We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Water's Edge Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Water\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Water's Edge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 195: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 November 2014

We stayed at Old Forge for a family wedding in August. For the price - $250 a nite - it was a real disappointment! (We stayed for cheaper in a great hotel in Manhattan.) I guess they can get away with that price because they are across the street from the water park - the only "action" in this town....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cindy B
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

We do not feel your comments are accurate or fair. You had a choice to stay with us. In fact, members of your family scouted our hotel and took pictures many months before your family wedding and were shown the different types of rooms and suites we offer. You chose to book the King Leisure Suite which is $220/night in...

New York State
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Great view but overpriced for the slightly shabby condition of the room. Also an extremely harsh arrival and check-out policy which caused us to have to store our things in a broom closet for several hours both before and after our stay. A huge pain for us and the somewhat crabby staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara P
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, As a policy we always let our guests in their room as soon as soon as it is ready, regardless of the time or how early it is. That not only satisfies our guests, but makes for quicker check in time than everyone arriving at 3:00pm. However, if it is has not been checked out of by the...

Reviewed 14 October 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the waters edge inn to be disappointed. Upon arrival the staff even looked unhappy to be there, I upgraded our room to a king suite with a lake view. The balcony and view were very nice, the bedding was warm and appeared new, the Room was located a few doors from the first floor restroom and judging...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liz72685
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your review is a complete surprise to us! Upon your arrival on Friday night our senior reservationist checked you in and accommodated your request of relocating to a lake view suite for the one evening as the following evening she explained that all lake view rooms were already reserved. She recalls readily answering many questions you had and...

Marcellus, New York
Reviewed 9 October 2014

This hotel is located right on Old Forge Pond across the street from Water Safari. Great place to stay for families or couples. Indoor pool. Breakfast included. Dockage available for boats. Within walking distance to the beach and close to the village. We received a pleasant reception at the desk. Our room, by request, was handicapped accessible. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck13108
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel and to touch upon our favorable amenities. We love to hear when a guest had a pleasant stay as our goal is just that!

Elmira
Reviewed 18 September 2014 via mobile

The room was very nice.. I def suggest a Water's view.. I believe all rooms come with a balcony. The other side of hotel is a view if the water park .. I imagine it would be noisy during summer. It was a great location .. You could walk to everywhere. Room was nice. Bathroom was nice though some would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BA1100n
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Water's Edge Inn. We appreciate your feedback and kind review!

N New England
Reviewed 17 September 2014

This is an older property with good sized rooms with balconies at least on the water side, and a decent. complementary breakfast, Missing are in-room coffee makers. .Parking was ample, at least in the off season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldwoodboats
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We have added flavored creamers for the coffee which is served from 6:30am until 10pm in our Great Room. Hopefully, you got a chance to enjoy some. Every room, regardless of which side of the building, has its own private balcony. And with the Fall colors we are experiencing right now, they...

ny
Reviewed 16 September 2014

This is a very clean, but old inn right on the lake. Opt for the lake view, it is on the sunny side of the building all day long with a small deck and two Adirondack chairs.There is a nice breakfast in the morning and coffee is available all day long. We were given a room on the main floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jandktrip
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We always appreciate it when guests take their time to let others know about their stay with us! Hopefully, we will see you again.

Naples
Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Beds very comfortable. Room rugs need a good cleaning. Continental breakfast very nice. Coffee and tea available throughout the day and evening. Bathroom set- up in room does not allow for a lot of privacy. However water pressure is great and lots of hot water.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JBLutton
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. We do have 11 different room types with different layouts so if we are lucky enough to have you stay with us again, we will be happy to show you some other options as well. Fall cleaning has begun and we are in the process of replacing carpeting and cleaning carpeting as...

Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Read all the way till the end...there is a kicker in here. When I came to Old Forge I was excited as one usually is to experience the beauty of the area I remembered as a child. I am now from NC so we drove a very long way to be at a wedding for my niece. NY known for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ppar73
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Of course we wish you were happy with your stay with us; however I did call you back and my call went unreturned. I personally wanted to take a look at the stairs and other items you mentioned as they were strong accusations. It is not a matter of doubting a guest, but rather for me to have...

Walton, New York
Reviewed 7 September 2014

The hotel is in a good location for the waterpark but it's a little overpriced for what you get. The walls are very thin so sound travels freely from room to room, very annoying and there are no elevators. I was told the waterpark and the hotel are jointly owned so there's a definite season. The continental breakfast was better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our hotel has some historical significance behind it as it was relocated to its present location on the start of the Fulton Chain of Lakes from its original location on North Street when it was known as The Pioneer. After it was relocated, the hotel was added onto and this was all before the current owners purchased it...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
10.1 km away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
48 reviews
34.0 km away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
241 reviews
0.0 km away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
97 reviews
2.4 km away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
169 reviews
38.4 km away
The Lodge at Headwaters
The Lodge at Headwaters
#1 of 1 in Boonville
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have something for everyone! We offer an ideal atmosphere for all types of visitors to the Old Forge area: families, singles, couples and business travelers. We offer 11 different types of rooms and suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Price Range: $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 77
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Old Forge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Water's Edge Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Water's Edge Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles Patk168, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor near lobby very convenient. Get lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles bradyb5383, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a lake front room with a porch.”
 of 5 bubbles ur2000, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room that faces the lake!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Lindalee7463, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No elevator, so plan on stairs when you pack.”
 of 5 bubbles djmonnat11, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5