We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Margaretville Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Margaretville Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016

This is an Older motel but you can see theyve been renovating to keep it up. Beautiful bed spreads with comfortable beds. Very clean rooms and the housekeeping staff does a great job. Front desk personal is very friendly and helpful.The rates for the motel are very competive for the area. Would defintely stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We made arrangements at this motel for our family and elderly mother to stay here during a family wedding. The first room we were shown to was basic. run down and tired looking. There was such a strong odor of PineSol we were unable to tolerate it and asked for another room. We entered the second room and one of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AvenueBee
cauliflower_queen, Manager at Margaretville Motel, responded to this review

Dear folks, please stop exaggerating about the bugs. There was one insect on the bed after all you are in the country and it happens don't make a mountain out of a mole hill. The motel is basic and clean, we don't boast to be anything else. if you wanted to upgrade we have three other properties but they do...

Miller Place, New York
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Ok, we are road warriors, and I'll start with my usual adage: You get what you pay for, but stay with me. This is an older (almost retro) Motel right on Rte. 28, and "yes" it is a little rough around the edges. But, I'll start with our early check-in (1pm), the people at the front desk were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lady2dids
New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 February 2016

If you like a cold shower and the evidence of sexual activity on the pillow cases you will enjoy getting a room at this motel in the pristine and bucolic Catskill Park. Housekeeping is excellent but the condition of the rooms is deplorable. Breakfast is sparse and not offered in sanitary conditions. This place is a nightmare. Save your money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Double T
cauliflower_queen, Manager at Margaretville Motel, responded to this review

Your drama is very entertaining for readers. I find you comments out of place especially when you say the housekeeping is excellent yet we have pillow cases with sexual activity. So which is it? The rooms are not deplorable maybe this is a reflection of your own personality and treatment towards the people who service you. Just remember the many...

Holtsville, New York
Reviewed 1 December 2015

My son and I could not sleep from the disgusting smell of cigarettes on the sheets and blankets. I have stayed there before and always had decent experience but this time was a horrible experience. I told the girl at the desk about the smell in the room and on the sheets,blankets and pillows and she looked at two other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frank2204
cauliflower_queen, General Manager at Margaretville Motel, responded to this review

We refunded this guest promptly after the complaint, this review was clearly done out of spite.

Reviewed 11 March 2015 via mobile

I thought it would be cool to stay in a motel like I did when I was a kid . This one , not so cool . Opening the door we were overtaken by the musty odor . Mold on the windows and in the showers . The bathroom floor is rotted ,if I was any heavier I think I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kaikyra521
cauliflower_queen, Manager at Margaretville Motel, responded to this review

This guest was given a full refund as stated because they were asked to leave. We do not tolerate inappropriate behavior towards anyone especially our staff.

Farmingdale, New York
Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

We were able to get a room for an overnight ski trip to Belleayre Mountain. The room suited our needs. Close to the mountain and we even got discount ski lift tickets. Can't beat it. Will stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dmasdan
nj
Reviewed 5 March 2014

So they have ten rooms, no smoking, but have two butt bins outside the doors. Yes, the rooms were clean, service was very friendly and breakfast was adequate. The front office ladies really did everything possible to make the most of the location, ski discounts,etc. But the ice on the pathways to office were deadly, no attempt was ever made...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank yipeenj
cauliflower_queen, Manager at Margaretville Motel, responded to this review

Though we cannot account for every guest's olfactory sensitivities this is the first we have received with a stale odor concern. We do wish to thank you for all the outstanding ratings you gave our staff for those things we can in fact control; your comfort, our customer service and the cleanliness of our facilities. Our team works very hard...

Oriental, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is not the first time I stayed at this hotel so I knew what to expect. It is like going back to the fifties before there where major motel chains. The hotel could use some up grades but if you are looking for a clean and comfortable bed and nothing else the place is fine. If you want more...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony S
Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on a road trip. As my (Australian) wife is called Margaret and, oddly, one of her ancestors was born here in the 1700's, we had to stay in Margaretville. The motel is fairly basic and tired as well as being relatively expensive compared to most of the motels we used. On the other hand,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank amp-qld

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaretville
13.3 km away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
16.7 km away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
78 reviews
37.8 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
109 reviews
1.0 km away
Margaretville Suites on Main
Margaretville Suites on Main
#1 of 1 in Margaretville
13 reviews
14.7 km away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 2.5 hours from New York City/New Jersey metro area. NYC Trailways Bus stops at motel. Ski Belleayre & Plattekille slopes 7 miles. Within walking distance to area attractions, all village stores & restaurants, golf, bowling, 24 hour ATM, hospital & more. Free continental breakfast included. All rooms have 2 beds (1 queen + 1 double), cable TV, free wi-fi, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, air conditioning & more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Margaretville Motel

Address: 42480 State Highway 28, Margaretville, NY 12455-4701
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Margaretville
Price Range: $121 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Margaretville Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margaretville Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Margaretville Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to the next town on route 28”
 of 5 bubbles doublet2016, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Best tip is go to another Motel”
 of 5 bubbles frank2204, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
“10 stale smelling rooms, they are all exactly the same”
 of 5 bubbles yipeenj, 4 Mar 2014 | Read review
“there is not a fitness center nor a place for children. There is a good restaurant across the road, and a nice liquor shop there too. I didn't notice any noise from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles w8t4me, 3 Dec 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay