We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Alpine Inn

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Alpine Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Alpine Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Being European, I loved going to this place as it reminded me of the nice old chalet in the swiss Alps. The breakfast was outstanding with tons of things to choose from, from fruits salad to scrambled eggs, cereals, hot bagels and chalah rolls. We really loved it. The room are a bit old fashioned (70's) but in the good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathilde B
Erich G, owner at The Alpine Inn, responded to this review

You'll love it come summertime too, it's like a completely different place. The fact that we remind you of a chalet in the Swiss Alps is amazing to hear, Mathilde, We really appreciate it, and for this review as a whole. We can't wait to have you back -- be sure to ask about some fun summer activities when you're...

Ridgefield, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 December 2014

The setting, the service and most of all the hospitality given by the gressler family. For over 20 plus years , Family members have stayed at the inn during the peak of the autumn foliage to view the amazing foliage of the surrounding area. They spoke about the good times they had there. impeccable cleanliness of the rooms, but also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Concetta838
Erich G, owner at The Alpine Inn, responded to this review

We love everything about this review -- thanks for taking the time to write it! We love having people in for the holidays, and we're honored to spend them with you and yours. Can't wait to have you back, perhaps this time for a nice snowy winter? All the best, The Griesser Family

Denville, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We have stayed in a number of motels and B&B's in this area when we have attended the Belleayre Music Festival. This is a clean motel and the breakfast is good. The surroundings are beautiful. Unfortunately, the staff are not warm and hospitable. With this in mind, we would stay here again but would not expect much more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancy s
Reviewed 17 September 2014

The weekend started out as a backpacking trip. The plan was to hike to the giant ledges, set up, lighten our packs and head to Panther's peak. The forecast was calling for slight showers in the morning, clearing early...long story short, after 6 hours of rain and heavy wind we decided to find a room and just come back for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ema3185
Erich G, owner at The Alpine Inn, responded to this review

Sorry your weekend didn't turn out exactly as you thought it would, but we're glad we could provide refuge against the elements! You've got to see the place when there's snow on the ground -- it's beautiful. We'll see you soon, The Griesser Family

New York
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed at the Alpine Inn while attending a wedding up the road. We were a little weary before we arrived due to reviews that we read on trip advisor. Upon our arrival we were very pleasantly surprised by how nice the Inn was. The rooms were immaculate and felt retro not dated. We had a king room with jacuzzi and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Notsotravlinman
Erich G, owner at The Alpine Inn, responded to this review

We love to hear we exceeded your expectations! This feedback is helpful -- we're always looking for ways to improve here and there. Being disconnected's not so bad with the beauty of nature all around you (and a jacuzzi doesn't hurt), right? Hope to see you again, The Griesser Family

Reviewed 26 June 2014

The positive aspects of The Alpine Inn: beautiful views, wonderful breakfast, free wi-fi. The negatives: When we checked in, we were told people were "spoiled" by expecting queen-size beds when the king sized were all gone. Our room smelled mildewy. The only amenity in the room was a hair-dryer. When my husband wanted a cup of coffee after the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Julie A
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This family run lodge does have its charm but it could also use quite a bit of updating. Wonderful views and grounds along with a reasonable breakfast. But the rooms have a very tired feeling about them and the response from the owners to questions, no less problems, can be uneven. Some of the family members are quite responsive and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank msg_10
Erich G, owner at The Alpine Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry if you felt your stay was inconsistent. That's not our style, and we only want to provide a pleasant and welcoming experience. That being said, we're glad you enjoyed the area. We hope you got to try out some of the local activities, a nice hike perhaps. Last thing, we want you to know your feedback's appreciated and...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at the Alpine Inn for 3 days with a friend to do some fishing in the area. From the moment we arrived until we left, our hosts could not do enough for us. We were greeted in a friendly warm manner, room was ready, and very clean. Breakfast and dinner were terrific. They accommodated our little tweaks to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
Erich G, owner at The Alpine Inn, responded to this review

We're glad you didn't forget about the fishing! Seriously though, thanks for the thoughtful review. It sounds like you had a wonderful visit -- just the type of visit we try to give all of our customers. You should come back for the winter and see how beautiful this place can be with some snow! All the best, The Griesser...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We attended a wedding at a resort a mile up the road and needed a place to stay because our family is too large for one hotel. I was very happy that we ended up at the Alpine instead of the other place! The view is spectacular and the grounds are very well maintained. It is a ski chalet with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe300
Erich G, owner at The Alpine Inn, responded to this review

We're glad you ended up with us too! It sounds like you had a good time, and hopefully the wedding was great. Sorry you had to see us renovating, but we're sure you'd rather see that than commodities you wouldn't be happy with. Thanks for this stellar review, and if you haven't you should see us in the beautiful wintertime....

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This place had frienldy service and delicious breakfast. The decoration and equipment of the interior were from 80's, but working ok. The cabins had properly working wireless access, even the valley was out of cellular coverage!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anton_Ervasti

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliverea
2.1 km away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
82 reviews
28.1 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.7 km away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Slide Mountain Forest House
8.9 km away
Belleayre Lodge
Belleayre Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pine Hill
35 reviews
19.2 km away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alpine Inn is in the center of the "forever wild" Catskill Forest Preserve in Oliverea, NY. We're a destination for those who love the outdoors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Alpine Inn

Address: Alpine Road, Oliverea, NY 12410
Region: United States > New York > Oliverea
Price Range: $204 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alpine Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Alpine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alpine Hotel Oliverea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alpine Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Alpine Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in the Edelweis bldg, 2nd fl-if you have luggage make sure you can carry it up the steep stairs.There is a terrace to sit on too.”
rochelleforster, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“None would be your best bet.”
Whitetigers, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just relax on the porch or the balcony of your bedroom and chill out.”
Elliotu, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you have to stay there, as in for a wedding, book as soon as you get the invitation. Perhaps in one of the cabins, conditions would be better. Bring any food or beverage you might want, because after breakfast or unless you book a dinner, nothing is available.”
233juliea, 26 Jun 2014 | Read review
“I normally opt for the least expensive rooms. They all have showers, comfy beds and balconies overlooking the mountains. There are gerananium plants overhanging each balcony. For those who want more, there are some rooms with jacuzzis”
Elliotu, 14 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates