We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Dunas de Sal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dunas de Sal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Have just spent a very enjoyable week at this hotel. The room was good with balcony overlooking the pool and cleaned and serviced daily. All staff were friendly and helpful. Although breakfast was slightly disorganised there was plenty of choice. The menu for half board was limited but what was available was good. WIFI is free but limited to the...

Thank Trevor W
Dunas_de_Sal, Manager assistant at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Trevor W Thank you for taking your time to write Hotel Dunas de Sal a review at Tripadvisor website, as well as for your kind preference. On behalf of Hotel Dunas de Sal' team, I would like to thank you for your kind words and tips for future travelers and take the opportunity to let you know it has...

Par, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

This holiday all inclusive was one of the best for the money ,food, sun ,drink,.....the staff are very good and well educated to 5 star standard , your rooms are clean and if you pick the right one you get wifi ,plus sky type tv free,there are lots of pools to choose from so if its games and music you...

2Thank Stephen P
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Rooms are spacious but lack a bit in wardrobe/dresser space. The bathrooms are adequate but could do with a make-over. Hot water isn't alway available when they make the switch between the roof water heater and the regular heater. Housekeeping does a good job. Airco works perfect. Minibar is stocked and works good enough. TV is a joke tho, no...

1Thank Hrodgard N
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Hrodgard N, Thank you for taking your time to write Hotel Dunas de Sal a review. The team is happy you've enjoyed the overalll service and experience and sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you for a third time here at Hotel Dunas de Sal. We would like to thank you as well for your comments about...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

This is 1 on the best hotels we have been to in Cape Verde ALL the staff were brilliant and spoke really good English the rooms were cleaned every day and housekeeping were fantastic, only 10 mins walk to the small town centre and 5 mins to the beach, Marta the hotel manager was excellent as were Clara and Paula...

2Thank SannyB_13
Dunas_de_Sal, manager assistant at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear SannyB_13 Thank you for your taking your time and review Hotel Dunas de Sal at Tripadvisor. The team is glad you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and mainly you have found the relaxed and friendly atmosphere you were looking for. Thank you as well for your tips and recommendations to future visitors, it is really delighting to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Apartment was clean and comfortable , however 2 teaspoons only in kitchen . Entertainment is far too small for residents , food was the same everyday and cold most of the time ....water was off for 2 days ,no explanation ... To sum up would not recommend especially with family ....no shop on site for general needs .....would not want...

1Thank Andyzed
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Had a great time at this hotel resort. Was an all inclusive 7 day break. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in Was big and very clean. The food was varied and the two other restaurants were good too. The pools were unheated so were a tad chilly. The bar was well stocked and I...

2Thank diver915
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and hotel generally clean. Food choice very limited, breakfast a real disappointment, coffee is powdered and processed in a German machine (choices were in German) typically found in old hotels in the Canaries so don't expect 21st century coffee!! Limited entertainment and activities. Advertised Gym had little equipment (e.g no running machines just a few mats...

1Thank Stephen O
Dunas_de_Sal, manager assistante at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Stephen O, First of all , thank you to have taking time to write us your comments. We are sorry you didn’t have a very good experience with us because we try every day to offer the best experience possible to our guests… We read your comments very carefully, in a nearby future Hotel Dunas de Sal will close...

Rolleston-on-Dove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We were not lucky enough to stay here but the team and Manager went above and beyond our expectations in helping us find somewhere else to stay. They could not have been more friendly and helpful especially when they had no obligation to assist us so fully. We would definitely recommend the hotel and will stay here if we ever...

Thank kathurwin
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Kathurwin, Thank you for taking your time to write such a praise review of Hotel Dunas de Sal. We were also sorry we haven't been able to welcome you at our property but at least happy we could find you a solution togheter. Thank you once again for your kind words and look forward to have the chance to...

Reviewed 31 December 2016

We went on a Thomson package holiday (we usually don't go on package) at the last minute . We were quite anxious. My 14 year old just wanted sun and sand. Ditto wife, maybe she wanted hot and sand. The experience was much better that expected over a week including Xmas day. The weather did not play a good part...

Thank musafari
New York City, USA
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night. We booked it last minute after our plans were changed due to weather-related cancellation of our flight. I write this review as a favor to fellow travelers. I am not an all-inclusive hotel person. It is not my style at all, but a few observations: 1. It is in the middle...

5Thank nycKenM

430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (218)
Pool/Beach Area (45)
View from Room (24)
Bathroom (20)
Room/Suite (23)
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (9)
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Amenities (20)
Large Pool (29)
Pool (12)
Dining (21)
Standard Garden Room (26)
Standard Room (30)
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (32)
Pool/Beach Area (10)
View from Room (2)
Room/Suite (7)
Dining (5)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Other (2)


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas de Sal

Address: Ponta Preta | Caixa Postal 12, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Price Range: $116 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dunas de Sal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dunas de Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas De Sal Hotel
Hotel Dunas De Sal Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Dunas de Sal staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Dunas de Sal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This could be a good place for families but be warned”
albetkcaldy, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No iron or tea making facilities so bring your own or use local services ”
, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No kettle so you need to bring your own if you like a cup of tea in bed. Large wardrobe but with limited shelves and no drawers so it is difficult to organise your clothes.”
628CarolineL, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“1070 was mine sunshine all day , view not so great”
139bobc139, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for family room”
stephenpS1330SU, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5