pot was a bug disappoint. Didn't feel safe with the flimsy door locks. The front desk girl greets you from behind bullet proof glass which gives you an idea of the area. I will not return.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ShorelineGuy
vinluccisano, Manager at Surfside 3 Motel, responded to this review

I am surprised to read about your concerns. We are a motel and offer the best prices to guests, by limiting amenities like coffee makers. We are open 24 hours a day, and as a precaution, we have our cashier in a protected area, but our neighborhood is a fantastic place. Howard Beach is a safe, residential area with great...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Free shuttle to the airport. Very friendly staff! Rooms were clean and well kept. Was pleasantly surprised that if you ask the maid staff for coffee, they were happy to help. Great vending. Close to shopping on Main St Howard Beach!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarlaStone
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Great stay. Thank you. Reservations (Vince) and reception staff are very helpful and friendly. The motel is located a little further away, but still in close proximity to JFK. Backs on to the water which is nice. The rooms are VERY basic. There is a bed, bathroom, desk, TV and thats about it. Great for an overnight stay, but not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janine2511

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howard Beach
3.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
4.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
4.8 km away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
3.7 km away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 31 in Jamaica
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surfside 3 Motel provides an affordable stay right on the water of Howard Beach, NY. Just a few minutes from the beach's best sights and eats! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surfside 3 Motel

Address: 16433 Crossbay Blvd, Howard Beach, NY 11414-3743
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Howard Beach
Price Range: $194 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside 3 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfside 3 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside 3 Hotel Howard Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surfside 3 Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Surfside 3 Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“perhaps request a room on the back side”
nickn770, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side have a great view of the water!!”
CarlaStone, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Avoid staying at this location due to closeness to airport runway.”
Bronxboy14, 14 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on back have no traffic noise and have view of the canal.”
PeterElbaMartin, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“The rooms look out the river (on the back side).”
chuent2014, 4 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5