We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
220 North Rd, Milton, NY 12547-5506
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (511)
Room & Suite (105)
Dining (28)

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Milton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on 75 acres overlooking the Hudson River. Cascading waterfalls, swan ponds, organic gardens, fresh gourmet breakfasts, and an eco-friendly spa. Rooms with private fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and balconies.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Hammam
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
611Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 363
  • 141
  • 53
  • 34
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
AAW915 wrote a review 18 Sep
Newburgh, New York5 contributions
For my 50th Birthday we had planned to do have 17 members of my family enjoy a celebratory dinner at Henry’s on the Farm. One of the houses on the property was booked to allow the members who lived faraway to stay overnight, enjoy the complimentary breakfast, and relax with a spa treatment prior to returning home the next day. Alex and Kara manages events at the Buttermilk Inn & Spa. They did an impeccable job. Alex recommended to use the Inns dining space to keep the party intimate, and allow for it to be decorated an hour in advance of our reservation. A Chef prefix menu was printed and placed at each place setting. Kara assisted during the decorating process to make sure everything was perfect and that service ran smoothly, while always being kind and courteous. Dinner was fabulous and everyone enjoyed their appetizers, salads, and entrees. We did not enjoys the restaurant’s dessert since we had brought our own birthday cake. We stayed at the Riverbirch House, which has 4 spacious bedrooms each having a king bed and an in suite bathroom. The house was clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The next morning the guests enjoyed a short stroll to the Inn for breakfast. The grounds are meticulously cared for. Breakfast offered Frittata, Pecan Waffles, or Eggs. All were yummy. If you didn’t want the hot breakfast items bagels, English muffins, baked muffins, granola, yogurt, and etc were offered. The individuals who booked a spa treatment enjoyed them and some loved their treatment so much that they made a future appointment. All in all the whole experience was top notch. Thank you to all the Buttermilk Inn team members who made this the best 50th Birthday!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Esqbaby wrote a review Feb 2021
New Vernon, New Jersey188 contributions99 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
We rented the north cottage with our dog for a long weekend. It was about 1000 square feet with a full kitchen, open concept dining room and living room with a beautiful fully working fireplace, two bedrooms, and one bath. We were next to the aviary house but never heard the peacocks or hens/roosters. Everybody who worked there was so friendly, from the front desk, to the breakfast staff, to Henry's restaurants, to the spa, to the gentleman in charge of the grounds. We walked around the grounds with and without the dog all day, enjoyed the beautiful Hudson river and all the animals. My only criticism is the master bedroom bed. Its WAY too small and too uncomfortable. A nice Queen or California King would be awesome! Otherwise, I highly recommend the Inn and Spa.....
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The North Cottage was away from everybody and everything. Nice privacy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Barbara H wrote a review Aug 2022
Matawan, New Jersey58 contributions11 helpful votes
We were looking for a quick getaway, peace and quiet and Buttermilk Falls Inn truly delivered. It’s tucked away from town with plenty of outside space to sit and relax or walk and wonder. Our room had an semi-private patio perfect for sharing a local glass of wine in the afternoon. During the day we explored local towns and wineries but the dining facilities on site make meals very convenient. The breakfast provided was superb with fresh fruit and pastries as well as three hot entrees. We found the staff helpful and hospitable. Special thanks to Michael Ann for always topping off our morning coffee with a smile!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex M, Other at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Barbara! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our property! We love to provide not only a place to stay, but an experience our guests won't forget. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast/entrees and I will be sure to pass along your lovely message to Michael! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zacada1 wrote a review Aug 2022
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania13 contributions7 helpful votes
We totally enjoyed our three night stay at the Buttermilk Inn. We went with no high expectations due to the staffing and other issues facing hotels and restaurants in our area. We were comfortable in our room although did have a few issues. The TV only got a couple of channels, the remote didn’t work, and the WiFi was not strong. We didn’t complain about these issues because they weren’t that important to us. The room was clean. The breakfasts, on the other hand, were fantastic and I would give them five stars! Friendly staff and beautiful grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex M, Other at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Catherine! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Buttermilk Inn! We do our best to make sure that everything is perfect for our guests and I will make sure to let our guest services team know about the the issues you came across. We will make sure to immediately make corrections to ensure this doesn't happen in the future! We hope to see you again soon and thank you for staying with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mam wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Do not visit buttermilk falls!!!!!! We booked a weekend, bunch of friends. Unfortunately one friend got Covid two days before arrival. We immediately cancelled however it wasn’t within cancellation policy. We didn’t think it was right for the rest of us to go as we had all Been exposed to our sick friend days before. Buttermilk didn’t respond to our request to cancel. After dozens of phone calls and emails, they finally responded saying they’d issue a credit to use at a later day. They never issued that. When we followed up, they lied and said they never offered that. The manager and GM were terrible at returning phone calls. They were also incredibly rude and deceptive. It’s truly the worst customer service I’ve ever received. They stole $4000 from us.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grace Licalsi, Marketing at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Responded 17 Jun 2022
Hi, we will be sure to take your review into careful consideration moving forward to avoid similar occurrences. At Buttermilk Falls, our cancellation policy is strictly enforced. Unfortunately at the time you reached out to us, the window to receive a refunded cancellation had passed. Great customer service and hospitality towards our guests are a top priority. I apologize that your experience didn't meet your expectations. We hope that you book with us in the future, and allow us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brooklynativegirl wrote a review Jun 2022
Westfield, New Jersey4 contributions6 helpful votes
We spent 3 nights there in 2021 and had a wonderful time; I gave a 5 star review. However, these past few months have made me do a total 180 about the property. I started calling in March to see about booking a 3 night long weekend for the family in one of the two houses they have (one 4BR, one 5BR); it is very expensive but we had such a good time last year, were willing to pay the premium. I was told that they "hold" the rooms for weddings, so could not release until 30 days prior. After numerous (at least 15) calls and being told different things at different times, I was finally told that it was 90% that we could do 7/8-7/11; keep in mind that we all had to put in for days off from work Friday & Monday). I called today, 6/2, since it is now about 30 days out and was told, oh, I am sorry, but it was booked by the wedding. I was furious; keep in mind that I had to call them, they did not even have the courtesy to call me, despite the fact that my name was at the front desk. They should just say they are a wedding venue and that is it. I had to practically beg them to take my money, which by the way, would have come to over $5K. I will never go there again nor will I recommend, just the opposite. Very poorly run and no respect for customers, let alone returning ones, which should be valued rather than treated so poorly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Service
Room Tip: Don't go here; they do not value their guests. Only weddings.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex M, Other at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
I am saddened to see this review and apologize that you had this experience. We strive to provide each and every guest a 5 star experience they wont forget and we will keep improving until we do just that! I understand how frustrating the situation must have been and I will make sure to take your review to our team to find out a better way of handling a reservation situation like this one. We hope you will come back and give us a chance to give you the same great experience you had in 2021!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melanie C wrote a review Feb 2022
Boston, Massachusetts4 contributions10 helpful votes
I would not recommend this inn as there is a lack of management experience and engagement and a cost/quality mismatch. Great: • Spectacular grounds, landscaping, and natural setting • Pleasant but unseasoned hospitality staff Off the mark: • Management: The innkeeper and GM were either absent (GM) or avoided engaging with guests in a customer-friendly way (innkeeper). So good luck w/ a request (or, more seriously, an emergency) that requires management input. • Deceptive practices: There is a 10% "resort fee" added although there is NO mention of this fee during the booking process. Their fee is based on the cost of your room, so, those in more expensive rooms pay more for the exact same services for which others pay much less. • Spa: The spa has been under "renovation" for over a year even though there was no sign of any renovations happening. Typical spa amenities were not available, time allotted for spa services was cut by 10 minutes (for sanitation) but fees were not. It is a scaled-down spa experience with full pricing. Not to mention that our spa appts were canceled as the temporary location had no heat. • General maintenance: both of our accommodations required updating and significant maintenance. Pulls for curtains didn't work, shower curtain rods weren't secure, water pressure in showers was weak, etc. • Technology: the technology in the rooms (tv, sound systems, etc.) is woefully out of date. TVs are not "smart" and after hours of trying to connect to the WIFI to use the Roku, we simply gave up. Throughout the stay, there was constant frustration due to invisible service and maintenance of this facility. The rates are WAY too high for the level of service and accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex M, Other at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Melanie! I am saddened to see that you had any less than a 5 star experience! We strive to provide every guest a positive experience they won't forget. We apologize for the inconvenience with the spa, as it is still under construction to enhance and provide an even better service for our guests. I will speak to the management team to ensure that our pricing properly reflects the services provided. The resort fees and taxes are added at checkout. Before clicking checkout, the booking page will give you the total, "before any applicable fees and taxes". The next screen will show you the grand total. I will make sure to inform our maintenance team of the issues you had with your room to ensure they are fixed and will not happen again! We sincerely hope to see you again and allow us the chance to change your mind and give you the 5 star experience you deserve!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MJ3333 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
All - Buttermilk literally kept our money when we had to cancel due to COVID-19. Not a refund or reschedule! Any company that doesn't care about the health of their guests is no longer an option for me, my friends and community. I will do my best to spread the word so all can avoid this place. I suppose we could have ignored COVID-19 and come Buttermilk but that wouldn't have been fair to all the other guests - right?! Avoid at all costs!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
athinalev wrote a review Nov 2021
Fishkill, New York10 contributions11 helpful votes
My reviews are a bit mixed....some good; some not so good. Front desk was very helpful, professional; and accommodating. They allowed us a slightly early check in. The grounds, to me, are beautiful. Even in November; beautiful trees, plantings, pathways, and of course; the ponds, river views and animals. Our room was nice, but quite small-not a big deal. No fridge or coffee maker-they did have robes. Bed was not particularly comfortable and the pillows were way too thick and firm. I woke up with a really sore neck both mornings. We ate at Henry's both nights. Some things were good; others were not. I would rate it a 3/5. Breakfasts at the inn arrived cold and incomplete. I found none of the specials to be appetizing so ordered a standard egg breakfast both mornings. Our server at breakfast was young and unseasoned, but pleasant. They recognized my boyfriend's birthday by leaving us a chilled mini champagne bottle with 2 glasses in our room when we arrived. We really appreciated the effort and special touch. My massage at the spa was non-existent. My boyfriend said his was amazing. My massage therapist basically rubbed lotion on my body-there was no actual massage. I can't believe I spent the money that I did; only to receive the most uninspiring massage ever. Not sure what happened there. She also seemed to scold me for being tense...which was very odd.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Pebregman wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions7 helpful votes
The photos look inviting; the grounds are gorgeous, and I can see why you would want to get married there. My husband and I wanted a few quiet days away in a lovely, comfortable environment. We did not get it. This was 2-star. And not 4. The rooms were dark, we changed and upgraded, and little changed, nothing that needed repair was repaired. It took forever for the rooms to get warm, the breakfast was less satisfying than a middling diner. And with all that and more, we paid, with taxes, $400+/night. Such a ripoff. We will never return nor recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
buttermilk falls hotel milton, buttermilk falls inn and spa
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkCatskill RegionMilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Park (5.5 km), Walkway State Historic Park (4.8 km), and Locust Grove Estate (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rosticceria Rossi and Sons, Lola's Catering and Cafe, and Crew.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Poughkeepsie Post Office (5.1 km).