We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Melia.comUS$142*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$166*
US$142*
Great Deal
US$166*
US$166*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Panoramas (71)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,962: English reviews
manchestedr
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Excellent site esp the beach and bar but major issues regarding value for money not a platinum /5 star which Thomson rate this complex. Poor quality of wines, food and service. Sensatori is the place to go ,shame no Egypt this year.

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petero981
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear petero981, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for the time that you have set aside to share your feedback with us and with fellow travelers online. We are sorry that we were not able to fulfill your holiday expectations, it is recommended that our guests contact us prior to reservation...

Santa Maria, Cape Verde
Reviewed 12 December 2015

This was our 4th stay at the Melia Tortuga and we still love it, the staff is very friendly and helpful.. What has changed since our previous visits: The already good food quality improved, The WiFi is now free instead of a paid service and it is horrible bad and frustrating, it is clear that the hotel's WiFi is not...

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rdeloof
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rdeloof, Thank you for your trust in having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for the fourth time on your return to Cape Verde and for having once again set aside some of your valuable time to share your experience with us and with fellow travelers online. We are pleased to hear that we have been able to...

leeds
Reviewed 11 December 2015

The hotel was well situated to the Town, the rooms were large and would cater for a family. Each room had 2 bedrooms, two shower's and 2 toilets, including a full kitchen for self catering, which not mentioned in the brouchers.I think this is a "Time Share Complex" Unfortunately we did not enjoy the food, not enough choice, although the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rogerhackett
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear rogerhackett, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for the time that you have set aside to share your feedback with us and with fellow travelers online. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your holiday expectations, it is not our intention to leave you with...

Caceres, Spain
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

A fantastic hotel well equiped,very well attended and with a very good facilities,and in a famtastic locarion.don't miss the beach one kilometer away from the hotel to the south which you can see in a short walk from the hotel after ponta preta.the restaurant o'grill and his beach club is a good surprise for his quuality and attention even with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cabezuela
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear cabezuela, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to review our hotel. It has been truly a pleasure having you and your family as our guests and an even greater pleasure to know that you have had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is very...

Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2015

Booked this hotel through Thomson and although it was our 2nd trip to Cape Verde, it was our first visit to the island of Sal. This was a nice hotel complex containing 2 pools, 1 containing a pool bar and a childrens area which didn't get a lot of activity but it was the wrong time of year for that....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruiser1966
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bruiser1966, Thank you having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to share your opinion with us and with fellow travelers through Tripadvisor. Having read your description, we are pleased to read that you have had a relaxing stay and we thank you for your kind comments...

Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2015

We love this island this is the second hotel we have been to . and by far the best if you want a quiet hotel the staff are a little under trained but just be patient with them and they will get there,Daniel in the beech bar is a credit to the hotel,the rooms are nice clean and spacious in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter H
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Peter H, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for the time that you have set aside to share the experience of your trip with us and with fellow travelers on Tripadvisor. Having read your description, we are very happy to perceive that you loved your holiday with us. We are...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

Hotel is fine, apartments are very nice, kitchen, 2 bed rooms, livingroom, balcony, airconditioning, extra blankets, 2 tv's. No wifi, only in the lobby and near the beach, nowhere else. Beach is alright, 2 swimming pools. Multiple restaurants, lobby bar, small spa. Don't get a room above the lobby, noice will drive you crazy. Same for the apartments next to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BarbaraOs
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear BarbaraOs, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for the time that you have set aside to share your feedback with us and with fellow travelers online. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the accommodation and the hotel facilities. We are sorry to read that we are not able to meet...

Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Our party included 4 adults and 2 teenage boys (aged 14 and 15) and we all had a great time at the Tortuga Beach Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were very impressed with the service we received from the staff. We were greeted with a smile and a welcome drink, we were also upgraded from the rooms we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Alison R, Firstly, we would like to thank you for your trust in choosing Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your family holidays and for the time that you have set aside to share your thoughts with us. It has been a pleasure reading your review and knowing that your stay experience with us has been a very...

Melksham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Maybe my wife and I are easy people to please but I can't think of anything to complain about with our stay at this lovely hotel. There were some hiccups along the way, a short wait for our room to be made ready (we just started the all inclusive bar experience a little early) and keycards not working (easily solved...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Chris M
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chris M, Thank you for being one of the first guests to visit Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to share your review with us and with fellow travelers on Tripadvisor. After having read your description I am very pleased to read that you have had an...

Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

My wife and I have recently returned from the Melia Tortuga and throughly enjoyed our stay, The hotel and our room was kept clean and tidy. We could not find to many faults but the only two faults we found are. 1; The menu choice in the restaurant's did not change in the 10 day's and there could of been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trenchead
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Trenchead, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your precious time to share your opinion and insight regarding our hotel with us and with fellow travelers on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to perceive that you have had a pleasant stay with us and we sincerely...

2,472 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2142)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (481)
Viewed
Room/Suite (205)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (441)
Viewed
Dining (116)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Other (798)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (293)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Family Room (41)
Viewed
Kids' Pool (4)
Viewed
Main Pool (10)
Viewed
Relax Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Villa (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
724 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
2,326 reviews
2.3 km away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,647 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 19 in Santa Maria
313 reviews
0.4 km away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 5 star Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive Resort is located in the southeast of the island Sal, only a few minutes from the colourful town Santa María and Amilcar Cabral international airport. During your stay you will find relaxation and fun right on the fabulous Algodoeiro beach, with its white sand and turquoise waters. The resort offers spectacular suites and villas with up to 4 bedrooms, private garden and swimming-pool. Set in gardens there are 2 magnificent adult pools and 2 pools for children. Experience Yhi Wellness with sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool, thermal circuit, fitness facilities, massage and beauty treatments. Dining options include a variety of 4 restaurants and bars, offering a selection of international and local cuisine. The Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive is also the perfect destination for windsurfing, kitesurfing or scuba diving. Events for up to 200 people can be organised in 2 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Urbanizacao da Cabocan | ZDTI Ponta Preta, Cape Verde - Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Price Range: $206 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
447 questions
Ask a question
Accrington, United Kingdom

See all questions (447)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The walk on the beach into Santa maria is a challenge but well worth it .”
johne328, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“We love our 2 bed apartment (483)”
JosianeW, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room with a sea view.”
620catherinem, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms all good”
E6200TYcaroll, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“The villas are the best. All other rooms and apartments seems a good choice too. I personally wouldn't like to go in the reception building.”
R8838CRfrankc, 4 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Melia.com
US$142* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$166
Hotwire.comUS$166
Hotels.comUS$166
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates