We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015

The lobby proudly displays Gold Medal Awards from Choice Hotels for the last few years. Makes you wonder if they hand out these awards like candy, because this hotel is WAY OVERPRICED for the quality. Sinks and tub drains are clogged, carpets are old and stained. This is a place where you should expect to pay $50-60 for a room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank al73vw
Binghamton, New York
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We stayed one night at this Econo Lodge. The room was clean, the queen bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. The AC was a little loud, but I don't think management has much control over the noise produced by an AC unit. The free breakfast was filling, the waffles were very good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret B
King Ferry, New York
Reviewed 9 August 2015

This motel is near Massena on a well traveled state route, although I did not hear any road traffic noise in the lobby or my room. My room was quiet, spacious and very clean with a comfortable bed. The price was good and all public areas clean and cozy. The person at the desk was knowledgeable about restaurants and current...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CharmingTailsOne
NY
Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

We arrived at night. We were traveling from downstate to go to a Open House for SUNY Canton. Upon arrival we were greeted nicely. We recieved an extra card for no extra fee and all our questions regarding the area was answered. The man upfront was friendly and fun. We were given room 120 which was on the first floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZL4
Troy, New Hampshire
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Our son is attending college in Potsdam, and we have stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions now. The rooms are large and spacious. The first time we stayed, our room included a couch, along with a small table and chairs, which was unexpected and delightful. I have food allergies, and the small refrigerator and microwave are very much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth R
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The rooms are a little dated but clean. Very spacious and include a fridge and microwave. Large area behind the motel for walking your dog. Only outside seating area has old plastic lawn chairs which will leave a white residue on your clothing so bring a towel. Breakfast was adequate. Pastries, waffles, cereal and yogurt. No fruit or eggs. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank canuckett
Tonawanda, New York
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I travel for business on a weekly basis. I come into the Massena/Cornwall North Country on a regular basis. I usually stay on the Canadian side, but this time I needed to leave literature and products on the American Side. So I picked the Econo Lodge on Rte 37 just outside of the Massena City limits. I was presently surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul_da_Bulldog
Econolodge-Massena, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your response will serve as an encouragement to all our staff. Thank you.

Reviewed 5 April 2014

I was booked to stay in this hotel for one night. After being on the road practically all day, I was exhausted and looking forward to a nice and cozy hotel room. I wasn't expecting much, but at the very least, a place where I could sleep comfortably. Unfortunately, this hotel was not comfortable at all. It is in desperate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EGal13
Econolodge-Massena, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sending us your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will use your feedback to make improvements.

Callander, Canada
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It's ok. You get what you pay for. Dated rooms, didn't seem the cleanest - we had our dog with us and even she seemed weirded out by something. However I think it was only $70-80 for the night. My only real complaint is that the reeked very badly like cigarette smoke – we were on the first floor so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
Econolodge-Massena, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to send us your feedback. On behalf of our entire time, I would like to apolgize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will use your feedback to make improvements. I hope you consider staying with us again so that we have another chance to provide you a...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here many times in the past but this was the first in several years. The room was spacious, clean, warm and all the amenities needed. The staff was friendly, courteous and willing to assist. It was sub zero this night and room was warm and dry. Breakfast, although basic is all you need to start the day. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massena
4.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Massena
93 reviews
24.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Hogansburg
121 reviews
27.0 km away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
39 reviews
18.2 km away
McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre
24.1 km away
Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 15054 State Highway 37, Massena, NY 13662-6188
Region: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Massena
Price Range: $91 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Massena
Massena Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had a corner Room was the best”
 of 5 bubbles donalh112, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There was an earthquake one night. Did not feel it on the first floor but the second floor residents did.”
 of 5 bubbles JimE691, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Get a first floor room....there is no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles al73vw, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
“A room facing the back of the hotel would be quieter since it's right on the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles canuckett, 10 Jul 2014 | Read review
“This motel does offer smoking rooms, but you will be asked smoking or non smoking when checking in or making reservations.”
 of 5 bubbles johnkC1312BH, 1 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay