We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel

Save
Share
2750 South Rd Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5282
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$208
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
HIExpress.com
US$208
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$204
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
Booking.comUS$208
Hotels.comUS$208
ZenHotels.comUS$216
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (22)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 15 hotels in Poughkeepsie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie is located in the heart of the Hudson Valley. Our guestrooms are specifically designed for the modern day traveler and family who need modern efficiency without sacrificing comfort. As always you can enjoy our complimentary, deluxe hot breakfast in the Great Room. Connect with family and friends or get all of your important work done without any hassle by using the complimentary, high-speed wireless internet. Enjoy your daily workout routine with new equipment in the 24 hour fitness center. Guests can enjoy the new features in the rooms such as six USB ports to charge all your devices, new 50 inch flat screen television, and furniture designed for the modern day traveler. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and individual coffee machine. As always, the plush bedding will ensure you get a rejuvenating night's sleep. .
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fence around pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
539Reviews9Q+A86Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 218
  • 196
  • 88
  • 25
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
KBS426 wrote a review Aug 2022
Forest Hills, New York22 contributions12 helpful votes
The location and room couldn't be better. We stayed one night prior to dropping our daughter at college. Shared a king sized room with a pull out sofa. Very good breakfast included. Couldn't be more convenient to the Hudson Valley and the quick drive over the Mid-Hudson bridge. Should out to Philip at the front desk who very nice and helpful. Definitely will return when we have to retrieve our kid from school.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TravelerCarrie wrote a review Aug 2022
Arlington, Virginia40 contributions32 helpful votes
This hotel is outdated, dark and dingy. Walls are dirty, hallways are dark, towels are the smallest hotel towels that i have ever seen. There was no cold water in the sink or shower and the fridge in the room was broken. I am an IHG Diamond member and there was no recognition of my status (no water, no upgrade, no points, nothing) The friendly staff is the only positive for this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Seidy Velez, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
First, I'd like to thank you for being a Diamond Member and would also like to thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences and disturbances you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Seidy V. Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John M wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Let's level set here. This is not the Crown Plaza, but it's definitely a hotel that works hard at making you comfortable. As with almost all Holiday Inn Express properties, this one follows the template for physical plant. Everything fairly basic, but in good, clean condition. What really stands out at this property is the staff. You can expect to be welcomed like family. I thought I was being treated that way because I'm a Platinum member, but I witnessed the staff treating everyone like they were Platinum. Really great property, and work a stopover if you're in the area. Philip and John at the front desk should be promoted to IHG Corporate, to head up training for all employees. They were amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rob24 wrote a review May 2022
Hillsborough, New Jersey241 contributions80 helpful votes
Stayed here as part of a wedding party. There was a computer issue going on when I arrived but the front desk made sure check- in was quick and flawless anyway. The employees let me know when the venue shuttle would be there for transport. Room was clean and spacious. I had a 4th floor king with sofa bed. There was a microwave, mini fridge and Keurig machine in the room. The bathroom was a little tight with not a lot of counter space, but clean and well lit. Room safe was in the wardrobe which made it difficult to hang my dress since there was an ironing board in the only free area of the wardrobe. Ample desk space and a nice flat screen TV also. There is also a fitness center but I didn't stay long enough to check it out. The breakfast was nice with a couple of egg options, bacon and turkey sausage and biscuits and gravy. Also cinnamon rolls, cereals, yogurts, juice etc. There is also a 24 coffee station in the lobby. Would stay here again next time I'm in the area. Every employee was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a room away from the elevator as it "dings"...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
CB48 wrote a review May 2022
Southern Maine9110 contributions16 helpful votes
We stayed here as part of a wedding group. Every single staff member we encountered was friendly and professional. One example: a shuttle was running to one of the wedding events, but no one knew about it. The gentleman at the front desk called every single wedding guest's room to tell them about the change. One of the room quirks mentioned in the title came from our being given a handicapped accessible room (which we did not need or request). As it was designed to accommodate someone in a wheelchair, the closet hanging rack was too low to hang my dresses and really too low to keep my husband's suit jacket off the floor of the closet. We had to hang the longer items off the side of the closet. (For people who may desire wheelchair accessibility, there were plenty of grab rails and space in the bathroom, but the shower was not a roll-in shower.) The other quirk was the apparent lack of a room safe. There wasn't one in the closet or in the cupboard space under the microwave (the two usual options). We checked at the front desk and he said there were some out for service and he didn't have a spare. He assured us there had not been a room safety issue since he came on board 5 months ago so we crossed our fingers and went with that. As we were checking our room before checking out, we came across the room safe in one of the bureau drawers. So - check everywhere! The breakfast had a lot of options and there was a nice seating area outside as well as the inside space. Kudos for including a turkey sausage for those who don't eat red meat! If we were in the area again, we would stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SpyderWitch wrote a review May 2022
Baltimore, Maryland432 contributions206 helpful votes
For a long time I thought the Holiday Inn Express were on the "tier" below the standard Holiday Inn. Right now it feels like the Holiday Inn Express has really "stepped up their game" AND they are finally providing housekeeping!!! The rooms are very nice and clean. The fitness center is a very nice size; good equipment; a good selection of equipment and the equipment seems to be in good shape. The breakfast options are very nice - a step above what we have seen other hotels offer for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
SteveHicks wrote a review Apr 2022
Surfside Beach, South Carolina6 contributions1 helpful vote
We had Dr. appointments in the Hudson Valley and needed a stay centrally located. Holiday Inn was our choice. It had a great breakfast and did all check-out on the tv. Front desk was very helpful. I recommend this Hotel to anyone who is in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Deluxe Queen was big and had a kitchenette
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Laura Dolan wrote a review Apr 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Loved Linda this morning at breakfast! She was so nice, efficient and cooked us a delicious breakfast!! Hotel was newly remodeled, clean and staff was friendly! Beds were very comfortable! Great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
George081921 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
After researching that this is a very dangerous area and I did not feel safe, I attempted to cancel my reservation literally just 20 minutes after I booked it online. They refused to refund me because of their policy and also refused when the booking.com agent called as well. Not friendly, not accomodating.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Nov 2021
Dear George081921, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize that your reservation was non-refundable. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KrisE wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions
Unfortunately this hotel is overpriced for what’s provided. There is little to no air conditioning in the the lobby and hallways, there seems to be renovation on-going throughout the hotel and the pool was not open when we were there (the website should be updated to include this information). In addition, though a breakfast was provided, it was not well stocked (i.e. they provided cereal but no milk). The room itself was ok, however it didn’t appear to have been fully cleaned prior to our arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$143 - US$212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express poughkeepsie hotel poughkeepsie, holiday inn poughkeepsie, poughkeepsie holiday inn express
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkPoughkeepsie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Park (3.8 km), Walkway State Historic Park (4.2 km), and Locust Grove Estate (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rosticceria Rossi and Sons, Lola's Catering and Cafe, and Bocuse Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie An IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Poughkeepsie Post Office (3.3 km).