We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Panoramas (80)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,188: English reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for three nights while touring lake placid. Could hear through the walls, but overall the rooms and hallways quiet down by midnight. There were several children's hockey teams staying that weekend too. They were very loud, running around everywhere and slamming doors. Several times on the second night, some of the children were knocking on my door and running...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cristina V
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review

Dear Cristina V, Thanks for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to post your feedback. While I appreciate the nice comments regarding the hotel location and clean room it is regrettable that each experience has been less than satisfactory. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced, particularly with the noise levels you...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I chose this hotel on the recommendation of a friend and I must say I was duly disappointed (by the hotel and the friend). The staff at reception are polite but curt and you have to ask many questions for them to be actually helpful. The cleaning staff wanted to negotiate whether to clean my room or not. The bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniela K
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review

Dear Daniela K, Thank you for your stay and for posting a review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is extremely important as this will help us to achieve our mission to provide the perfect guest experience. It is nice to hear that you liked the view from our hotel, the lounge and pool, and the level of service provided by our...

Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza during a hockey tournament. After driving around Lake Placid and Saranac, I'd say this definitely appears to be one of the better hotels in the village. Most others were motel like (except for a Marriott Courtyard that looked nice). But you can't beat the location of this hotel. In the center of town with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickieDOTcom
CPResort, Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Lake Placid, I am glad you like our great location and our nice and clean rooms. Being such a short walk to the Olympic Ice Center and Main Street is a great feature for this hotel. I am sorry we had to shut the pool down for one day...

Reviewed 18 January 2017

This facility has been in this location by other names in the past. Now It's a Crowne Plaza, which requires it to meet certain standards. It passes as a clean, well-run facility serving tourists and athletic teams visiting Lake Placid. While it is clean and nice, it doesn't quite live up to what are today's standards of excellence. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John P
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review

Hello John P, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club - Lake Placid and posting a review and rating your stay. I would like to apologize if you found the property past its prime and the amenities in the room to be of the olden age. It is also great to know that our hotel staff...

Coffs harbour, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Overall the hotel is clean and ambient with a beautiful outlook and useful facilities. We opted not to pay for a view upgrade and didn't need to with the mountains at the back and the high position (take care with small children- trekking up and down the hill in the winter can be brutal.) Kids loved the heated pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We walked in late one evening in November to inquire about a room. All they had left was a suite. We took it because they said our jack russell was welcome and made it incredibly easy to say yes. The place is beautiful, we had a great view of the mountains and a great night checking out the venue for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank envisagestar
Ankara, Turkey
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Fine location and most pet friendly, but then is the missing trash bin. If you are off for skiing the slopes, this is a great place to be, If you are there just to relax, you might find it quite noisy and in the end also dirty. The room undeerwent a quick cleaning before we arrived, so nut shells and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tigerurs
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review

Dear tigerurs, I am glad to that you spent the night at our property and you were able to appreciate our skiing area. Thank you for your almost perfect marks for the service from our hotel staff. I wish I could say the same with your remarks about the cleanliness of your rooms although it is good to know that...

Reviewed 11 January 2017

Overall this is a beautifully appointed property done in an Adirondack lodge style. Our room had a spectacular view of the mountains. We were there during a kid hockey tournament and the hotel is very child friendly with plenty of places for children to lounge and play games. The hotel is located on top of a hill and we as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael L
New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks in early November and had a great experience. It's an easy walking distance from the majority of the shops and restaurants in town. While we didn't have a view of Mirror Lake, we did have a lovely view out the back of the mountains in the distance. Furthermore, we were surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ash P
PA
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for hockey tournament. Hotel is up on Hill overlooking town and lake. Beautiful lodge feel. Staff was wonderful. Check in easy. The bar and great room were cozy to hang in. Bartenders were great. Rooms were comfortable good size. Very clean. Had room near pool so room was a little humid. The grounds were beautiful. Kids had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevkrishark

858 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (405)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
View from Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (367)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
Deluxe King Lake Room (27)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (28)
Viewed
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen Lake Room (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Family Suite (23)
Viewed
King Lake Room (16)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Tower Suite (37)
Viewed
Two Queen Lake Room (25)
Viewed
Two Queen Room (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.9 km away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.3 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
186 reviews
1.0 km away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range: $152 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Lake Placid staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Lake Placid staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay a little star for a view of mirror lake from your room.”
blaws2014, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the elevator/ice-making machine unless you're a heavy sleeper. Get a room with a balcony at the front of the hotel.”
oldfieldpark, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Doest matter you can see the views from anywhere in the hotel just a hop skip and a jump”
lisalaw810, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms have views mountains or lake but have to pay for the lakeview”
lauracT5663BC, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We didn't have a choice as the Can-Am Hockey tournaments were going on. The place is beautiful.”
envisagestar, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5